SolarCity Field Energy Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Field Energy Consultant Reviews

Updated 19 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 313 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
241 Ratings
  1. "The good old days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working there was great before they were bought up and transitioned over.

    Cons

    Now they seem to have massive layoffs and no stability.

    Advice to Management

    You guys are doing great!

    SolarCity2019-03-20
  2. "Bias"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Beltsville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company car, fuel card and laptop

    Cons

    Bias, numbers driven not quality oriented

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing

    SolarCity2019-03-09
  3. "Field Energy Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Customer first approach. Flexible managers. Training. In charge of own business hours.

    Cons

    Cancellation and claw backs. Lead distribution. Commission.

    Advice to Management

    Leads need to be better distributed verses favorites

    SolarCity2018-01-26
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Teslas step child"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Solar panels help the environment

    Cons

    Company is very unorganized, they screw permits and paperwork up constantly. The Leadership is terrible, they dont care if youre up to date on training and even want you to comb over contracts to get sales. Most people working there could care less about helping the environment and are all about money. You will be fired for missing quota, or worse, you could be laid off without notice like I was. Last, they didn't...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that actually care about the green movement.

    SolarCity2018-02-14
  5. "Energy consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for , my managers helped me every step of the way wich made my experience way better at this company.

    Cons

    Tough job, need to have thick skin and be persistent!

    Advice to Management

    None

    SolarCity2017-12-24
  6. "Field Energy Conultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Thousand Palms, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really liked it, would like to work there again...

    Cons

    Too bad the Las Vegas office closed

    Advice to Management

    None

    SolarCity2017-12-18
  7. "Field Energy Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Ontario, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SolarCity full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Great atmosphere to work in and be around fun people

      Cons

      on call most of the days if you dont block calendar

      Advice to Management

      time management

      SolarCity2017-12-14
    • Helpful (4)

      "Fraternity brothers Need only apply"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Hawthorne, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Fun exciting customers to work with. Flexible hours.

      Cons

      Favoriting among middle management. Micromanaging upper management. High stress levels to meet unrealistic expectations. Top performers cheat or have one offs. Not a fair environment for minorities and women. No long term employment.

      Advice to Management

      Be human and treat your employees like humans.

      SolarCity2017-12-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "Pros and Cons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Stockton, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company and great mission. Depending on the manager you can have a really great work environment, a lot of support from management and a lot of fun. Plus if you're great at the job you can make a lot of money. And the product is easy to sell because it ACTUALLY helps the customer. Flexible scheduling.

      Cons

      It's sales and I hate sales. Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules. It's a saturated business compared to a few years ago. A lot more competition.

      Advice to Management

      Hire good management.

      SolarCity2017-11-25
    • "Disorganized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in San Diego, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, salary, name recognition now Tesla energy

      Cons

      Feels like working for demanding ex girlfriend. Regional managers are good but up top doesn't communicate disorganized. Slow to respond to issues.

      Advice to Management

      Work with your people, listen to issues. Company of bean counters

      SolarCity2017-11-28
    Found 313 reviews