Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1782 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,253 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company culture with great benefits(in 208 reviews)

  • "Flight Benefits & other travel benefits -- it's such an awesome perk to be able to jump on a plane anytime I need without too much hassle(in 163 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime(in 83 reviews)

  • "The airline doesn't fly to Asia or Europe(in 60 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Support 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and the company really cares about you.

    Cons

    The pay is definitely on the lower end. I wished they would increase the pay so we can actually live without having to work 2-3 jobs.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-10
  2. "Southwest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Flight Benefits for five words

    Cons

    Low Pay, Long time (11 years) to top out.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-12
  3. "Best airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility to make up your own schedule Doesn’t lay off workers Family like environment Great health benefits

    Cons

    If low seniority can expect a lot of mandatory over time

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Very good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family oriented Money Very fun environment

    Cons

    New hires get mandatory overtime Feels like you’re on thin ice at times

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-09
  5. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Anyone who knows what it’s like to be a flight crew knows that it’s a lifestyle and not a job. Competitive pay and benefits with no flight hours minimums or maximums means you can make whatever you want.

    Cons

    Not that I can think of.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-11
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing, you will love the people.

    Cons

    The pay pay is pretty low starting off, the opportunity to make more is their but not in customer relations.

    Advice to Management

    The management is very understanding and they do a good job promoting people.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-09
  7. "Provisioning Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provisioning Supervisor in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is very motivating and inspiring.

    Cons

    The airline doesn't fly to Asia or Europe.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-03
  8. "Never a Boring Day on the Ramp!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Ramp Supervisor in Windsor Locks, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging, no day is ever the same, great people to work with, well compensated.

    Cons

    Lots of mandatory overtime, very physically strenuous work.

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-03
  9. "A Truly Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Southwest goes out their way to make the employees feel special. When you work for Southwest it doesn’t feel like a regular job. It feels more like a hobby. I have fun everyday I come to work and really enjoy what I do. They give amazing benefits, the pats is very nice and the work itself is rewarding. I can’t even imagine working anywhere else.

    Cons

    It’s a pretty big company so you may have some struggles but this company definitely knows how to mange it’s employees. Only true con I can think of was the amount of time the interview process takes. That’s also due to a large amount of people applying. They are working toward improving the process though.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the work! You’re the best airline company to work for and are a heavy competitor in the industry!

    Southwest Airlines2019-10-01
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job good company to work for

    Cons

    Lots of flying long hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Southwest Airlines2019-09-28
Found 1782 reviews