Softcat Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
42 Ratings
  1. "You get what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The exposure to senior management is amazing. They are not only friendly and approachable but always willing to lend you a helping hand even if they are busy. The support from the team (in my experience) has been priceless. Whenever I've needed help or I've had a question someone has always been there for me. They set their expectations out very clearly and following them simply requires you to put the hard work... in. No one got anywhere in life without putting in hard work at the start. Incredibly good social scene and within that they're always trying to include you in everything, no matter how long you've been here. The amazing relationships Softcat has with vendors is evident due to the amount they come in to provide training and fun incentives, which although are hard to get on, provide great motivation to get to the level where you're able to compete for them. But having said that you still get a lot out of the sessions as well as the fun involved in them. On this note of training, Softcat are great at making sure you are constantly improving in your knowledge and it is down to you to develop this, as hard as it sometimes is. There's no denying the job is hard but the rewards both internally and externally are worth it. The company has tremendous drive to improve so naturally employees with that same drive succeed.

    Show More

    Cons

    There really aren't a lot. It's a hard job, but if you want an easy job the rewards you gain from the easy job will never match the ones you can get if you work hard at Softcat. I would say a con is that there is a perception for new people to come in earlier than the contracted hours and leave later than the contracted hours. However, I think of football, and the most successful footballers are always the ones... who turn up early for training and stay behind after. So if you want to succeed in any job, the same mentality is needed. You get rewarded in public for the work you put in, in private.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have nothing but positive things to say about the management here.

    Softcat2018-12-06

    Softcat Response

    February 19, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are really happy that you're seeing the benefits from our first class training we offer and the work we put in to make working at Softcat incentivising and enjoyable.

  2. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic place to work, great dynamism and you live and die by your own efforts.

    Cons

    Very few; slight laddish culture but this seems to be changing as far as I can see from the outside. Not very flexible in terms of work from home and timing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on keeping on.

    Softcat2018-11-20

    Softcat Response

    November 21, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for leaving your review sharing your experiences of working for Softcat. We do take the culture really seriously as we think it's vital to keep Softcat one of the best places to work. We are looking at how we can address working more flexibly and ensuring as we grow as a business, that the behaviours and the ethos of our people match that. We wish you all the best! Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company & colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people and the focus the company placed on their employee satisfaction. Although you could argue some of the perks are a little gimicky, it shows that you're appreciated and goes a long way to saying 'thanks' Lots of training so you are continuously updated with the latest technologies, giving you the best tools to do your role

    Cons

    Boring subject matter (IT) and very competitive, targets very high considered the saturation of AM's and dwindling account situation

    Softcat2018-08-19

    Softcat Response

    August 20, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback about your time at Softcat. We really appreciate your time taken to go through the elements of the role/business you enjoy and where we can look to improve. Unfortunately the market we sell in is IT so if it's not something your interested in then it won't always be the right role for you. We do set targets based on the previous years and what we anticipate to sell so we feel this is realistic based on our data. We do offer lots of support to our Account Managers to ensure they can hit their targets, and always looking to see how we can improve around the account availability.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Rugrats with a big bank account. A very very very bad version of WOLF STREET"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Free breakfast(Come on everyone loves free scrambled egg on bagels) - London office only. - Everyone is pretty sound. Like you could get along with everyone. - Vendors always giving out sweets or free breakfast or goodies. - Hit your suit target and you can wear what you want. - Incentive trips - IF YOUR good lol but don't expect it at all. This is a very hard game to win. (4 years of tele sales experience and... this is beyond the hardest)

    Show More

    Cons

    - I worked at Softcat for a couple of months. Management have no clue what to do with you. Very much focussed on hitting their own targets. - Dog eats Dog(Again its sales so its expected) - Requesting accounts is so boring( and its like your waiting for your chance if there is to sell something that some-one hasnt in that account) - Hours(Your expected to stay past 6( You will just get frowned upon if you go home... at 6) -More politics then 10 downing street. - Most employee's end up getting with each other, because they cant socialize outside of work, as your always at work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Your going to hit your highest in revenue soon. Act like a company who is of this sort of character. Stop acting so childish. There is a reason why so many people. And its because you don't give structure to your employee's. Almost everyday for my first few months no-one would tell me what to do. Act like managers. Not because your billing so high get promoted into a manager. Understand this to grow. And also... please for the people who apply to SOFTCAT. Make them aware this is a call centre cold calling 100% role. Please do not lie to them.

