Sony Electronics "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sony Electronics Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 14 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
77%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Sony Electronics President and COO Michael Fasulo
Michael Fasulo
204 Ratings
Pros
  • "Global work environment, your ideas are respected, definitely the best place for fresh grads(in 61 reviews)

  • "Great brand, great people, great office gym(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor work life balance and constant struggle to keep up(in 34 reviews)

  • "The middle and senior management dont have a vision and all senior are the oldest in the system who have no clue about the changing dynamics(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Global projects give you the chance to work with great people and learn a lot, almost compensating for the overtime required.

    Cons

    Very low salary, little room for advancement, too much politics

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2016-08-11
  2. "Regional Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Work Life Balance varies across different Divisions

    Sony Electronics2019-08-15
  3. "Great brand, great people, limited growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    National Sales Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great brand, great people, great office gym

    Cons

    limited flexibility to work from home when needed, lack of growth opportunities due to combination of weak market for Sony products and dominance of international assignees in management structure.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2018-12-06

    Sony Electronics Response

    March 26, 2019Branding & Talent Specialist

    Dear Former Employee, Appreciate your feedback. We hear you. Our work/life balance offerings have expanded. We have amazing new products in the market and I encourage you to check them out! Best to you! #TeamSony

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A Company without vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, very good health benefits, 401K, matching etc. Excellent product when it finally gets to market

    Cons

    Japanese management blind to reality and market changes. Many layoffs due to bad management and product decisions. Only care about bottom line and not the people who contribute value. Continual layoffs as company fortunes and profit dwindle.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2018-08-30

    Sony Electronics Response

    August 31, 2018Branding & Talent Specialist

    We're disappointed to hear you had a different experience when you worked here. We're open to and encourage feedback from employees, even former employees, if you want to share ideas. We've been getting good feedback from employees and are looking for more great talent!

    Continue reading
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with Flexible workstyle

    Cons

    Bureaucracy Lack of innovation Slow decision making

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2017-09-22
  6. "Legal position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time

    Pros

    great people to work with. flexible schedule.

    Cons

    working late hours to accommodate time difference between Japan and US

    Sony Electronics2017-05-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great people but too much hand holding from Tokyo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Great people and great products. Making progress in premium television business. Sony is making a comeback refocusing on delivering innovative, quality products. A departure from past years where they were trying to be too much to too many.

    Cons

    Tokyo plays significant role in managing US sales & marketing. Little autonomy for US product marketing and sales.

    Sony Electronics2017-02-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Director: Sales / Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Park Ridge, NJ
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and good comradery.

    Cons

    Declining sales = continual RIF's so moral is low. Put some responsibility back on the U.S. side.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2016-10-13
  9. "Great company but on the way down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, culture, opportunity. At one time had the best product in the world

    Cons

    Bad decisions on business direction from the top since 2000. No new innovations like they had in the 80's, 90's. Brand name took a big hit.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2016-07-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people. Learn so much about marketing, sales, business develop, event planning and operations. Every day has different challenges which makes it interesting.

    Cons

    No long term strategic management. Starts every fiscal year with good intentions, but then transitions back to controller micro management of marketing initiatives and plans. Very very difficult to use plan strategy and build markets without many people involved in questioning why. Controllers and management want direct sales results from marketing activities. Time is spent mostly justifying direction, and proving you should do something, instead of doing something. End result is late to market, less sales and very very limited ability to explore non traditional marketing and social media opportunities. Very very very structured, Mandated policies procedures and responsibility hand cuff creativity and response to market.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2016-04-27
Found 55 reviews