Southwest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Southwest Airlines Reviews

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
81%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,288 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime(in 88 reviews)

  • "No cons that aren't true of any corporate job(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun internship, not much internal opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great company, awesome perks (free flights),

    Cons

    Low pay for interns, little opportunity to become full time

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-22
  2. "Southwest Airlines is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for.

    Cons

    Absolutely none to speak of.

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-21
  3. "Great company with Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service & Support in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, good benefits, decent pay with opportunities to advance.

    Cons

    Not a con, but a reality.... Must be ready for a fast-paced environment in a competitive airline industry and occasional situational negativity from customers who may not understand the safety measures SWA takes to keep EVERYONE safe, especially its employees.

    Advice to Management

    The organization moves forward with a Great CEO in Gary C. Kelly after years of leadership and growth with Herb Kelleher. Keep building upon valuing each employee for their contributions at every level that makes SWA the “world’s most loved, most flown, and most profitable airline.”

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Medical/Dental Benefits 401 match profit sharing travel benefits

    Cons

    stressful at times during weather delay

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-12
  5. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love to move around, stay busy and love working outdoors then youll love this Job! Also Since I've had this job I've done plenty of traveling something that I have never done since it is ofcourse free! (If within the U.S)

    Cons

    Apart from your regular schedule you may be asked to stay a few extra hours for mandatory overtime or you may get called in on your day off for mandatory overtime. With more time that you have in the company you'll either see less of that or none at all.

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-14
  6. "...Just as EPIC of a company as you've heard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Crew Scheduler in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits - Profit Sharing/High 401k match/Free Flying/Great Health and more Culture - Positive and fun, encourages balance and joy if you choose it! Oppertunity - Many chances to move around and promote from within Community - Free events always happening! Weekly deck parties with free drinks and food.

    Cons

    I'm sure certain departments will have them, but in overall broad strokes none to speak. Seriously a great employer.

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-13
  7. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Relations Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    $1 extra for bilingual reps Flight benefits Great company match on 401k

    Cons

    Micromanaged Not great schedule based on seniority

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Flight Attendant for 12 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Los Anglin, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, good pay, great benefits.

    Cons

    If you don't fit in to the "culture" you can feel out of place.

    Advice to Management

    I was with Southwest 12 years. Most people honestly love the company, for me that wasn't necessarily the case. It was pretty good working for them, but I found the work envirnoment to be somewhat cult like. They encouraged you to be about of the "culture" as they called it at Southwest, but it's more like you having to be and act a certain way to fit in, or else you will definitely feel out of place. There is even a running joke within Southwest about whether you have drank the kool-aid. I would definitely never discourage anyone from working here, honestly out of all of the airlines you will probably be treated best here, and receive the best pay and benefits. I just personally never felt like it was a fit for me. The overal "culture" to me was a bit fake and overdone. It was a good experience nonetheless.

    Show More
    Southwest Airlines2020-01-18
  9. "former job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible, recognition and good benefits

    Cons

    low pay and long hours

    Advice to Management

    increase pay

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-17
  10. "I used to love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits. Glassdoor states I need to add 5 words, but I can't think of any other Pro about this job.

    Cons

    The company continues to pile more responsibilities onto the operations agent and we still receive the same minimal pay.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the micromanagement

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-16
Found 1841 reviews