Softcat Employee Reviews about "working environment"

Updated Jan 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 of over 364 reviews

4.4
86%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Culture and office working environment(in 24 reviews)

  • "Great earning potential if you put the hard work in(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours - you get out what you put in(in 24 reviews)

  • "Basic salary is extremely low - Yes there is commission involved but the good commission only comes from new business(in 17 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "working environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Job

      Jan 18, 2021 - Cyber Security Sales Specialist in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hours, good working environment!

      Cons

      There are no cons with Softcat

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, we wish you all the best. Thanks Rachel

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great culture

      Jan 13, 2021 - Marketing Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture and office working environment

      Cons

      Lacked career progression and growth opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for sharing your review with us and good luck in your future career. Thanks Rachel

    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      373

      158 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company with Amazing culture

      Sep 30, 2019 - Developer in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will be valued and employee comes first at softcat. Amazing working culture with huge flexibility. (It'll take time to understand that you are not dreaming and it is real) You will be recognized as an individual and help to progress to better opportunities. Relax environment to work with loads of peaks. You will be passionate about what you are doing and enthusiastic to come to work every day. Softcat values humility and every day is a fun day

      Cons

      There are no cons but for the sake of writing one it will be, Open office environment and it will take time to use to it unless you have previous experience.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks so much for spending the time to leave a review. It's great to see how much you're enjoying it here at Softcat, we're so proud that the culture is shining through as we put alot into keeping it fun and exciting for everyone. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great start to a career

      Feb 18, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Exposure to a large amount of different technologies and vendors -Amazing working environment and colleges -

      Cons

      - Can be tough to get started - building an account base, but, once you have broken through things really do pay off.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thanks for your review, we're really appreciative of you taking the time to share this. We do partner with a number of well known vendors and do really pride ourselves on keeping the culture fun and rewarding. The role of Account Exec can take some time to get started as you are building your account base but we offer a really supportive environment to help you on your way and give you the skills to build those relationships and spot the opportunities.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Welcome to the Wolf of Wall Street!!

      Apr 18, 2018 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very Young Working Environment, Ability to Liaise with Some of the Top Vendors in the IT Market, Lots of Benefits, Decent Central Location.

      Cons

      Below Average Base Salary, Lad Culture, Unfair Account Allocation, Long Working Hours.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Softcat Response

      Recruitment Manager

      Thank you for your feedback, we really value your review. As always, we take these views seriously, and want to ensure we can improve where possible. We are continuing to evolve as a business as we continue to grow and understand that the environment needs to promote professional working but ensuring we don't loose the Softcat heart, still keeping it fun and interesting. We try and ensure the incentives and benefits we offer as a business reward people for the hard work they put in, as we understand, especially in sales, you'll have to put alot of work in and stay motivated in order to build your business. We thank you again for your feedback, and wish you success in the future Rachel

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Account Chief Technologist

      Dec 13, 2017 - Account Chief Technologist in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have never worked for a company that is so passionate on excellent customer service and provide an environment that wants people to succeed and progress. They provide an excellent environment to work in and genuinely listen and act on feedback. You would be mad not to work for Softcat and i very much look forward to many more years to come.

      Cons

      I have no real Cons but will be interested if we can keep the ethos of the organisation as we continue to grow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      amazing place to work

      Jul 25, 2016 -  in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      leadership, values, performance, benefits for employees, working environment, communication, teamwork, and the people.

      Cons

      hard to think of any..

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Invests in your career like nowhere else

      Jun 21, 2016 - Developer in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Once you prove yourself the business will notice that and reward you to reflect it. I've moved my way up several roles since I've joined and many people will bend over backwards to let you progress if you are willing and reliable. Plenty of parties and beer on fridays which is nice too. Positive friendly working environment and managers who have earned their role through good leadership means bosses you can rely on.

      Cons

      The proving yourself is also a con - you aren't paid for doing a new role till you can prove that you do it well. Many benefits available are sales oriented and less accessible for admin staff. Other than that parking in Marlow is a nightmare and pizza makes you fat.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Sales Account Manager

      Jan 21, 2016 - Sales Account Manager in Marlow, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic Rewards, Fun & Positive Working Environment

      Cons

      Tough for the first 18 months, find your own accounts to do B2B sales, no real territories

      1 person found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Honestly cannot say enough good

      May 18, 2015 - Non-sales in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Have felt completely supported and appreciated from the day I stepped through the door! - Really amazing company atmosphere. The fact that the happiness of all of our employees is held in such high regard makes for a really great working environment. - I have not had one negative experience with a single person since starting here. - Complete lack of airs and graces. No directors stashed away in offices! Everyone sits on the same sales floor. - You can literally set yourself up for life, as the earning potential is insane. - Progression is massively encouraged, and achievable.

      Cons

      - In my ideal world, it would be a 9-5, rather than a 9-6, but you can't have everything eh

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Softcat Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Softcat? Share Your Experiences

    or