Solopress Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 18 reviews

2.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Solopress Managing Director - Since 2019 Simon Cooper (no image)
Simon Cooper
2 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Forward-thinking company

    Feb 4, 2020 - Copywriter in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ambitious, progressive company. Great office culture.

    Cons

    Parking is difficult, nowhere nearby for lunch

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok

    Sep 27, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Southend, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Colleagues are very nice and friendly

    Cons

    Not great pay and awkward shifts

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It's fine but not great

    Oct 2, 2019 - Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good location Good variety of work

    Cons

    No lunch breaks Bad pay

    1 person found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. Firstly, we're pleased to hear you were happy with the variety of work whilst working in our design team; Solopress' design team sees a huge variety of requests from our customers and we believe they are well equipped to supply to our customers' needs. We are however sorry to hear that you wouldn't recommend Solopress as a place to work. We've made some exciting changes recently which have been guided by asking our employees what they want to see from the business. As a result of this we have implemented a PAID break, which we have seen has been hugely appreciated across the company, along with our other changes which we hope will continue to improve our working culture.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An amazing place to work.

    Apr 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bright open offices. Friendly staff. Excellent chances to widen knowledge.

    Cons

    Parking. Sometimes workloads can be a little stressful.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    What a great review! We’re glad you feel Solopress is an amazing place to work, we think so too! It’s good to have you with us.

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A stop-gap job for the thick skinned only

    May 8, 2019 - Designer in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, always paid on time, an experience to help you appreciate your next company, free tea and coffee, great cleaner.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, Solopress is a paranoid driven boys club that believe a blanket "No" will solve any issue. Management are masters of the 'blag' who are seasoned pros at delay tactics and political truth bending to appear caring and professional but ultimately do not lift a finger unless there is a PR angle for social media. The core issues of the culture are no parking (unless you're a director or a visitor), questionable breaks and lunches, you are always monitored via CCTV and screen recording, targets are unrealistic with strict consequences, no communication from directors and management and many other more minor day-to-day issues. Probably most telling of all is the 'boys club' culture. Specific employees are favoured by management and is advertised on a near daily basis with handshakes. As expected none of which are female and there is only a single female present in management (Head of HR) amongst a heavily dominated male hierarchy. A lot of key talent has left the business as a result and it's clear to see there are many that remain only because of circumstances such as location and available working hours but are just waiting for the right time to move on.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we value your feedback and are pleased to see that you found your Solopress colleagues friendly. We’d also like to thank you for giving a well-deserved acknowledgement to a member of our fabulous cleaning team. We are really sorry however to hear about your overall experience while working for Solopress and your comments have been forwarded to our Managing Director. We are committed to making Solopress a great place to work and with this in mind, have recently launched our new employee engagement survey. The survey will assist us in fully understanding what changes may need to be made to create an all-round positive employment experience.

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Only staying because of my bills

    Jan 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are lovely although cliquey.

    Cons

    I’ve never worked somewhere so poorly run in my life. No breaks, unreachable stats and KPI’s, being monitored 24/7 and being told off for talking to your neighbour - it’s like being in a prison.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Solopress Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your review of Solopress. We’re glad you find the people lovely, we think so too! We’re sorry to hear that you feel our staff are not respected, our management team work closely to try and create the best working environment for our employees. If you feel this is not the case our HR team are always available to discuss any issues you may have. In addition, we do have a break structure in place which is communicated during our induction process, we would welcome the opportunity to go over this with you again. We really value all feedback from our staff, and we will take your comments into consideration going forward.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company with great people - Moving in the right direction

    Dec 5, 2017 - Office Staff in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great teams, Friendly people, great IT set up, always busy and lots to do

    Cons

    No on site parking (although plenty close by)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Rubbish

    Dec 22, 2017 - Sales Representative in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This place has some nice team members but that’s it. Other than that there is absolutely no positives to give this place.

    Cons

    Everything. No lunch breaks, CCTV everywhere to keep you in check, no pay reviews, no bonus, appalling company to work for.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst Company Ever Worked For - Just Avoid

    Oct 14, 2017 - Office Staff 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Honestly can't think of one other than having an income

    Cons

    NO lunch breaks whatsoever - can't even imagine what it must have been like for the people standing all day downstairs in the print rooms without a break. Employees have either been working there for years and so are really clicky and rude, or they have just started and haven't got a clue what they are doing. Dated systems and software leading to constant issues with orders and unhappy customers. Customer service don't care about complaints received. No flexibility with hours (also have to clock in and out like it's the 90's). No atmosphere at all, hours would pass without any conversations as no lunch breaks to build relationships with colleagues. Only enough parking for top dogs, be prepared to park in a residential street and walk for 10 minutes to the office. Very much a 'fill the seats' culture, most employees haven't had any training and so have no idea what they are doing. The company just employ the first person that applies so they can carry on making money. Far too much emphasis on making a profit. Treating staff like cogs in the machine and spending the bare minimum in order for the owners to make more millions for themselves.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Very exhausting for little pay

    Sep 29, 2017 - Digital Press Operator in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Big company Some lovely staff Busy Fast paced Potential to learn new skills

    Cons

    Poor management No pay rises or performance reviews Many people (including me) were told pay would go up after 3 months but had to fight tooth and nail to get it Spied on with their many CCTV cameras No breaks even on a night shift and then disciplined when I sat down to eat for 20 mins No parking No shift rate Very unlawful outlook If you don't like it there's the door mentality

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

Popular Careers with Solopress Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Solopress? Share Your Experiences

Solopress logo
or