SolarCity Energy Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Energy Consultant Reviews

Updated 7 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
352 Ratings
  1. "Complicated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The idea of working here was supposed to be a career.

    Cons

    The compensation was not enough, there was a miscommunication between workers, the job was very stressful.

    SolarCity2019-09-07
  2. "The good old days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working there was great before they were bought up and transitioned over.

    Cons

    Now they seem to have massive layoffs and no stability.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are doing great!

    SolarCity2019-03-20
  3. "Bias"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Beltsville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company car, fuel card and laptop

    Cons

    Bias, numbers driven not quality oriented

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing

    SolarCity2019-03-09
  4. "Unrealistic Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Energy Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy the job allows for.

    Cons

    Very little support - go out there and do it on your own

    SolarCity2018-04-24
  5. "Field Energy Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customer first approach. Flexible managers. Training. In charge of own business hours.

    Cons

    Cancellation and claw backs. Lead distribution. Commission.

    Advice to Management

    Leads need to be better distributed verses favorites

    SolarCity2018-01-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Teslas step child"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solar panels help the environment

    Cons

    Company is very unorganized, they screw permits and paperwork up constantly. The Leadership is terrible, they dont care if youre up to date on training and even want you to comb over contracts to get sales. Most people working there could care less about helping the environment and are all about money. You will be fired for missing quota, or worse, you could be laid off without notice like I was. Last, they didn't even send me my tax info, I had to send 3 emails thus far and it angered me to the point of writing this review. If you still want a job with them, just tell them you want to make a lot of money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that actually care about the green movement.

    SolarCity2018-02-14
  7. "Door-to-Door Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Energy Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You're selling a great product, and the people installing it are top notch.

    Cons

    No one wants to buy your great product, because it costs more than they pay today, the majority of the time. Managers will constantly tell you half-truths, but the reality is that it is a door-to-door sales job, with unreal restrictions on what you can do to market yourself (they do zero marketing for you - no inbound leads at all).

    Advice to Management

    Completely re-org sales (other than firing the entire force, like you did in May 2017), and fix your IT mess.

    SolarCity2018-01-26
  8. "Energy consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for , my managers helped me every step of the way wich made my experience way better at this company.

    Cons

    Tough job, need to have thick skin and be persistent!

    Advice to Management

    None

    SolarCity2017-12-24
  9. "Field Energy Conultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Thousand Palms, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really liked it, would like to work there again...

    Cons

    Too bad the Las Vegas office closed

    Advice to Management

    None

    SolarCity2017-12-18
  10. "Field Energy Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to work in and be around fun people

    Cons

    on call most of the days if you dont block calendar

    Advice to Management

    time management

    SolarCity2017-12-14
Found 462 reviews