    Show More
    Softcat2018-09-08

    Softcat Response

    September 11, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We do acknowledge that the hours can be longer when you first start as you're targeted on building new business and often have to work around the clients. Their time is scarce so often it's about finding those opportunities where they will be available to speak and in some cases that is outside of core business hours. We really advocate working smartly, and if that means you can do the role in the working day and get the results then even better, and we pride ourselves with giving you the training and tools to enable you to work in that way, and find what's best for you. We don't shy away from letting candidates know that this role requires cold calling, we emphasise this in our advertising, and include this as a key discussion point in the Assessment Centre and interview process. We are now inviting Rookies (Sales Execs in their first year) to talk to candidates in the Assessment day to ensure that they can be open with what you should expect when joining, and bring it to life. We want people to make the decision to join knowing all the facts. Thanks again, and we wish you well in your future career Thanks Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Unskilled job, cold calling constantly... left after 2 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Account Executive in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pros are all about the actual company itself. The people are all friendly, in the Manchester office there was a bar, free breakfast, really fabulous toilets with lights around the mirror, straighteners, free feminine products, social events etc... lots of great perks! (but what I've realised is, when a company has lots of perks, it's usually to make up for something else....

    Cons

    For me, it was all about the role itself. You start on a low base salary of £18k to be told about the amazing uncapped commission you will receive. You are also told in training that for the first 6 months of working there, it will be the worst 6 months of your life... attractive right? I worked in the office itself for a few weeks before I realised that extensive cold calling where you're constantly trying to get... through to an IT manager to sell IT too, just isn't for me. It wasn't using any of my skills or anything I've learnt from university, it's just a sales job. You're also EXPECTED to get there early and leave late for "at least the first year". This drained me very quickly and made me depressed... I love interacting with people but not annoying people... and they operate on a "just keep calling them" basis. Not for me. I want to enjoy what I do! However, OTHER roles do seem better where you're not cold calling 24/7.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make sure from the very first telephone interview that the candidate is aware of how much cold calling they will be doing. I felt like it wasn't made aware and thought it was more face to face interaction and dealing with existing clients.

    Softcat2018-08-06

    Softcat Response

    August 10, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time for giving us your feedback. We have recently refreshed our telephone screening process to ensure we're giving as much information as possible prior to coming to an assessment centre so people know exactly what role they are interviewing for and what it entails. There will always be an element of starting in a new role and finding out if the culture and role is for you, and it sometimes takes time in the role to figure this out rather than fully grasping it at interview stage. We will take this on-board and appreciate you sharing this feedback with us. Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
  6. "Opportunities abound to be who you want to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Services Development Analyst in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Softcat has given me a platform with which I have relaunched my IT career onto a much faster, capable route upwards. I could not have done this without the support of my colleagues, the motivating atmosphere in each and every office, and the ability to feel accomplishment and ownership in any projects, or new ideas put forward to the company. Softcat's staff are one and the same - no ivory towers, no glass... paneled corner offices, no reserved parking. This brings with it far better communication and personality with management and the directors. Need to catch a C-level? They're over there in the middle of the Sales floor. Manager? Right with their team, making time for them to ensure they're happy and performing well. A whole range of additional benefits including: - Dental, Healthcare for long service - A reactive training programme, and development team - Pool table/Table Tennis, Xbox, PS4, Wii - Plenty of staff and extended family events for all to enjoy, all year round - Breakfast provided every morning; well stocked kitchens with all the essentials - Staff recognition, and incentive trips twice-yearly across the world

    Show More

    Cons

    Softcat once seemed ahead of the curve in office layout and features; very much Google/Microsoft campus feel with a dash of Star Trek reboot bridge design, but this was almost 10 years ago, and the wallpaper is peeling away. There are much better looking, more functional workplace environments out there now, and Softcat being a public facing, host of visitors from major companies, could do with a rethink on the... layout and physical corporate image.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Always listen to the staff you work with; improvement and acceptance of change comes much easier when what's being asked is a trickle, not a torrent.

