SolarCity Field Energy Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Field Energy Specialist

SolarCity Field Energy Specialist Reviews

Updated 23 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
93 Ratings
  1. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Specialist in Fontana, CA

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to work alone majority of the day

    Cons

    they use to retro our commission pay if a deal fell through on a consultant or install team

    SolarCity2019-07-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "If you're good at sales...maybe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    One of the things I really liked about working here was the flexibility. I also really liked the times where we had two people in-store. It could be really boring when customers keep ignoring you. Having more than one person at the kiosk brought some fun competition or just conversation about sales tactics.

    Cons

    I felt like it was managed very poorly. I don't feel like I was adequately prepared to chase people down the aisles or answer some of the questions they had for me. It also got really bad when management started changing how many leads you had to have in order to be in good standing.

    Advice to Management

    Prepare the staff more. A couple of people I started with quit immediately because they were under the impression we were doing something else.

    SolarCity2019-07-02
  3. "High Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros for this position

    Cons

    Unrealistic numbers driven sales goals Promotions based on sales volume not people skills

    SolarCity2019-07-12
  4. "FES review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist in Hawthorne, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Base pay + Commission -Flexible work hours and work schedule -Camaraderie between sales team

    Cons

    -Low pay -Turnover rate is high -Scarce bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Care more for their people.

    SolarCity2019-05-01
  5. "Interesting Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, affordable benefits, flexible schedule. Opportunities for advancement are present, but expectations are high.

    Cons

    Lack of communication from higher ups cause CAMs to be stressed and it affects team members. Commission requirements improved, but should be more comprehensive.

    Advice to Management

    Calm the rigidity! Let FESes do their own thing and trust them to do the job.

    SolarCity2018-02-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Expect to hear "No" and get Discouraged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Specialist in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You're changing the world, and the pleasant people you meet are incredible.

    Cons

    Customers in store can be hostile, and that can be hard to deal with

    SolarCity2017-10-26
  7. "Good short term job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun for a short term job.

    Cons

    Take a long time and many hoops to jump through to get promoted.

    SolarCity2017-10-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Field Energy Specialist (guys you see in home depot)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy gig until Tesla took over. Surface pro device. Ok market.

    Cons

    Money was never great. managers fed you alot of bs. commission structure changed for the worst after tesla acquired company.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the lies. and stop creating such conflict of interest between fes and fec sales reps.

    SolarCity2017-09-26
  9. "Great opportunity to create personal and team growth. Sharpens customer service skills."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Specialist in Chico, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful team work. Helps to develop great personal skills. A great way to develop communication skills and engaging with clientele.

    Cons

    Standing on feet for long amounts of time. Need good comfortable shoes.

    SolarCity2017-08-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Over Promise Under Deliver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are friendly and try to help you in anyway they can.

    Cons

    All the negative reviews here are true. Company is in transition know one knows what they are doing. You don't learn anything from this position.

    SolarCity2017-09-25
Found 139 reviews