SolarCity Installer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Installer Reviews

Updated 9 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 83 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
54 Ratings
  1. "Worst management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Installer in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros other than decent pay

    Cons

    Lots of cons and over worked it’s employees

    Advice to Management

    Get new management

    SolarCity2019-05-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of schwag like free shirts and hats?

    Cons

    Nearly everything. Coworkers who put speed ahead of quality, careless and unsafe. Management in a constant state of panic because they do not know what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with expierence managing. The good old boy club isn't working.

    SolarCity2018-12-12
  3. "Solar Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solar Installer in Merced, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing opportunities. Work ends when the job ends. Panel Pay(Bonus). Great People. Absolutely loved the job.

    Cons

    Company told a location that they had work coming, but closed down on everyone. Only Downfall I saw. Honesty goes a long way.

    Advice to Management

    Honesty is key. Keep them in the know. Happy employees create great work.

    SolarCity2018-06-01
  4. "East coast BEAST COAST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installer in Paducah, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Panel pay and the people are great to work with. Loved every minute of it and wish I could stay

    Cons

    Snow and very steep roofs. Dealing with snow and ice on the roofs wasn’t pleasant. Glorified snow shoveling pro, makes you a beast tho

    Advice to Management

    NA

    SolarCity2018-03-28
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Once a fun place to work turned nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installation Scheduler in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits Flexible schedule Set hours

    Cons

    TERRIBLE management High turnover Unrealistic quotas Micromanage everything, even bathroom breaks Stay away from this department, it went from okay, to bad, to worse over the years

    SolarCity2017-07-11
  6. "Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installer in Elmsford, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard Good Work long days

    Cons

    No Work Life Balance stressful

    SolarCity2017-05-16
  7. "Site Surveyor / Installer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installer in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great teammates, open door communication, high energy, consistent job training, opportunity to grow, travel opportunities, safety focus, performance based compensation/base hourly.

    Cons

    work flow varies but my management did a great job at moving people to where they were needed, not for people who don't can't tolerate hard work / cold weather

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting people based on their communication skills and feedback from other employees.

    SolarCity2017-05-13
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Work is slow and the pay isn't great anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solar Installer in Milford, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from 6-2 get off early. Used to be a great place to work. Clean warehouse and supplies available. Team is strong and works hard at job site.

    Cons

    Manager is weak and doesn't stick up for employees. Let's some folks be lazy. Let's office staff sit back and talk all day very frustrating to see some people get paid to do nothing. Many of them are sitting at a desk watching youtube and videos. They also text a lot on their phones. Meanwhile we are out there busting our butts in all degree weather. Horrible work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs to look at all the warehouse and see which are worth keeping around. Pay employees better.

    SolarCity2017-06-11
  9. "Installer 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installation Technician 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family feel workplace, everyone is fun energetic and easy to make friends with.

    Cons

    Very hard work ! For so little pay.

    Advice to Management

    Stay awesome !!!

    SolarCity2017-04-30
  10. "senior installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Installer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great hrs we got done early a lot

    Cons

    early starting time, but i guess that really wasn't bad

    Advice to Management

    great job

    SolarCity2017-04-08
Found 83 reviews