SolarCity Field Energy Consultant- Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Reviews

Updated Nov 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
51%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,609 Ratings
  1. "Great Company to begin a solar career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Santa Ana, CA

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big name recognition Salary plus commissions Lots of leads and appointments Company Car Heath Benefits Weekly sales training meetings

    Cons

    Constant revolving door of new hires Lots of hours

    SolarCity2019-03-18
  2. "Bias"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Beltsville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company car, fuel card and laptop

    Cons

    Bias, numbers driven not quality oriented

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing

    SolarCity2019-03-09
  3. "Solar PV panel Installation and maintenance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience in solar PV panel. Project budgeting and estimation.

    Cons

    Low Salary. Low attention for employers.

    SolarCity2019-03-06
  4. "Designed for burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Surveyor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a bad if you can hustle, cut the right corners, and your aspirations are to stay a surveyor, or become a manager.

    Cons

    No option for less than 12 hours days. Frequent 16 hour days. Overtime doesn't happen until a weekly max hits. Hourly is very low. All your money comes from bonuses. No bonus for quality work. No incentive for innovation.

    SolarCity2019-03-04
  5. "SolarCity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Young team leadership and startup mentality with manufacturing focus in Silicon Valley.

    Cons

    I was looking for an intensive research and development (R&D) environment; ultimately market factors meant that manufacturing took precedence over R&D and engineering.

    SolarCity2019-03-02
  6. "A great mission with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President Commercial Sales Operations in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people were outstanding and the mission really mattered. We had a huge impact on how energy is generated in the US.

    Cons

    Lots of growing pains and uncertainty.

    SolarCity2019-01-26
  7. "Good company, fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse 

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and a great environment

    Cons

    Hectic days and unpredictable schedule

    SolarCity2019-01-30
  8. "Good Managerial Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Working for a good cause and also help to educate the consumers about solar while helping the homeowners to lower the energy costs

    Cons

    There aren’t any that I can think of.

    SolarCity2018-12-19
  9. "Permit Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Working in a very active and unpredictable market

    Cons

    Layoffs and office shut downs if government utilities place a net on amount of solar they'll allow to be generated

    SolarCity2018-12-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of schwag like free shirts and hats?

    Cons

    Nearly everything. Coworkers who put speed ahead of quality, careless and unsafe. Management in a constant state of panic because they do not know what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with expierence managing. The good old boy club isn't working.

    SolarCity2018-12-12
Found 2341 reviews