SolarCity Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 27 Mar 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
SolarCity CEO & Co-Founder Lyndon Rive
Lyndon Rive
1,623 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company other than they laid off all san Diego county(in 101 reviews)

  • "Great place great people and atmosphere(in 96 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No work/life balance, poor training(in 103 reviews)

  • "long hours, but aside from that not bad(in 77 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working on SW attempting to solve the energy grid's most interesting and pressing problems.

      9 Mar 2015 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The SW team is a high quality group of engineers... probably the best overall group I've come across in my career yet. There seems to be a mostly healthy work/life balance. Hard and intense work, but not too many crazy expectations or all-nighters. The best part is the set of problems we're working on: * SW to help a fleet of energy systems interact most optimally with the energy grid; * customer engagement tools to improve the adoption of solar across the country by lowering customer engagement costs; * system design and modeling tools * energy grid data analytics Overall, it's a pretty wide breadth of SW challenges in one company: web front-end, web back-end, control algorithms, cloud infrastructure, embedded systems, mobile apps. Mostly there are good SW dev processes in place: code reviews, unit testing, continuous integration to name a few. Finally, the company seems to have a pretty consistent business strategy. No random swings from one priority to the next and projects scrapped due to managerial whims as I've seen elsewhere.

      Cons

      Compensation is fair to good... but it's not Google, Apple, Facebook. And the quirky SW industry benefits which some of the big boys can offer (free food, laundry, haircuts, massage, etc) aren't to be found here. The SW dev practices are pretty good, but in some cases/teams/projects just being implemented. Always room for improvement there.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great for some not for all

      28 Jul 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you work in design department schedule is very flexible as well as dress code. Being able to work from home is a plus as well. If you make it pass the entry level position the pay and bonus structure is very rewarding. The bonus structure rewards people willing to work hard, but those who can't meet the threshold of bonusing will find the base pay to be abysmal.

      Cons

      If you are an entry level PV Designer I the pay and bonus structure is terrible considering the amount of perfection that is demanded from the designers. The software creates designs fast when it works but it is prone to breaking a lot every weekly code release. The amount of software support can't keep up with the constant additions of requirements to design, slowing down the design process and making it harder for designers to bonus. Also for a lot of people the work life balance is tilted way to heavily towards work. There is always more work than time in a day. As a designer that is a reflection of how many designs you do. The more designs, the worse the work life balance but you need to do a lot of designs to make decent money.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Disappointed after 2 years in Sales

      9 Feb 2016 - Field Energy Consultant in Decatur, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very independent role with trust for you to preform. You can set your own working schedule. If you are hitting all your numbers you probably will not even know who your manager is. Growing company in an exciting field. Very cool to be part of an Elon Musk company and under the leadership of Lyndon and Pete. High potential.

      Cons

      Work life balance. First 6-12months expect to be working 6 to 7day weeks to build your pipeline. The attitude from higher management is what have you done from me lately. Very number focus with lack of training. They will expect you to sell 20-30 year contracts immediately out of training. Leads to a bad customer experience. A common analogy for training "its like drinking out of a fire hose." Revolving door of employment, very little team bonding. Had a since that sales people where not valued. I overheard managers saying they had to do the "Good Stuff" before letting me go. I was with the company for almost 2 years. Operations and sales still have to figure communication down fallings.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      High Pressured Environment, Revolving Door

      29 May 2014 - Field Energy Consultant in Decatur, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice People, Meaningful Work in Solar. Industry Good job for someone starting career and OK working long hours and weekends, for not great pay. Good for super residential salesman who's expert at closing homeowner contracts on one call. Good training programs. Good experience with fast paced high expectations sales. Have to give Senior management credit for Impressive growth.

      Cons

      Expect to work 6-7 days a week, 50-70 hours a week. While I was there they fired the local entire management staff, and kept hiring more and more sales staff making it harder and harder to make over 60K, and if you're not making that expect to get PIP'ed. Promised supplied leads and did not deliver due to changes. Change compensation plans, pricing, etc. with no warning. High turnover. Your work here is about sell, sell, sell, cost of acquisition and reducing it, very little focus on solar itself beyond that fact that more solar is better for the planet. Most people hired come from sales backgrounds other than solar. Very little opportunity for growth outside of CA. If you're looking to build a career to make 100K+ Residential solar is not a good choice. Large Solar Company's like SC have driven up hours and demands on salaried employees and driven down benefits and pay. Solar is not a great career for people who want to make good money and have a nice work/life balance.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fast paced hard work

      18 Oct 2013 - Energy Efficiency Regional Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A very well managed company with plenty of opportunity to learn and grow if you are a very hard working, workaholic type person and can maintain a positive, can do attitude regardless of whatever curveballs are thrown your way. The company's commitment to safety is first class and appreciated by all.

