SolarCity Direct Energy Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Direct Energy Consultant Reviews

Updated 12 Oct 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
35 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Direct Energy Associate - learned that I don't like sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They were very fair in terms of compensation, great company support for my customers.

    Cons

    Culture on the team was fake bro love, way too much hype, not nearly enough training, especially on the product we were selling. Tesla hopefully reigned all of that in but we'll see how the company grows.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire "professional" sales people; they do just as much harm as good, and they are anything but professional. All the low hanging fruit is gone, innovate your way forward to meet new and still skeptical customers.

    SolarCity2017-10-12
  2. "SolarCity Direct Energy Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Time. Unlimited income potential.

    Cons

    Manipulative Management. You only get paid when a job is installed. If you quit or get fired, you don't get paid on any installs that occur after.

    Advice to Management

    Foster trust and really have your employees backs.

    SolarCity2017-02-04
  3. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Egg Harbor Township, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    A year went by, and I am very happy working at SolarCity, I did real estate sales before for 10 years, and solar is definitely different, I would say the solar process is easy because we have such a great team. Friendly coworkers, my boss is an awesome young guy, office managers go out of their way to help us. There is a lot of opportunities to be promoted, two of my coworkers have been promoted into management already.

    Cons

    There is a lot of turn around, because sales are not for everyone,

    SolarCity2016-12-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Indifferent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Marlborough, MA
      Recommends

      I worked at SolarCity

      Pros

      High volume. A good place to learn sales with no repercussion from making mistakes.

      Cons

      horrible processes. unmanagable timelines and poor delivery of customer expectations.

      Advice to Management

      Talk at your sales reps less, and listen to their struggles more. Takes their experiences, and improve your delivery from real world experiences.

      SolarCity2017-01-13
    • Helpful (3)

      "I LOVE what I do!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Denver, CO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I love working for a cause and helping to rid our beautiful planet of the carbon emissions that are destroying it. The industry is coming up on a critical mass and going nowhere but up from here. Merging with Tesla is super exciting too! Cool, this guy loves his job, but is he really making money? The money is amazing! Never thought I would make as much as company CEOs through educating people on the vast benefits...

      Show More

      Cons

      You must be a self starter for a direct sales position. People that come from a sales background will quickly see that this is the best company to sell the best product in the best market at the best time. You must have a big vision to keep you laser focused through the rejection of the job.

      Advice to Management

      Run for President

      SolarCity2016-09-09
    • "Direct Energy Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Mesa, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      you can make as much money as you want - there are people who attrition out because they don't want to work - and there are guys - lots, not just a new - that make over $300K by really, seriously working like animals. You can lead a pretty chill life and still make $110 ish - still see the kids, go to the games, take a couple days off per week. Great job, Great management.

      Cons

      you gotta be ok knocking doors, and you have to be able to work when nobody is watching you.

      Advice to Management

      promote management based on leadership qualities and abilities not sales numbers. Just because a guy can close doesn't mean he is a leader of men.

      SolarCity2016-07-25
    • Helpful (2)

      "D2D"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Asheville, NC

        I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        You work your own schedule. The money is ok if you are on a draw. Make sure you keep the pipeline full

        Cons

        It takes a while for the process to finish. You do not get paid unless the solar panels are officially on the house.

        Advice to Management

        Stop restructuring the pay plan and do what you do for other employees, evenly. Other people have to live and they are not living if they are not getting paid.

        SolarCity2016-07-06
      • "Great Place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Albany, NY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SolarCity full-time

        Pros

        As long as you are working you can make very good $

        Cons

        This department does not get a company car

        Advice to Management

        Great Job they are great

        SolarCity2016-05-20
      • "DEC"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in San Mateo, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        innovative and quickly growing company

        Cons

        Work/Life balance could be better.

        Advice to Management

        Reduce employee turnaround

        SolarCity2016-05-06
      • Helpful (3)

        "Decent company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Marlborough, MA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Hi pay potential. Sink or swim sales position. If you're successful you will learn a lot about sales here just from going door to door.

        Cons

        High turnover of employees because of the high-pressure door to door full commission nature of the job. This position is great for people who don't mind investing a tremendous amount of their yearly time spent on working with people. If you are in a relationship and you want to make six figures here you have your work cut out for you

        SolarCity2016-05-03
      Found 42 reviews