SolarCity Crew Lead Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Crew Lead Reviews

Updated 12 Jan 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
17 Ratings
  1. "Installation Lead Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Lead in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity for more than a year

    Pros

    Most experienced team I've worked with

    Cons

    long hours, but aside from that not bad

    Advice to Management

    keep it up with the innovation

    SolarCity2018-01-13
  2. "Crew Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Lead in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extensive training program, Good opportunities to learn about the residential solar field.

    Cons

    Inexperienced management, managers that are only concerned with advancing their careers, with no concern for employees or customers. Dishonest managers at all levels. More interest in quantity over quality.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and value your customers. Listen to feedback from lower level employees. Stop over-promising and under-delivering.

    SolarCity2017-11-25
  3. "Was great most of the time get used to a lot of secrets so much for transparency that they always harp on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Lead in Chico, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, good pay, learned a lot very fast paced. Good training programs, incentives are good lots of overtime. Safety is a priority I always felt I had the right equipment to get a job done safely

    Cons

    Long hours stringent deadlines and always low manpower for given jobs. Often the right hand doesn't know what the left is doing at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    You want quality? You want safety? Well how about giving the installers enough time to actually do everything properly. We want the same thing too. I've seen a lot of people let go because of downsizes and reasons that are questionable at best

    SolarCity2017-06-09
  4. "Crew Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Lead in North Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay was good enough.

    Cons

    Management was never on your side.

    Advice to Management

    Learn your role, don't make work personal. He never installed in his life and wanted to act like he knew what he was talking about.

    SolarCity2017-05-26
  5. Helpful (3)

    "[This] close to amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -There was a golden period of a couple years where the loans flowed in like water and only the best candidates were hired. The quality of workmanship and general good-willed personality still persists in the local company culture (though no longer in every single crew and warehouse as it used to be). -Great people continue to be hired. Everyone is a friend. -Strong and mostly reasonable emphasis on safety -When sales...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Everything is driven by production (a.k.a. "KW"- roughly equivalent to how many kilowatts a site will produce once installed). Installation crew members are paid based on how many modules the crew can install on a given job (a number linked to the KW of a job). This commission can more than double a crew member's pay. Slowing down to revisit jobs tagged for poor quality workmanship means receiving "just your base...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Cool the KW wars. Quality is a focus in theory, yet in practice the speed of install takes priority. The customer experience has nosedived as install speed has skyrocketed, poisoning word-of-mouth referrals. Pools of friendly telephone concierges are not a substitute for a poor customer experience. Hold the crews accountable for unsatisfactory installs and you will see an increase in word of mouth referrals. This...

    Show More
    SolarCity2016-09-21
  6. "Crew Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Lead in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity

    Pros

    Home every night, work with some of the best men on my crew.

    Cons

    Need more money to be crew lead. No were to advance.

    SolarCity2016-06-14
  7. "Crew lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Lead in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for one of the best. This it the best safety set up I've every work with . We want every employee to get home safely and In one piece every single day.

    Cons

    The fight between the power company's does take its toll.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for managing staff, happy with every aspect of my current leadership.

    SolarCity2016-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Lead in Henderson, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay and benefits, opportunity for advancement, Open door policies

    Cons

    Long hours, hard physical work, extreme environment

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, I can't wait for SolarCity to be a worldwide household name.

    SolarCity2016-01-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Crew lead is intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Lead in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money. 4 more words needed

    Cons

    Never ever home. Babysitters will raise your kid.

    Advice to Management

    Promote and stop holding back skilled individuals

    SolarCity2015-11-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Lead in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. Working outside is great. Working as part of a team to accomplish a goal that you can stand for. Pay scale is awesome, the more you hustle the more you make.

    Cons

    Sometimes submitting employee referrals don't go through so trying to get good people in that you know is near impossible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Keep finding new ways to motivate and keep everyone on top of their game.

    SolarCity2015-10-18
Found 21 reviews