Solopress Reviews

Updated Feb 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 17 reviews

2.7
40%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Solopress Managing Director - Since 2019 Simon Cooper (no image)
Simon Cooper
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Forward-thinking company

    Feb 4, 2020 - Copywriter in Southend-on-Sea, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ambitious, progressive company. Great office culture.

    Cons

    Parking is difficult, nowhere nearby for lunch

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A stop-gap job for the thick skinned only

    May 8, 2019 - Designer in Southend-on-Sea, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, always paid on time, an experience to help you appreciate your next company, free tea and coffee, great cleaner.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, Solopress is a paranoid driven boys club that believe a blanket "No" will solve any issue. Management are masters of the 'blag' who are seasoned pros at delay tactics and political truth bending to appear caring and professional but ultimately do not lift a finger unless there is a PR angle for social media. The core issues of the culture are no parking (unless you're a director or a visitor), questionable breaks and lunches, you are always monitored via CCTV and screen recording, targets are unrealistic with strict consequences, no communication from directors and management and many other more minor day-to-day issues. Probably most telling of all is the 'boys club' culture. Specific employees are favoured by management and is advertised on a near daily basis with handshakes. As expected none of which are female and there is only a single female present in management (Head of HR) amongst a heavily dominated male hierarchy. A lot of key talent has left the business as a result and it's clear to see there are many that remain only because of circumstances such as location and available working hours but are just waiting for the right time to move on.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we value your feedback and are pleased to see that you found your Solopress colleagues friendly. We’d also like to thank you for giving a well-deserved acknowledgement to a member of our fabulous cleaning team. We are really sorry however to hear about your overall experience while working for Solopress and your comments have been forwarded to our Managing Director. We are committed to making Solopress a great place to work and with this in mind, have recently launched our new employee engagement survey. The survey will assist us in fully understanding what changes may need to be made to create an all-round positive employment experience.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An amazing place to work.

    Apr 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright open offices. Friendly staff. Excellent chances to widen knowledge.

    Cons

    Parking. Sometimes workloads can be a little stressful.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    What a great review! We’re glad you feel Solopress is an amazing place to work, we think so too! It’s good to have you with us.

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It's fine but not great

    Oct 2, 2019 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good location Good variety of work

    Cons

    No lunch breaks Bad pay

    1 person found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Firstly, we're pleased to hear you were happy with the variety of work whilst working in our design team; Solopress' design team sees a huge variety of requests from our customers and we believe they are well equipped to supply to our customers' needs. We are however sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend Solopress as a place to work. We've made some exciting changes recently which have been guided by asking our employees what they want to see from the business. As a result of this we have implemented a PAID break, which we have seen has been hugely appreciated across the company, along with our other changes which we hope will continue to improve our working culture.

  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Only staying because of my bills

    Jan 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are lovely although cliquey.

    Cons

    I’ve never worked somewhere so poorly run in my life. No breaks, unreachable stats and KPI’s, being monitored 24/7 and being told off for talking to your neighbour - it’s like being in a prison.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of Solopress. We’re glad you find the people lovely, we think so too! We’re sorry to hear that you feel our staff are not respected, our management team work closely to try and create the best working environment for our employees. If you feel this is not the case our HR team are always available to discuss any issues you may have. In addition, we do have a break structure in place which is communicated during our induction process, we would welcome the opportunity to go over this with you again. We really value all feedback from our staff, and we will take your comments into consideration going forward.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst Company Ever Worked For - Just Avoid

    Oct 14, 2017 - Office Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Honestly can't think of one other than having an income

    Cons

    NO lunch breaks whatsoever - can't even imagine what it must have been like for the people standing all day downstairs in the print rooms without a break. Employees have either been working there for years and so are really clicky and rude, or they have just started and haven't got a clue what they are doing. Dated systems and software leading to constant issues with orders and unhappy customers. Customer service don't care about complaints received. No flexibility with hours (also have to clock in and out like it's the 90's). No atmosphere at all, hours would pass without any conversations as no lunch breaks to build relationships with colleagues. Only enough parking for top dogs, be prepared to park in a residential street and walk for 10 minutes to the office. Very much a 'fill the seats' culture, most employees haven't had any training and so have no idea what they are doing. The company just employ the first person that applies so they can carry on making money. Far too much emphasis on making a profit. Treating staff like cogs in the machine and spending the bare minimum in order for the owners to make more millions for themselves.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Strange company, hight turnover of staff

    Oct 5, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay was adequete and the managers themselves were mainly fair to me but I had been increasingly concerned about the sheer amount of people fired, at least 20 people in the space of 11 months.

    Cons

    Rooms with no windows, staff forced to work 50-60 hour weeks sometimes with no overtime. Staff turnover is extremely high as management do not invest in staff. Poorly organised directive management and lack of understanding from managers. Subversion in the large staff team is encouraged which lead to a poor staff environment. There is little to no parking and the train stations are a long way from the office. Illegal practices here such as forcing staff to sign an overtime form agreeing to be excluded from the 40 maximum work week at the point of signing their contract.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Many happy years and friends for life.

    Jun 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The sales team is a very fast paced atmosphere and have real team spirit. The Sales Manager and Operations Manager that hired me are up there with the best bosses I've ever had in my 15 year career. I made a few friends for life here including the founders Aron and Andy and will always look back with fond memories.

    Cons

    The fast paced atmosphere won't be for everyone, I loved it and had a great team to work with that loved their job too. The lazy people tend to find it hard and fall by the wayside. The passionate people thrive.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Ever Expanding and Fast Paced Workplace

    Jan 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A fun workplace, good communication and teamwork between colleges and departments, good pay and hours, with possibility for overtime.

    Cons

    no proper breaks, mostly eating at your own desk, pace of work can be very fast - only consider applying if you can learn and utilise information fast.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with great people - Moving in the right direction

    Dec 5, 2017 - Office Staff in Southend-on-Sea, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teams, Friendly people, great IT set up, always busy and lots to do

    Cons

    No on site parking (although plenty close by)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Work at Solopress? Share Your Experiences

Solopress logo
or