SolarCity Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Reviews

Updated 4 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,608 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay; Great People; Amazing Mission - this is a really great company to work for if you love Elon this is the place for you(in 100 reviews)

  • "Great place great people and atmosphere(in 96 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance, poor training(in 103 reviews)

  • "Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Amazing people and culture Great leadership

    Cons

    Keep your values Retain your top talent

    SolarCity2016-03-24
  2. "Great Culture And a Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing leadership and great coworkers made it a great experience working for SolarCity

    Cons

    Hours and sometimes micro management

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2020-02-05
  3. "Renewable energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Surat
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like environmental, so my best time spend in this area.

    Cons

    I do my internship in solar company.

    SolarCity2019-12-24
  4. "Really believed in the mission and leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone believed, strong sense of purpose. Quick moving and technology in house was top notch.

    Cons

    Once leadership changed at the sales level, focus shifted, priorities shifted. Its an issue of scale that all large companies must deal with.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2019-11-23
  5. "Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its casual. You interact with lots of different people

    Cons

    Your only real advancement is door-to-door sales

    SolarCity2019-09-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "We all should have seen this coming."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission Driven Company, working on clean energy

    Cons

    Naive leadership susceptible to con-artists and blindspots common when boards and executive teams are homogenous.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2019-08-23
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Generation Specialist in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and people and flexibility

    Cons

    Low pay and poor middle management

    SolarCity2019-08-05
  8. "Complicated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The idea of working here was supposed to be a career.

    Cons

    The compensation was not enough, there was a miscommunication between workers, the job was very stressful.

    SolarCity2019-09-07
  9. "So much opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Surveyor in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of upward growth at the time. If you worked harder than others, you were recognized for it.

    Cons

    Hemorrhaging money left & right.

    SolarCity2019-07-16
  10. "Was great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great place great people and atmosphere

    Cons

    The number of phone calls

    SolarCity2019-07-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 2341 reviews