Softcat Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Sales Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing working atmosphere Very friendly sociable colleagues Perks and incentives Flexible working

    Cons

    Like any job, it can be stressful.

    Softcat2019-04-18

    Softcat Response

    April 22, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we do really appreciate it! We do really try and look after our employees as much as possible and the HR team have done alot in the last year to give a better employee experience by making it as easy as possible to access our new and enhanced benefits as well as offering more flexible start/finish times to ensure a better work/life balance. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent training, Great CRM system, nights out , good commission scheme , if you are friends with the right people you can literally do anything and not be sacked, god help you if you’re not

    Cons

    I had taken 3 weeks off due to mental health and when I returned I was taken into a meeting with my boss who threatened me with the sack if I did not hit target at the end of the month. This did not help with my current mental state (which he knew about beforehand). Very poor from a company which claims to take this issue seriously. If you are in the Clique you can do whatever you want. Including turning up late or just not showing up at all due to being hungover. Very wolf of Wall Street feeling. People throwing balls across the office and at people who are on the phone. Claim to be a laid back environment however there is a difference to laid back and downright unprofessional Cold calling If someone leaves, that persons accounts are divvied up to the managers friends instead of fairly. If you are struggling one month you will be punished and not given new accounts from people that leave. Therefore you fall further behind instead of management helping you.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2019-10-01

    Softcat Response

    October 7, 2019Director-HR

    Hello. We are sorry to read such a disappointing review. I would appreciate if you could contact me so we can understand your specific experience further and we take appropriate action. We continually strive to ensure employees view Softcat as a great place to work. Many thanks, Patricia Winter, HR Director - interim

    Continue reading
  3. "Work Life Balance Is The Best Part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Specialist in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance, Flexible Working Hours, Great People, Management Trust Their Employees

    Cons

    Low Commission, Long Standing Employees Not Interested In New Ones.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2019-05-23

    Softcat Response

    May 30, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, great to hear from you. We're really pleased that you've taken the time to leave us your comments. We are really proud of our steps towards more flexible working options and hope this adds a much more improved work-life balance for our employees. With regards to commission, we do review this frequently, but I will pass your feedback to management to ensure they are aware of your thoughts. Thanks Rachel Cowell - Recruitment Manager

    Continue reading
  4. "Most passionate and customer-focused sales team in the UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Enterprise Sales in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Softcat is the most energetic, passionate and customer-focused Sales Team in the UK. Great teamwork and dedication are made to look effortless but I know how much hard work goes into maintaining momentum and focusing on service levels. A lot of home-grown talent and consistent recruitment of energetic graduates supported by experienced Specialists and Senior Leadership Team. great mix.

    Cons

    There aren't many! It's a great place to work.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2017-12-15
  5. "Fantastic start to my career, excellent company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really good fun, you learn so much are pushed and challenged in a positive way. I only realise now in comparison to other places how refreshing it is to have such a strong leadership team with a clear direction, who really value their employees.

    Cons

    As with any sales job, it can be tricky when things don't go so well but the support is usually there. Quite a party culture so perhaps not the one if you're after a more corporate image.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2017-12-14
  6. "A very fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Softcat is a great place for a Graduate to begin their career in IT. The training and support you recieve in the first year is second to none, but you are expected to put in long hours and hard word. Each office has it's own individual culture so it still feels like a relatively small company which is great. Free breakfast, parties, ironing service, Friday beers and end of day chocolate are all little things that Softcat do to make you feel appreciated.

    Cons

    When you're in sales at Softcat the training and support really slows down after your first year. You're usually not experienced enough to go in to management at this point so it can feel a little like you're in limbo with no clear progression for the near future. That said, you can earn a lot in sales which is why most people stay. If you're not in sales then the pay is well below industry average and it's very difficult to get it increased. If a fun place to work is more important to you then a high pay cheque then this is a fantastic place to work fpr non sales too and will provide you with good experience and training for future roles in the industry.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2017-05-17
  7. "Just my opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Sales Specialist in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership team Financials Outcome driven Opportunity appears to be down to personal drive and ambition Great commission structure for sales staff Approachable leadership team On boarding process

    Cons

    Basic Salaries No flexible working - all office based

    Continue reading
    Softcat2016-08-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic Rewards, Fun & Positive Working Environment

    Cons

    Tough for the first 18 months, find your own accounts to do B2B sales, no real territories

    Softcat2016-01-21
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Huge opportunities for the few lucky enough to grab them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time

    Pros

    The commission structure is very generous and well positioned to allow newer salesmen to make a small but meaningful addition to their salary. There are also frequent events laid on by the company and it's suppliers which can be very fun and a good change of pace - expect to eat your weight in pizza. If you succeed you are set for life and there is likely no other sales company where you can move forward and earn money as quickly as Softcat

    Cons

    The work is incredibly tiring. You are expected to work well beyond your contracted hours particualrly when working against an end of quarter deadline. This can be very frustrating and leave you with no spare time - if you are picked up on this and aren't in an hour early and leaving an hour late you will soon see yourself leaving the company. Unfortunately most of the truly great incentives and money is reserved for the lucky (skilled?) few that can make the company serious profits. The picture they paint during interview and training is far from true for most and finding meaningful business is harder now as the company has grown exponential which increases internal competition. You are asked to invest a serious amount of interest in the company which has given it an undesirable nickname "Softcult".

    Softcat2015-12-03
  10. "Unique, exciting place to work where you can create your own destiny!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is an exciting, vibrant, unique place to work, where no day is ever the same. Rewards are incredible, the commission structure is very generous and there's no chance of ever getting bored.

    Cons

    There is quite a flat management structure, so if you are looking for job title progression, annual promotions and the like this isn't the place for you. However, if you want uncapped commission, the chance to run your own business and have a large amount of autonomy this is the place to be.

    Continue reading
    Softcat2015-09-29
Found 24 reviews