    Softcat2018-06-29

    Softcat Response

    July 2, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and we think it's also very key to keep up to date. ensuring we're making the environment as comfortable and appealing as possible. We're currently in negotiations with moving our London and Leeds offices to bigger spaces. We're also opening up a new office in South Dublin which has fantastic views. We're really glad that you enjoy the culture and the way management interact with the business as that's exactly the positive impact we want it to make. Thanks again Rachel - Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
  7. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Softcat for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company atmosphere and culture Great social events + parties Good graduate job as it gives you exposure to a wide variety of technology vendors and industries Excellent way to earn a large amount of money at a young age Company is expanding so there is always opportunities to move roles if you prove yourself

    Cons

    Poor basic salary for a graduate job, but you don't to Account Management for the basic you do it for the earning potential

    Softcat2018-06-04

    Softcat Response

    June 4, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of working at Softcat. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the company culture and believe that it's a great way to start your graduate career, as we also agree! Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

  8. "Really enjoyable start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - It feels like you're joining a family, a large proportion of employees have been here for a number of years which shows that people enjoy the culture and feel loyal to the business - The company put on lovely events for it's employees, so definitely gives back where it can to keep people motivated

    Cons

    - The hours can be a little rigid though there is work being done to try and be more flexible as the business grows - There needs to be a little more structure/process applied to the way we do things just so that we can scale up easier as the business continues to grow

    Advice to Management

    Review flexibility with working location/times and consider applying more structure to ensure we can cope with becoming a larger business and reflecting how a FTSE 250 company should be structured

    Softcat2018-05-22

    Softcat Response

    June 27, 2018Recruitment Manager

    We're really glad that you've taken the time to leave us a review, we really do appreciate it! We do try and embody that family feel in the business even though it's growing, and a number of employees have been with us since we started up which does give some confidence around the way we work and our ethos around our people. As we grow even more we'll need to review how we work and ensuring we can still give the same level of great customer service. Thanks Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
  9. "Account Manager at Softcat (5+ years)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good comp package, ability to run your own business within a business, autonomy to approach selling/account strategy your own way, open culture, management keen to support wherever possible and lots of opportunities to develop in existing roles and new roles as they become available. Softcat is booming, great to be a part of the growth story.

    Cons

    Increasing growth target, limited number of new businesses to prospect due to number of sales people within the business. Basic could be better. Doesn’t offer flexible working to sales staff.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing, but make sure that you keep up with the times and have more confidence in your employees to work from home if they choose to.

    Softcat2018-05-09

    Softcat Response

    May 10, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review and we're really happy that you mention the autonomy piece, as that's a key thing we pride ourselves on at Softcat, the ability to run your own business and be in charge of your future within Sales. We're always looking to improve where we can to ensure people have flex where appropriate, though within Sales particularly, there are a lot of plus' from being in the office together where you can create a real buzz and motivate eachother to hit your targets, and we don't want to lose that. It's definitely about striking the balance though. Thanks Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The potential earnings are genuine and achievable. The people are great and the atmosphere in the office makes the job that much more enjoyable. Incentives and the event days are great. If you do the work required of you, you will be successful in the long run.

    Cons

    The basic is embarrassing. You will earn more working in a retail store. Majority of people who work here for under two years have to live with parents in order to get by. Softcat mask this with the culture, but I would strongly advise not joining Softcat unless you can live with family or have a lot of money saved up.

    Advice to Management

    Raise the basic to 20k - you’ll keep a lot more people in the job and allow them to focus on their accounts rather than stressing about money for the month. You’ll also attract a lot more people to the role.

    Softcat2018-05-07

    Softcat Response

    May 9, 2018Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your review and of course, take your feedback on board. We're keen to continue to publicise the culture of Softcat as we feel it's really unique and something that it really important to both our current and future employees. We take on board what you have said about salary, and that's something we're looking into. Thanks again Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

    Show Less
Found 130 reviews