Softchoice Outbound Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softchoice Outbound Representative Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

1.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Softchoice CEO Vince De Palma
Vince De Palma
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good place to start a career in IT/Sales

    Cons

    Constant change in strategy, poor sales management, owned by PE form, high rate of employee turnover in all roles

    Advice to Management

    Place more value in your employees

    Softchoice2019-09-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nothing to write home about"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good resources (large company) Decent base salary Flexibility (depending on your office and manager) Have a big name in the IT space Some offices are dog friendly

    Cons

    Lagging in areas compared to other tech companies in terms of benefits and perks (unlimited PTO is popular where I am, free lunches, etc) for example, they had a new Softchoice shirt and if you want it, it’s like $35. Reselling in general is not profitable compared to getting the entire revenue of the deal While it is growing, the reselling model is becoming obsolete in the IT space so who knows how long that... growth is sustainable. Lots of internal systems and red tape to get stuff done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fewer meetings would be nice, keep trying to put your employees happiness first.

    Softchoice2018-12-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits Amazing People Good Value Prop and in-house products Great training and resources

    Cons

    Expected way too much out of new Outbound Sales Reps in 2016, didn't give appropriate time to settle into role. Tons of pressure out of the gate to perform. Spreading themselves out too thin. Can't be the best at everything...need to focus on one thing and stick to it.

    Advice to Management

    Need more realistic expectations from new hunter reps.

    Softchoice2017-05-10
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Services Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice full-time

    Pros

    It is really cool to be able to bring your dog to work. Those that are allergic to dogs or do not like dogs know the policy so they can choose whether to accept employment if that bothers them.

    Cons

    I do not work in one of the large offices, such at Toronto, Seattle, Atlanta... As such, Softchoice has not really invested in technical talent where I work. However, we are still supposed to be selling professional services. Travel makes out of state resources expensive. We do most of our services using partners. From what I hear from other cities is that the partners tend to be easier to work with than... Softchoice employees. The problem is that most of the good subcontractors do not want to work with us any more. We mark up their rate, sometimes excessively, then add project management and do not provide no value to the customer for the charges. On top of that we may take months to pay the partner. The partner can not find anyone at Softchoice that can explain why there is a delay or what happened when checks do not arrive when promised. No one seems to know anything or to care. If a partner is good, why would they put up with all of this? There are few people in the company that value customers, employees or partners. It appears that most people outside of sales view their job as making Sofchoice hard to do business with. It is amazing to me that a business that counts on sales people selling things to stay in business, would have such a low disregard for sales people, customers and partners. Our leaders did a good job when we were selling just Microsoft licenses, but they are clearly over their head at this stage. The private investors will probably bring in their own team, but I do not expect I will be around long enough to enjoy the benefits of that change. I will be getting in the huge revolving door with all the others soon and exiting.

    Show More
    Softchoice2013-08-20
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Learned a lot at Mid Year Event"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Representative in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beer Cart Friday is fun, but surprised the company wants the liability associated with us hitting the streets afterwards :) Bring Dog to work is unique and great if you have a dog.

    Cons

    We just came back from our Mid Year event in Chicago. I am a fairly new empIoyee and learned a lot. Softchoice had modified our commission program to incent us to sell services. However, zero percent of my peers from around the country feel comfortable with our ability to deliver on the services if we sell them. Too many projects all over the country have been less than successful. We have a choice - (1)... maximize our commision by selling something that puts our customer at risk or (2) jepordize our relationship with customers that trust us. I have sold services successfully before at another company, but can not in good conscience do that here. After the mid year trip to Chicago with many conversations with my peers, I now understand how services sales can be flat when that is such a focus this year. I have decided that I need to just chalk this up as momentary lack of judgement when I accepted a job at Softchoice and move on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The board needs to seriously consider if they believe that current senior leadership has the ability to transform Softchoice from a company that does more than just sell product. Fresh talent at the top with leadship skills and an understanding of the solutions business could pay huge dividends to stockholders.

    Softchoice2012-07-25
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Balanced Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Outbound Representative in
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Softchoice

    Pros

    I found this site after a friend decided not to accept a job at Softchoice due to all the negative reviews. There are a lot of extremely positive reviews (suspicious) and extremely negative reviews. Not a lot of balance. I had a good experience at Softchoice. When I joined, I was relatively new to sales and to technology. I started as an ISR (inside sales). I knew nothing and got paid accordingly. After a... couple years of experience, I moved into outside sales. By then, I had a little more skill and got paid a little more to "manage my territory". After about 5 years total, I left Softchoice early 2011 and took another technology sales job. I more than doubled my income in the first year and this year looks even better. I recommend that non-experienced individuals who want to get into technology sales consider Softchoice as a career step. There is a lot of turnover in all areas of the company, but I can only speak with authority of the sales areas. A and B players do not stick around long and move to greener pasture. Depending on experience when hired, 5 years or more is a long time. I would say 5 years is about right for someone right out of college. Some B players, but mostly C players stay in sales or move into management. A few D players survive, but most are let go. F players are rarely hired. I was probably a B player. I hit my numbers but never really blew it out. I focused more on increasing my skill set than in hitting the crazy metrics that they measure. That was a good strategy that has paid dividends for me.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lots of managers, few leaders. Leadership ability in the senior leadership team and with sales managers is very scarce - they are more of operational managers. The skill gap in this area became even more clear after I left and joined a solid organization. I would not recommend Softchoice as a place to learn leadership. You will see by example philosophies that are contrary to what you learn in college and in... the leadership best seller books. Pay for sales is low, however, I think that is part of the model. They do not value the sales team very highly. People in general do not appear to be valued. They appear to expect and want turnover. I hope that this balanced review will help a few people. If you fit the criteria and know what Softchoice is, and is not, then a job at Softchoice could be a great choice. It was for me.

    Show More
    Softchoice2012-05-16
  7. "Growing Company, Youthful Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Outbound Representative in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softchoice

    Pros

    Softchoice is continually rated as one of the top companies to work for in Canada & that culture is reflected in the US locations as well. The company focuses on hiring good hearted, intelligent people with a positive attitude. Hard work & doing the right thing is very frequently recognized and Softchoice make a good effort to develop employees further both professionally & personally for those who are interested.... All & all it's a fun company to be apart of & they provide the employees enough opportunity to succeed.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the lack of communication about opportunities or how something works leads them miss lead & ultimately confused and frustrated. Just like most sales organizations it seems the opperations portion of the company is underserved and under appreciated. That is likely a issue that will never get resolved at most any sales organization though...

    Softchoice2012-05-08
Found 7 reviews