Softcat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Reviews

Updated 13 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
42 Ratings
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great Team Culture. Hard work and results is recognised and rewarded. Opportunity to learn so much about the IT industry,

    Cons

    Highly competitive role so long hours are required

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Softcat2019-09-11

    Softcat Response

    September 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it! We're really glad that you enjoyed your time here, and we're keen that you get as much out of the job as possible, and offer those learning opportunities to understand all the new tech. Good luck with future roles! Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Show Less
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent training, Great CRM system, nights out , good commission scheme , if you are friends with the right people you can literally do anything and not be sacked, god help you if you’re not

    Cons

    I had taken 3 weeks off due to mental health and when I returned I was taken into a meeting with my boss who threatened me with the sack if I did not hit target at the end of the month. This did not help with my current mental state (which he knew about beforehand). Very poor from a company which claims to take this issue seriously. If you are in the Clique you can do whatever you want. Including turning up late... or just not showing up at all due to being hungover. Very wolf of Wall Street feeling. People throwing balls across the office and at people who are on the phone. Claim to be a laid back environment however there is a difference to laid back and downright unprofessional Cold calling If someone leaves, that persons accounts are divvied up to the managers friends instead of fairly. If you are struggling one month you will be punished and not given new accounts from people that leave. Therefore you fall further behind instead of management helping you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are people in management positions that couldn’t run a bath

    Softcat2019-10-01

    Softcat Response

    October 7, 2019Director-HR

    Hello. We are sorry to read such a disappointing review. I would appreciate if you could contact me so we can understand your specific experience further and we take appropriate action. We continually strive to ensure employees view Softcat as a great place to work. Many thanks, Patricia Winter, HR Director - interim

    Show Less
  3. "Softcat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic culture and support for your personal and professional growth

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to the same role/responsibilities at other companies

    Advice to Management

    Please give people the freedom to employees that other companies do.

    Softcat2019-09-04

    Softcat Response

    September 4, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for writing your review, good to hear that you're enjoying it here. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  4. Helpful (2)

    "HR incompetent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of staff events - Some great people - Free breakfast

    Cons

    - Management is top heavy - The HR team are completely incompetent, have no idea how to treat people and lack in any empathetic soft skills required for the role - Huge disparity between the way the Support and Sales teams are treated/rewarded. Sales are always the most important. - Fake "family" atmosphere when actually it is more like Big Brother - The company only cares about employees on a superficial... level - Expected to work long and arduous hours If I could leave a minus rating then I would!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating your employees like robots that are fueled by alcohol! Hire a new HR team if you haven't already!

    Softcat2019-09-18

    Softcat Response

    September 20, 2019Director-HR

    Hello. We are sorry to read such a disappointing review. The results from our Employee Engagement survey indicates that most employees do not think the same as yourself. We however understand that people have different opinions and of course respect that. I would appreciate, if you would like, if you could contact me so we can understand your specific experience and we take appropriate action. We continually strive to ensure employees view Softcat as a great place to work. Many thanks, Patricia Winter, HR Director - interim

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Underpaid, underappreciated, overworked - but don't worry, there's yoga on Tuesdays!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Microsoft Team in Marlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Yoga on Tuesdays - Free breakfast items if you're office based - Opportunity to learn from others - Can be flexible with working hours and location - If you're an account manager, you have a small possibility of becoming quite wealthy after 3 years of stress - Smaller offices are rich in culture and can be a fun place to work - Healthcare and dental if you've been there 2 years - Other benefits

    Cons

    - Mass exodus of technical staff from the organisation is leaving a gaping whole - Pay is significantly low compared to industry standards, despite the profitability of the company - Cash cow for board - Mostly commission based - Calibre of culture and staff massively diminished since float - Calibre of the overall package reduced massively alongside other competitors - used to win Best Place to Work; now... barely on the listings - Benefits are hard to claim; not articulated well - Expenses app breaks regularly; have to pay for own hotels which is felt especially when underpaid - Massively Profit focused -almost cult like worship!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Instead of getting Linda from Stoke in to conduct a £7 facial to reduce stress; why not hire more people and increase the basic so you don't have people burning out/breaking down? - There's a lot of rhetoric and propaganda about mental health; if it's genuinely something the organisation takes seriously, why are most of the non-remuneration rewards drinking sessions in London? Why are certain teams consistently... worked or not invested in until breaking point? - A lot of Softcat's success orientates around a few good and brilliant people's masochistic tendency to say "yes" and dogged determination to help. These people are either in the process of leaving, have left to competitors or vendors, or are so burnout that they're essentially zombies - Would strongly argue that upper management haven't got a clue about the day to day workload or struggle of the boots on the ground. This needs to change if issues felt within the business are to be rectified

    Show More
    Softcat2019-08-01

    Softcat Response

    August 7, 2019Director-HR

    I am disappointed to read your review. If you would like to have a confidential discussion please do contact me. We want our employees to have a positive experience at work and therefore I would like to understand your perspective further. We seek to listen to all our employees and continually strive to ensure employees view Softcat as a great place to work. I am sorry if that is not the case for you. Thanks, Patricia Winter - HR Director (interim)

    Show Less
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great commission structure very good

    Cons

    Basic salary not great but commission good

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Softcat2019-07-11

    Softcat Response

    July 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, we're glad you're enjoying it here! We're really proud of having one of the most competitive commission schemes in the industry as we think it's important to reward the hard work our sales teams put in! Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  7. "Account Manager based in London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Earning potential, culture, office location

    Cons

    Admin heavy, hard to take yourself away from the sales floor to focus

    Advice to Management

    The management at Softcat are amazing across the board

    Softcat2019-07-23

    Softcat Response

    July 24, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  8. "Fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Run your own business Hard working community Efficient processes

    Cons

    Flexibility wasn't the best. It varied team by team but generally working from home isn't an option until you become a Manager (even then its only 1 day per week)

    Advice to Management

    Trust employees to manage their own time

    Softcat2019-06-26

    Softcat Response

    July 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review! We do offer flexibility where possible, but we do believe that the buzz and camaraderie you feel in Sales comes from being around others and encouraging each other. Being in the office and sitting with others helps with development and sharing best practice, which is the reason we're so keen for people to be in the office together. That said, if there are reasons our employees need to work from home, we will consider being as flexible as we can. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture was really really good

    Cons

    Time was hard to find

    Softcat2019-06-19

    Softcat Response

    June 25, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we're really happy that you enjoyed your time here. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

  10. "Great Culture, Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Values employees welfare, happiness and motivation Plenty of trips, incentives, funding for team nights out as well as for things like Yoga, 5 a side, massages etc... Flexible working Family friendly Free breakfast every day Hight uncapped commission

    Cons

    Low basic salary (accompanied by high un capped commission!!) for sales employees Internal IT systems need investment, which is happening but slowly Career progression difficult as it is a relatively flat hierarchy

    Advice to Management

    Address the Cons :)

    Softcat2019-06-11

    Softcat Response

    June 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We really want to take care of our employees and ensure they are rewarded for their hardwork, so we'll continue to provide health and well being treats and fun incentives. We're aware of some of our IT issues and we are addressing it as we're keen to ensure everyone can be effective as possible in their role. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
Found 130 reviews