SolarCity Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,626 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company other than they laid off all san Diego county(in 101 reviews)

  • "Great place great people and atmosphere(in 96 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good but not so good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inspector General 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great company other than they laid off all san Diego county

    Cons

    Laid off all San Diego county

    SolarCity2020-03-30
  2. "Elon Muske for Presi"

    4.0
     

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Pay scale could be better

    SolarCity2018-05-16
  3. "FEC"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    I loved working for SolarCity. Great company culture and pay.

    Cons

    Local management wasn’t as strong as it could have been.

    SolarCity2018-03-15
  4. "Energy consultant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for , my managers helped me every step of the way wich made my experience way better at this company.

    Cons

    Tough job, need to have thick skin and be persistent!

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-12-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and Cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company and great mission. Depending on the manager you can have a really great work environment, a lot of support from management and a lot of fun. Plus if you're great at the job you can make a lot of money. And the product is easy to sell because it ACTUALLY helps the customer. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    It's sales and I hate sales. Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules. It's a saturated business compared to a few years ago. A lot more competition.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-11-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Direct Energy Associate - learned that I don't like sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They were very fair in terms of compensation, great company support for my customers.

    Cons

    Culture on the team was fake bro love, way too much hype, not nearly enough training, especially on the product we were selling. Tesla hopefully reigned all of that in but we'll see how the company grows.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-10-12
  7. "Great company low pay"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Low pay and bad management

    SolarCity2017-08-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great company with good pay. Every department but concierge has good management.

    Cons

    The concierge department has very bad management.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-07-10
  9. "Sight surveyor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sight Surveyor in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -great people to work with - good positive environment -Great company mission -the work is pretty easy -a stock program - will teach you if your willing to learn

    Cons

    -no match on 401k -I was totally mislead about the pay. I was told that the that it was a $15 an hour or $70 per house which ever was more which is true. But they said I would work 5 days a week and you were required to survey a minimum of 3 houses a day and would be making 55k-70k a year (because of the bonus structure). This ended up being completely false. After my training they reduced us to 4 days a week and could only submit or jobs for 3 days a week most of the time and averaged 2 houses a day. Making it practically impossible to make bonus pay. I will be lucky if I clear 32k this year if I don't work over time doing other tasks. -with that being said I still love the work environment and the people are great and will continue to work there and work my way up

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-05-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "close, but...."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FEC in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    = great company mission = very good training

    Cons

    = not set up well to do business for many New Mexico homes = centralized corporate structure makes local office an outpost

    SolarCity2017-05-07
Found 101 reviews