Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,538 of over 2,904 reviews

4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,719 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits and competitive pay(in 258 reviews)

  • "Perks- 401k match, Employee Stock Purchase Plan, Flight benefits(in 191 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Mandatory overtime, working in inclement weather(in 97 reviews)

  • "you start at low pay but with time you can make some bank(in 59 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      AWESOME

      Jun 16, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best place to work in the world

      Cons

      There are no cons for me

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      cool

      Jun 1, 2021 - Rbvh in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun and good environment plus we had fun memories

      Cons

      sad and depressing but I stuck through and made it work for the money

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing

      Dec 3, 2020 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing place to work. Yes

      Cons

      Nothing was really wrong with it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      They supervis

      Nov 8, 2020 - Clinical Supervisor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like it because it very good work

      Cons

      People will make you sad

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      A great starting point

      Oct 17, 2020 - Customer Relations Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, great starting point with swa

      Cons

      Taking vacation days was tough, got sick and was sent home by operations and got out on probation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Southwest Airlines, Unparalleled Opportunities

      Jun 23, 2021 - Senior Avionics Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros of working at Southwest Airlines (SWA) were too numerous to count. We worked hard, but had fun & there was always a true family atmosphere. There were also unlimited possibilities for learning & growing in your career & at all levels I always felt I had just as much authority & autonomy as I was willing to work for & take on. I was with SWA for 24 1/2 years & worked in a wide range of maintenance related jobs & environments, starting as an A&P Mechanic & ending as an Avionics Engineer. I never would have left if SWA hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      Cons

      I can honestly only think of one minor downside to working for SWA. When I started we had a fleet of about 200 aircraft. When I left it was a fleet of about 700. There was a very, very tight family atmosphere when I started & some of that was lost with the growth. Note that I said some, it was still very much present, just diminished, an unavoidable side effect of growth. The bottom line is that SWA always was & remains an exceptional work place. I never would have left if they hadn't offered a stellar early-out package in response to the COVID crisis which enabled a long dreamed of move to Ireland.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Manufactured Culture

      Jun 25, 2021 - Risk Analyst in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Flight benefits - 9.3% 401k match and profitsharing - Insurance coverage is great - low cost to employee and covers most things - Fun place to work

      Cons

      - Promotions are based on favoritism, not performance. The same people get recognized, while others who are performing at higher levels are overlooked - Promotions are also based on arbitrary years of experience - employees who have been there for years but perform poorly are rewarded with promotions, while high performers with fewer years are not promoted - If being compensated for performance is important to you, SWA is not the company for you. - Pay is under market, which makes it difficult to live near work in Dallas - We are constantly told how "lucky" we are to work here. However, other companies offer much better benefits (albeit, without the flight benefits). It often feels like the culture is manufactured as a way to ignore issues. For example, when employees brought up pay issues, we were told that because we have profitsharing and 401k match we have lower pay - No tuition reimbursement - There is a culture of ignoring issues and being afraid of negative feedback, which leaves issues unaddressed and allows low performers to continue to grow despite being unproductive

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing career

      Jul 21, 2021 - Customer Service Agent in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible, you can always give away hours to co workers or even pick up as many hours as you like. Free flights 401k matches up to 9% Can move up in the company to higher positions other than station manager Profit sharing "bonus money" every year

      Cons

      You may get mandatory over time for your day off, picking shifts is based on seniority. Good if you've been with the company for thousands of years but for new comers you get what's left. Senior agents don't want to retire.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great benefits, great experience

      Jul 13, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health benefits, flight benefits, great coworkers and culture, lots of moving up potential (I got promoted several times in one year), great training, lots of mentors and people to motivate you and teach you. It was a great job to have in my early twenties to learn.

      Cons

      The job was listening to customers complain about their travel experience. That was a tough job and it can be very draining and soul-sucking. The company makes the job worth it though.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Best airline

      Jul 12, 2021 - Airline Pilot in Oakland, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great schedule, fantastic benefits, fun and outgoing co-workers, non-threatening work environment, new fleet of aircraft, industry leading wages.

      Cons

      With the advent of Covid-19 commuting to work, finding hotels, and interacting with crew and customers is difficult, but prior to Covid, the hardest part about working at Southwest was to finish for the week. It’s hard to leave something you enjoy so much.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,538 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Southwest Airlines Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Southwest Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Southwest Airlines logo
    or