SolarCity Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 12 Jan 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,626 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company other than they laid off all san Diego county(in 101 reviews)

  • "Great place great people and atmosphere(in 96 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Installation Lead Installer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Crew Lead in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity for more than a year

    Pros

    Most experienced team I've worked with

    Cons

    long hours, but aside from that not bad

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2018-01-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Pros and Cons"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Energy Consultant in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company and great mission. Depending on the manager you can have a really great work environment, a lot of support from management and a lot of fun. Plus if you're great at the job you can make a lot of money. And the product is easy to sell because it ACTUALLY helps the customer. Flexible scheduling.

    Cons

    It's sales and I hate sales. Sometimes you work late or long hours to accommodate customer schedules. It's a saturated business compared to a few years ago. A lot more competition.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-11-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Field Energy Consultant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FEC in Colma, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked with great hard working people. Saving customers money on there energy bills. Great products and services. Great partnerships. Home Depot and Best Buy

    Cons

    Under paid. Commissions were not paid till solar panels were installed. You have to go through 100 no’s to get to 2 yes’s. Long hours on your feet.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-10-20
  4. "Field Licensed Electrician"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, hard work, long hours

    Cons

    When you have passionate coworkers you could make a lot of money and get paid for a lot of over-time, but the long hours, travel, bad life-work balance, the long hours and low pay made the work environment less than ideal.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-09-28
  5. "Was great most of the time get used to a lot of secrets so much for transparency that they always harp on."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Crew Lead in Chico, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, good pay, learned a lot very fast paced. Good training programs, incentives are good lots of overtime. Safety is a priority I always felt I had the right equipment to get a job done safely

    Cons

    Long hours stringent deadlines and always low manpower for given jobs. Often the right hand doesn't know what the left is doing at the same time.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-06-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Field Energy Specialist"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great atmosphere, great benefits, supportive team and great leaders.

    Cons

    Long hours of standing and pitching to customers within The Home Depot and Best Buy. Listen to customer concerns and complaints. A lot of factors are out of your hands and effect your compensation.

    SolarCity2017-03-10
  7. "Operations Manager"

    5.0
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity

    Pros

    The founders are very driven and most of the work seems very purposeful.

    Cons

    Long hours and unreasonably high expectations.

    SolarCity2017-02-07
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not your avg job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Energy Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SolarCity for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff. Good cause.

    Cons

    Long hours for little pay. Poor communication on all fronts.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2017-02-10
  9. "Warehouse Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Warehouse Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity

    Pros

    Great company overall Fast pace paid time off work with a great group of guys positive vibes daily bosses listen to you and understand where you are coming from they treat you like a person and not a maching

    Cons

    long hours changes daily stretched thin when it comes to employees no pay increases each year it doesn't matter where you live the pay is the same across the board they should pay you based on where you live because not all cost of living is the same.

    Continue reading
    SolarCity2016-10-28
  10. "Channel Account Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Channel Account Manager in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SolarCity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -job autonomy -positive work culture -start up vibe with room for growth -constant changes -working from home and in the field

    Cons

    -long hours and always on call -constant changes

    SolarCity2016-10-19
Found 77 reviews