SolarCity Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,623 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company other than they laid off all san Diego county(in 101 reviews)

  • "Great place great people and atmosphere(in 96 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No work/life balance, poor training(in 103 reviews)

  • "long hours, but aside from that not bad(in 77 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Was great place

      12 Jul 2019 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place great people and atmosphere

      Cons

      The number of phone calls

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I'm inspired and excited to work for such an amazing company!

      22 Aug 2014 - Senior Field Energy Consultant in Santa Cruz, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I get to get paid for supplying a service that doesn't cost anything and every day I'm saving people on their energy bills. Not only that, the service that I'm providing is helping save the environment and our planet! I also get to meet great people every day and help them join our movement toward cleaner cheaper energy. I'm can't say how proud I am to work for such an innovative and supportive company that has their head in the right game!

      Cons

      My position is a Sr. Field Energy Consultant. My job is driving around to different homes to help promote our product. It is a very demanding job. There is hardly a day that I do not function or perform my duties. Although, every day that I am working, I am doing something that I truely believe in and having fun while I do it. As much as I do work, I love my job so I don't feel like I am working.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      SolarCity Response

      SolarCity Recruiting

      We are happy to hear you share our sense of pride in SolarCity. SolarCity is a movement, composed of the “great people” you mentioned. It’s not easy saving the world and we truly appreciate the hard work you have put in. Thank you for your feedback on management. We are focusing on making sure our management team is great across the board.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      I used to love my job.

      30 Jul 2016 - CAMG in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For the longest time, SolarCity was the mythical unicorn of jobs for me. Great people, an exciting product, the general feeling that we were all apart of something greater than ourselves. In a lot of ways, it's still really great. The vibe is collaborative and cheerful. I get to work on exciting and creative projects. My peers are some of the funniest, kindest, and also most capable people I have ever encountered.

      Cons

      My manager. Since stepping into this role, I have been screamed at, ridiculed in front of my team and others, or most often- just ignored completely. This had made me such a wreck that I cannot even carry on a conversation without becoming emotional. As a woman, this is an especially problematic label in the workplace. When I attempted to bring my concerns to upper management, I was cheerfully rebuffed. It became immediately clear that no one is willing to help me with this situation.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company, fast paced

      29 Jan 2019 - Warehouse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and a great environment

      Cons

      Hectic days and unpredictable schedule

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Commercial Travelling Installer

      31 Oct 2016 - Electrician Apprentice in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The crews are Full of great people, Generally nice hotels

      Cons

      Low pay, "we pay a lower wage because we have an incentive bonus program per job that will exceed your weekly pay and get jobs done quicker." The biggest scam ever! This would be feasible if materials were delivered on time. But they are not. Ever. Never. When materials do come, it is very likely that they are not correct, and a "make it work" phrase is generally said. In which case you will be revisiting that jobsite when it does not pass inspection or quality control. Overtime has been eliminated company wide, only until a job is a week from deadline and only half way completed. We are the installers, we know from day one judging by the system type, size, layout, and working conditions if said deadline is obtainable, which it is often not. Management comes up with run rates (goals for each day) to be completed in order to meet a deadline. Once again if material is not there. Makes it hard to complete tasks. Upward mobility is a dream. They say if you work hard it'll be seen. Not the case. Way to focused on trying to finish a job that isn't a million dollars over budget (actual number) then caring about where you stand skill level wise. One last thing. You'll be home 10% of the time. The rest you'll be on the road.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing place to work

      9 Sep 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Granite Bay, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We work hard and we play hard. This company is all about success and helping each other acheive it. I have never been with a company where EVERY single person wants to help you succeed. We get to work with great people, help people save on their electricity rates, and help save the planet. What more could you ask for ?! It's a no brainer...I work in sales for a company where I never have to worry about lying to my customer. When I help a customer go Solar through SolarCity, they literally are doing nothing but saving and getting cleaner energy. Save the planet one rooftop at a time.

      Cons

      Honestly, the only con is when a customer doesn't understand what you are doing for them because they think it's too good to be true. It can get a little frustrating when you are just trying to show a customer that this is not only to save them now, but it will help to exponentially save as the years go on... and it doesn't cost them anything out of pocket!!!! I just want to help people.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sight surveyor

      21 May 2017 - Sight Surveyor in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great people to work with - good positive environment -Great company mission -the work is pretty easy -a stock program - will teach you if your willing to learn

      Cons

      -no match on 401k -I was totally mislead about the pay. I was told that the that it was a $15 an hour or $70 per house which ever was more which is true. But they said I would work 5 days a week and you were required to survey a minimum of 3 houses a day and would be making 55k-70k a year (because of the bonus structure). This ended up being completely false. After my training they reduced us to 4 days a week and could only submit or jobs for 3 days a week most of the time and averaged 2 houses a day. Making it practically impossible to make bonus pay. I will be lucky if I clear 32k this year if I don't work over time doing other tasks. -with that being said I still love the work environment and the people are great and will continue to work there and work my way up

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      In a word my experience with SolarCity has been conflicting.

      19 Jan 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping change the way people think about powering their homes. It's amazing to work for a green company. All the people I have worked with have been great people. The flexibility with my schedule has also been good - it's nice to know that if the weather is bad I have the option to work from home.

      Cons

      The pay is horrandous. At least my pay is. I did a search on glassdoor to see what people in the same position get paid and I was far lower than everyone else. I make such little money that I can't afford a place to live (I'm basically homeless), I'm also on food stamps and I can't afford the health insurance provided by SolarCity. I've been with the company for 2 years, one year as a temp and one year as a full time employee and I still have not received my shares of stock. I've inquired with both the stock admin and my HR rep and neither knew anything. Having those shares of stock would really help because I'm struggling financially right now.

      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Eh.

      6 Dec 2016 - Field Energy Consultant in Blackwood, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I met great people working there. I gained valuable project management, time management, and sales skills including objection handling.

      Cons

      The turnover rate seems to be high, and for obvious reasons. To be successful, you really do need to work more often than youre not working. There was little help from management when I was put on a performance plan. Unless you really have a knack for sales and can handle repeated rejection at time, I would not recommend working here. Other relevant info: The benefits are very expensive ($2700 deductible for a single person) No tuition reimbursement No quota relief for taking vacation No 401k company match Way too many factors that can get in the way after you close a sale that are out of your control that gets the job cancelled (roof disqualified, customer disappears/stops answering phone calls, someone doing paperwork drops the ball and customer cancels) I personally struggled with selling the benefits of the company when other companies offer very similar benefits and can save the customer way more money than SolarCity

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Way to Jump Start a Career...

      26 May 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - For the most part I got to work alongside great people. - Built up my confidence and comfort level communicating with upper management. - Job flow was easy to understand. - Helped me gain experience in the energy industry. - Was able to move to different departments.

      Cons

      - Low pay for the amount of work and responsibilities - No 401k matching/ tuition reimbursement - Upper management did not foster growth nor did they take responsibility for their actions when things went wrong. - Upper management had little to no knowledge about the energy industry and the work being done on the floor, but dictated a strict quota and quality percentage. - Company culture and morale declined over the years - No job security as people would get let go in big waves -Production and numbers driven rather than quality driven

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 96 Reviews

    Work at SolarCity? Share Your Experiences

    SolarCity logo
    or