SolarCity Field Energy Consultant- Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Reviews

Updated 23 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,608 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Installer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Installer in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of schwag like free shirts and hats?

    Cons

    Nearly everything. Coworkers who put speed ahead of quality, careless and unsafe. Management in a constant state of panic because they do not know what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with expierence managing. The good old boy club isn't working.

    SolarCity2018-12-12
  2. "Inspection Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great team, training, and praise for great work achieved.

    Cons

    Opportunities for promotion can be hard to come by.

    Advice to Management

    No advice at this time, as company grows more opportunities for promotions become available.

    SolarCity2018-11-18
  3. "Direct Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great Mission and Senior Leadership Team

    Cons

    Grew to fast, promoted mid-level managers who are not people leaders.

    Advice to Management

    None.

    SolarCity2018-10-29
  4. "Inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Great money to be made once installs happen

    Cons

    Management doesn’t care for you

    SolarCity2018-09-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Site Surveyor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Access to rooftops and good views.

    Cons

    Anything less than a 12 hr day was a non-option. More hours were allowed, but considering that driving back is part of the job, its a wonder that more accidents didn't happen due to fatigue.

    Advice to Management

    Allow the option of a 10 hr daily cap. Don't structure the company for employee burnout and high turnover.

    SolarCity2018-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Solar City lacks committment to employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great enthusiasm, great people, good product

    Cons

    Micromanaged, lack a firm marketing course.

    Advice to Management

    Develop better lead sources

    SolarCity2018-08-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "field sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    offered a flexible schedule weekly

    Cons

    dont care about the customers or developing sales reps. promoted non qualified people to managers too soon

    SolarCity2018-08-22
  8. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Great culture,. lots of works

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    SolarCity2018-07-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Field Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule. Company car. Laptop.

    Cons

    Management are pushy and rude. Favoritism. Quotas. Too many changes to company rule, literally every quarter the rule changes.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your sales. Fix bad management.

    SolarCity2018-08-21
  10. "So sad to see it gone and so many losing their jobs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    The people were so passionate, they cared so much for each other and the work that they were doing.

    Cons

    Some of the exeuctives who were added in the last couple of years were sorely lacking in diversity skills and had questionable backgrounds.

    Advice to Management

    don't give up on solar!

    SolarCity2018-07-13
Found 2341 reviews