SolarCity "great company" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SolarCity Employee Reviews about "great company"

Updated 9 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2333 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1606 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay; Great People; Amazing Mission - this is a really great company to work for if you love Elon this is the place for you(in 100 reviews)

  • "mission-driven, collaborative culture, great people who truly want to do the right thing(in 95 reviews)

Cons
  • "No work/life balance, poor training(in 103 reviews)

  • "Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules(in 77 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great company"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Elon Muske for Presi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at SolarCity

      Pros

      Great company to work for

      Cons

      Pay scale could be better

      SolarCity2018-05-16
    • "FEC"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SolarCity full-time

      Pros

      I loved working for SolarCity. Great company culture and pay.

      Cons

      Local management wasn’t as strong as it could have been.

      SolarCity2018-03-15
    • "Energy consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company to work for , my managers helped me every step of the way wich made my experience way better at this company.

      Cons

      Tough job, need to have thick skin and be persistent!

      Advice to Management

      None

      SolarCity2017-12-24
    • Helpful (1)

      "Pros and Cons"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Stockton, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company and great mission. Depending on the manager you can have a really great work environment, a lot of support from management and a lot of fun. Plus if you're great at the job you can make a lot of money. And the product is easy to sell because it ACTUALLY helps the customer. Flexible scheduling.

      Cons

      It's sales and I hate sales. Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules. It's a saturated business compared to a few years ago. A lot more competition.

      Advice to Management

      Hire good management.

      SolarCity2017-11-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Direct Energy Associate - learned that I don't like sales"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Direct Energy Consultant in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      They were very fair in terms of compensation, great company support for my customers.

      Cons

      Culture on the team was fake bro love, way too much hype, not nearly enough training, especially on the product we were selling. Tesla hopefully reigned all of that in but we'll see how the company grows.

      Advice to Management

      Don't hire "professional" sales people; they do just as much harm as good, and they are anything but professional. All the low hanging fruit is gone, innovate your way forward to meet new and still skeptical customers.

      SolarCity2017-10-12
    • "Great company low pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at SolarCity full-time

        Pros

        Great company to work for

        Cons

        Low pay and bad management

        SolarCity2017-08-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "Bad management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SolarCity full-time

        Pros

        Great company with good pay. Every department but concierge has good management.

        Cons

        The concierge department has very bad management.

        Advice to Management

        Stop using firing as a coaching tool.

        SolarCity2017-07-10
      • "Sight surveyor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sight Surveyor in Pittsburgh, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at SolarCity full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -great people to work with - good positive environment -Great company mission -the work is pretty easy -a stock program - will teach you if your willing to learn

        Cons

        -no match on 401k -I was totally mislead about the pay. I was told that the that it was a $15 an hour or $70 per house which ever was more which is true. But they said I would work 5 days a week and you were required to survey a minimum of 3 houses a day and would be making 55k-70k a year (because of the bonus structure). This ended up being completely false. After my training they reduced us to 4 days a week and could...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        -management is pritty good but is lazy at times

        SolarCity2017-05-22
      • Helpful (1)

        "close, but...."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - FEC in Albuquerque, NM
        Doesn't Recommend
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        = great company mission = very good training

        Cons

        = not set up well to do business for many New Mexico homes = centralized corporate structure makes local office an outpost

        SolarCity2017-05-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "Field Energy Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at SolarCity full-time

        Pros

        Great company, great atmosphere, great benefits, supportive team and great leaders.

        Cons

        Long hours of standing and pitching to customers within The Home Depot and Best Buy. Listen to customer concerns and complaints. A lot of factors are out of your hands and effect your compensation.

        SolarCity2017-03-10
      Found 2333 reviews