SolarCity Field Energy Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Field Energy Advisor

SolarCity Field Energy Advisor Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
25 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Field Energy Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Can't think of one, except that maybe when Elon Musk re organizes this bunch of numbers driven managers maybe there will be something good in it. Right now, numbers driven managers have run the company into the ground because they failed to institute loan purchase programs and we are left in the dust. Even Sunrun has better solar loan programs.

    Cons

    They will use new people constantly to prop up their appt numbers, they discard the Field Energy Specialists as they become burned out and replace with new ones. They don't promote within, they bring in consultants from the outside. The managers stalk you at Home Depot to see if you are there on time and track you through their GPS tablets instead of motivating you. Not very professional, so unprofessional. Their...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Go back to Wall Street.

    SolarCity2017-01-11
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Company car. Gas card. Cell stipend. Training

    Cons

    Micro managed, fear mongering, poor leadership

    Advice to Management

    Coincidentally most of the management staff in the Inland Empire area are former Enterprise rent a car employees that promote themselves leaving no room of a realistic opportunity for anyone else to get promoted. That doesn't stop them from dangling that carrot, they preach that you can make $1,000.00 a deal if it is self generated (bunch of croc) I would average 4 self generated deals installed along with 4-5 company...

    Show More
    SolarCity2016-10-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great entry-level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SolarCity

    Pros

    Good pay, good company culture, brand name, product sells itself, growth

    Cons

    Standing all day, retail work environment, retro-commission, constant change could be good or bad (lately more restrictive).

    Advice to Management

    The training should be continuous. It seems to me that some regional management is out of sync with what the in store reps, and instead of helping us improve they try to micro-manage in ways that don't help us improve at all. If management seems lazy, unmotivated, and uninterested, so will those they manage.

    SolarCity2016-01-18
  4. Helpful (1)

    "FES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Newark, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity (Less than a year)

    Pros

    good entry level position with competitive pay

    Cons

    frequent problems with sales software

    SolarCity2015-11-15
  5. "Field energy advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Advisor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Strong pay and good opportunities if you consider yourself a savvy salesman.

    Cons

    Management, my manager promised to move me from a shopping mall location for months without ever giving me that opportunity. All my other coworkers worked at Home Depots

    Advice to Management

    Overall not bad management, but keep your promises or your employees will see you as untrustworthy.

    SolarCity2015-10-13
  6. "Best Residential solar company in the nation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Extremely well taken care of. Amazing health care options and potential to make some killer money. You feel like not only are you saving the world but you're making a great living doing it.

    Cons

    You have to really throw yourself into the world of SolarCity. It takes commitment and dedication. It doesn't come easy.

    Advice to Management

    Longer and more in depth training! The newbies definitely get thrown into the fire.

    SolarCity2015-10-05
  7. "Field Energy Specialist (FES)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very positive atmosphere to work in. Everyone is working to save the environment one roof at a time!

    Cons

    Can be a bit lonely at times. You deal with a lot of people who do not want to talk to you, but you can't let it get to you. Just focus on the bigger picture of what the company stands for.

    Advice to Management

    Be sure to provide in-depth on-site training about approaching customers and assisting with pitches.

    SolarCity2015-06-17
  8. "Best company I've ever worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity

    Pros

    Awesome culture with great leaders. They give us all the tools to succeed and let us run, no micro-managing!

    Cons

    The base salary is a little low but in the end, the commission structure and benefits make up for it

    SolarCity2015-04-03
  9. "My experience has been great due to the overwhelming support I get on a daily basis."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I like working here because you make your own success. I am provided all the tools to succeed and I am able to really make my own schedule.

    Cons

    There are some really slow days but I use that time to research information related to my job and the solar industry.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    SolarCity2015-03-26
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Great Product, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Advisor in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SolarCity is definitely changing the world in a positive way and I fully support their mission and their product. They provide good benefits, generous compensation and their company culture, although at times a bit cheesy, is for the most part positive.

    Cons

    In Colorado, the SolarCity management is an absolute joke. Management is constantly changing policies and sales goals on a whim, without giving lower level employees any time to adjust. The timeline for promotions was constantly changing and false expectations and promises were often made by mid level managers. In my time, SolarCity was able to bring in top notch talent but the scattered management style was so discouraging...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate the regional management. Just because someone has been with you from the beginning does not mean they are still the best person for the job.

    SolarCity2015-02-19
Found 30 reviews