SolarCity Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Reviews

Updated 9 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2333 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1606 Ratings
  1. "Solar PV panel Installation and maintenance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience in solar PV panel. Project budgeting and estimation.

    Cons

    Low Salary. Low attention for employers.

    SolarCity2019-03-06
  2. "Designed for burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Surveyor 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at SolarCity full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Not a bad if you can hustle, cut the right corners, and your aspirations are to stay a surveyor, or become a manager.

      Cons

      No option for less than 12 hours days. Frequent 16 hour days. Overtime doesn't happen until a weekly max hits. Hourly is very low. All your money comes from bonuses. No bonus for quality work. No incentive for innovation.

      SolarCity2019-03-04
    • "SolarCity"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fremont, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at SolarCity full-time

        Pros

        Young team leadership and startup mentality with manufacturing focus in Silicon Valley.

        Cons

        I was looking for an intensive research and development (R&D) environment; ultimately market factors meant that manufacturing took precedence over R&D and engineering.

        SolarCity2019-03-02
      • "A great mission with great people"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Vice President Commercial Sales Operations in San Mateo, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SolarCity for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The people were outstanding and the mission really mattered. We had a huge impact on how energy is generated in the US.

        Cons

        Lots of growing pains and uncertainty.

        SolarCity2019-01-26
      • "Good company, fast paced"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Warehouse 

        I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great people and a great environment

        Cons

        Hectic days and unpredictable schedule

        SolarCity2019-01-30
      • "Good Managerial Support"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at SolarCity

          Pros

          Working for a good cause and also help to educate the consumers about solar while helping the homeowners to lower the energy costs

          Cons

          There aren’t any that I can think of.

          SolarCity2018-12-19
        • "Permit Coordinator"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at SolarCity full-time

            Pros

            Working in a very active and unpredictable market

            Cons

            Layoffs and office shut downs if government utilities place a net on amount of solar they'll allow to be generated

            SolarCity2018-12-05
          • Helpful (2)

            "Installer"

            StarStarStarStarStar
            • Work/Life Balance
            • Culture & Values
            • Career Opportunities
            • Compensation and Benefits
            • Senior Management
            Former Employee - Installer in San Diego, CA
            Doesn't Recommend
            Negative Outlook
            Disapproves of CEO

            I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Lots of schwag like free shirts and hats?

            Cons

            Nearly everything. Coworkers who put speed ahead of quality, careless and unsafe. Management in a constant state of panic because they do not know what they are doing.

            Advice to Management

            Hire people with expierence managing. The good old boy club isn't working.

            SolarCity2018-12-12
          • "Inspection Coordinator"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I worked at SolarCity full-time

              Pros

              Great team, training, and praise for great work achieved.

              Cons

              Opportunities for promotion can be hard to come by.

              Advice to Management

              No advice at this time, as company grows more opportunities for promotions become available.

              SolarCity2018-11-18
            • "Direct Energy"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
              Recommends
              Positive Outlook
              Approves of CEO

              I worked at SolarCity full-time

              Pros

              Great Mission and Senior Leadership Team

              Cons

              Grew to fast, promoted mid-level managers who are not people leaders.

              Advice to Management

              None.

              SolarCity2018-10-29
            Found 2333 reviews