      Cons

      The drive for perfection and improvement is relentless. Results that earn you a bonus and an excellent review one year could be deemed inadequate and get your fired next year. Complacency is not tolerated. Nothing is really ever good enough. This is understandable in a highly competitive business. But it stresses employees to the max and makes it hard to maintain morale. Expect to work long hours and forget about being able to take any time off and don't get sick. The term "work life balance" is openly mocked by management. You are expected to make the company your first priority and any family obligations a distant second.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Truly, Working Here Has Changed My LIfe

      15 Dec 2015 - Inside Energy Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have never in my life (and I'm almost 50) worked in a more dynamic environment. Now, I'm not a manager, or an upper management member. I'm a regular full time sales employee. I came to SolarCity because I had friends here that could not say enough good things, and after months and months I finally caved, left my other sales job and gave it a shot. BEST. DECISION. EVER. I have never been happier. Truly. My manager is amazing, my coworkers are incredible people. The work culture is one of success, hard work and work/life balance. This company is about ALWAYS doing the right thing by the customer. It's so nice to work somewhere where I can feel GOOD about what I'm involved with. Feel GOOD about the company I represent. I will retire from SolarCity. I will never leave.

      Cons

      Truly, I cannot think of one that immediately leaps to mine. I truly am the happiest I have ever been. For the first time in my life I can say, without hesitation, "I love my job."

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Disappointing Experience

      18 Oct 2015 - Field Energy Consultant in Orange, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's lots of freedom and you get a company car! They provide you with a company laptop, cell phone stipend, and a mobile wifi. These tangible goods were pretty awesome.

      Cons

      Huge cultural issues subside in SolarCity. It's a high sales volume, top down pressure culture. I deal with these situations just fine, and performed as one of the top sales people in my region. The problem was, I was extremely overworked, which the company will ultimately blame on you, they will recite the few people that have struck a work life balance, but these people are by far the exception, not the norm. I met a lot of people that thought they can handle the work-load in the beginning, but soon quit, or got fired since they couldn't keep up. You need to be willing to work 7 days a week, at least for the first 2-3 years. My biggest issue was my reliance on other departments to handle presumably simple tasks. Sales people are ultimately selling a home imporvement, which requires light construction. It wasn't unusual for a home-owner to have some obligations or additional costs to move forward. This is where things got complicated, as a sales rep, you want to help-- but the company does not empower the sales force to take care of these issues, or provide useful resources to how you can get the project to move forward. Handling these issues ends up taking most of your time, unless you learn how to turn a cold-shoulder toward your customers. Overall a terrible experience for both myself, and the customer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Energy Consultant

      27 Feb 2017 - Field Energy Consultant in Berkeley, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mission-Driven company- We are there for the right reasons, to help people transition toward sustainable energy Flexibility- When you're not busy running appointments, you can have breaks or lunch with no one checking up on you. You can block out your time on the calendar if you want to take a couple days off. Sales Training- Immersive sales training, best in the industry, will have you an Solar Energy expert in no time. Team- Very collaborative and supportive.

      Cons

      High Turnover- Most people will not last over 6 months due to not meeting exceeding higher sales quotas, poor work/life balance. Unrealistic expectations- Never good enough, set high quota to meet and then customers get lost in the pipeline. High roof disaqualification, due to SolarCity's unique mounting tech and warranties. Managers will sell you on the dream of earning 6 figures income, but most if not all does not get to that point. Only sales veteran that been working over 3 years with a huge book of business may achieve it. No job security. One month your the best, the next month, things slow down, you can be in the probation to get terminated. Managers will tell you that they will have your back but when HR calling, they have no authority whatsoever, Ever-changing, always hiring new folks but never really invest in the current employees, led to low moral.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fantastic Opportunities, Exciting Work.

      18 Oct 2015 - Crew Lead in Norristown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was recently promoted to Photovoltaic Installation Crew Lead, after working for SolarCity for 13 Months. The company is growing incredibly fast, which provides ample opportunity for hard working intelligent people to move up. I've learned an incredible amount about residential photovoltaic systems in my short time here, and gained many valuable skills. My coworkers and management have been consistently great. Compensation and benefits are fantastic, with incentive based pay and lots of perks. The company goes out of it's way to provide a great culture.

      Cons

      As an installer, work life balance is rough. Schedules tend to change month to month, and sometimes week to week. A days work can range anywhere from 5- 16 hrs, with 10 hrs being the average.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      An Amazing Three Year Experience

      3 Aug 2016 - Recruiter in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company values and culture are second to none, with great mentors, leadership and coworkers across the business. I have learned things that will enable me to be successful in my professional future and met people who will forever be a part of my personal one. I was lucky enough to work in several different capacities at SolarCity and supported nearly every aspect of the business where a collaborative spirit and team mentality were always present. Truly One Team One Dream

      Cons

      Work/life balance in a few of my roles was, at times, nonexistent. Compensation became an issue with little room for professional growth. Not really a fault of SolarCity's, just a result of business needs. While often in a corporate environment, change and communication of changes may need to remain confidential until launch or it needs to becomes public; I felt that we were left scrambling, unprepared and reactive much too often as a result of sudden implementations or changes to policy/procedure.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 130 Reviews

    Work at SolarCity? Share Your Experiences

    SolarCity logo
    or