Softcat Sales Executive Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Sales Executive Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
0 Ratings
  1. "Softcat offer Employee & Customer Satisfaction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are numerous reasons why ambitious and driven people should naturally gravitate towards Softcat as an employer. To name but a few; there are regular incentives for good performance, a great support network in place for the sales staff, Softcat are organically growing year on year and have become extremely well associated with several top tier vendors. All this helps to sell both commercially and in terms of... in-house technical resources. Having been at the company for a relatively short time I have found the atmosphere really welcoming. Sales roles are often characterised by stressful and pushy people but Softcat is a culture centred around employee satisfaction. All this is accompanied by the potential to earn good money, weekly five-a-side football/netball and a giant TV in the break-out room has made for a great first year!

    Show More

    Cons

    If sales is for you then Softcat is a good place to be. For some; the hours required to network and build business in the industry will not be suitable, the responsibility that comes from managing accounts and building bridges between yourself and customers can be difficult on a rainy Monday. If you can handle the hard work and are looking for some great earning potential and a lively atmosphere then Softcat is a... good fit

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing!

    Softcat2014-02-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent training, Great CRM system, nights out , good commission scheme , if you are friends with the right people you can literally do anything and not be sacked, god help you if you’re not

    Cons

    I had taken 3 weeks off due to mental health and when I returned I was taken into a meeting with my boss who threatened me with the sack if I did not hit target at the end of the month. This did not help with my current mental state (which he knew about beforehand). Very poor from a company which claims to take this issue seriously. If you are in the Clique you can do whatever you want. Including turning up late... or just not showing up at all due to being hungover. Very wolf of Wall Street feeling. People throwing balls across the office and at people who are on the phone. Claim to be a laid back environment however there is a difference to laid back and downright unprofessional Cold calling If someone leaves, that persons accounts are divvied up to the managers friends instead of fairly. If you are struggling one month you will be punished and not given new accounts from people that leave. Therefore you fall further behind instead of management helping you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There are people in management positions that couldn’t run a bath

    Softcat2019-10-01

    Softcat Response

    October 7, 2019Director-HR

    Hello. We are sorry to read such a disappointing review. I would appreciate if you could contact me so we can understand your specific experience further and we take appropriate action. We continually strive to ensure employees view Softcat as a great place to work. Many thanks, Patricia Winter, HR Director - interim

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Sales Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great competitive atmosphere and at times you feel on top of the world!

    Cons

    I remember working till half 11 one evening and then arriving into work at 8:55 to be greeted with a grumpy boss asking me who I did I think I was turning up 5 minutes before the day was due to start. Im a rookie and I should take this job more seriously. The competitive nature is brilliant when you're doing well but when sales are dry it can seem a very dark place.

    Softcat2015-08-18
  4. "Graduate Sales Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Sales Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing earning potential, lots of bonuses and incentives. Really fun work environment with some really fun work events. Three week training school and on-going product training.

    Cons

    The staff numbers are growing at a really fast rate, but account availability is low. If your willing to stick the first year without the best account base you will do really well, the first year can be tough without enough accounts to sell too. But if you want it enough, you can make it.

    Advice to Management

    Take on less people and divide the account base better.

    Softcat2015-05-19
  5. "great work environment, brilliant incentives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The incentives are truly exceptional, truly rewarded for effort. the training when you start is second to none, and really makes sure you are ready to go from the off - nothing worse than being thrown in at the deep end after graduating, but the support is fantastic. managers give you the time you need when you need it, another example of great support. for a sales role the culture is brilliant, everyone helping... everyone else there is competition but not people trying to out do each other but to support each other to do better. specialists in every area that are more than willing to jump on calls when needed to support the customer and make sure the solution is correct

    Show More

    Cons

    its a tele-sales roles so cold calling, but this would be the same in any organisation and is a necessary evil.

    Advice to Management

    keep the culture how it is, keep the incentives going and keep up the good work

    Softcat2014-02-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture but very high staff turnover and low basic for London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Softcat has a great culture and the training is also very good, especially for an entry level job. Lots of team nights out which are all paid for but a very male dominated environment and females may feel vulnerable. Lots of free food and drinks from vendors and training is continuous during your time here. You are given two hours in which you can take a half an hour lunch, but if you don't eat lunch at your desk,... you will probably be penalised. If you devote your life to this job, there is a lot of money to be made.

    Show More

    Cons

    Staff turnover is very high because targets are very high and unless you work from 8am-7pm minimum Monday-Friday, (as well as some weekends) you probably won't hit target. The atmosphere in the offices is like that of a rugby club with balls thrown at the person of the highest sellers choice when writing figures on the board every evening. Although everyone is very friendly, it is very cut throat and you have to... try and steal customers from your colleagues daily, which creates underlying tensions on the sales floor, which can be very stressful. There is also a leader board of the amount of calls made by new starts for the first few months, so everyone can see how many calls have been made by everyone which makes it very competitive. Career progression is just about money, because even if you are a team leader, you will still be cold calling all day, but you just have to worry about losing your accounts to new starts more.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Set out more clearly in the job description that this is a telesales (call centre) job and that staff are expected to be cold calling customers all day for the duration of your whole career.

    Softcat2013-06-06
Found 6 reviews