Southwest Airlines "mandatory overtime" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Southwest Airlines Employee Reviews about "mandatory overtime"

Updated 25 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Southwest Airlines Chairman, President & CEO Gary C. Kelly
Gary C. Kelly
1,530 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great company with a heart(in 218 reviews)

  • "Flight benefits, 9% 401k company match, build your own paycheck(in 170 reviews)

Cons
  • "Also you will be the first to get mandatory overtime(in 93 reviews)

  • "There is no cons for who works hard(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mandatory overtime"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, 9% 401k company match, build your own paycheck.

    Cons

    Hard work, out in the elements, mandatory overtime

    Southwest Airlines2020-02-22
  2. "“Forced” positive work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Southwest Airlines

    Pros

    Great people to work with, great benefits and profit sharing, Fly for free

    Cons

    Time off, SCHEDULE, 24 hour customer service, schedule changes every 3 months and is based on seniority, mandatory overtime, no time in between calls.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-02-25
  3. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ground Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great company with a heart.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, working in inclement weather.

    Southwest Airlines2020-02-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits at a price"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free flight benefits from day one; 2 wk paid training in Dallas; great reputation with the flying public; 9.3% 401(k) matching; excellent benefits; company encourages fun and humor

    Cons

    Ridiculously low pay for first five years (starting pay, first year $14.53/hr for CSAs; $.03 raise on second year). You either have to have a second job or a wealthy spouse &/or retirement fund in order to make ends meet financially. Must join union after hiring on (but very little union representation until you have completed 7 mo probation; and even then it feels like an ongoing struggle between management and union). If you need time off or are sick and you don't have vacation/sick time to draw from (and you won't for approx first six months) it's on you to trade, give away or pay a coworker to take your shift. If you refuse mandatory overtime, you receive "points and occurrences" which can potentially affect your ability for future promotions. For all the "LUV" and hospitality SWA expects you to show the flying public, they could stand to improve on how they treat their employees. Turnover rate is HIGH during the first year.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-02-04
  5. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love to move around, stay busy and love working outdoors then youll love this Job! Also Since I've had this job I've done plenty of traveling something that I have never done since it is ofcourse free! (If within the U.S)

    Cons

    Apart from your regular schedule you may be asked to stay a few extra hours for mandatory overtime or you may get called in on your day off for mandatory overtime. With more time that you have in the company you'll either see less of that or none at all.

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-14
  6. "No hard feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Reservations in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Trading shifts after you complete probation

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime at the last minute, the CSL have no idea what goes on on the sales floor.

    Southwest Airlines2020-01-23
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Are you a vampire?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Southwest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    I came to Southwest with so much excitement and so much respect. Finally, a company I could work for that had a reputation for treating it's employees great. When I went in for my interview I let them know my greatest asset was my positive attitude and that I would work very hard for them if hired. Everything leading up to training in Dallas was perfect. They flew us to a People department and overwhelmed us with love, letting us know how fortunate we were to work for such a great company while explaining our benefits. Amidst the glow, individual contracts were set out in front of us, with the base pay and the union who had negotiated it. I couldn't have felt more proud of myself for landing this job. I then returned to the station where I trained for about a month with someone, after which I went to the training headquarters in Dallas for three weeks of paid training. All the moments I spent there were wonderful. There was free coffee everywhere, and they put us up in a nice hotel and gave us food cards. It was heaven, and again I felt lucky and so proud to work for Southwest Airlines. I cannot express how great the Corporate culture is. The benefits you receive, as well as the welcome you get, are the main and only highlights of this job. However, once you return from Dallas, the reality sets in: something is not as it seems. This really is too good to be true.

    Cons

    A week after I returned from Dallas, I had completed my training and finally began a probationary period of 6 months. During this time you begin your union contract and bid for a shift. Per the contract: Southwest employees cannot decline mandatory overtime, call in sick, or come to work late. If you do, you receive an occurrence. Three occurrences and you are terminated. During this time it became perfectly clear that I was an employee number. Nothing more. 60 hour weeks were commonplace. Imagine: Your shift is Wednesday through Sunday 3pm - 11:30pm. On Wednesday you work your regular shift, but clock out late due to delays: 3pm - 1:30am (10 hours). However, you are assigned mandatory overtime (remember you cannot decline this without being fired) for 2 hours after you get off at 3:45am - 11:45am. You then work from 3pm - 11:30pm the same day. Imagine that this happens 2 times a week, every week. That is the reality of Southwest Airlines. Throughout my probationary period this was VERY common, and again happened at least 2 times a week. The most I had to work was 81 hours in one week, four 16 hour shifts back to back, and then a regular 8 hour shift on one of my days off. It's not the type of work that is the problem, it is the amount of work. Upon asking union leaders and management, their responses were, and I quote VERBATIM: If you don't like it, maybe this job isn't for you. Once completing your probationary period, which is rare as people literally fall asleep on the job and are fired, or break down from the mental stress of staying awake for 2 days straight, you can decline the overtime. Even then, 16 hour days are a common occurrence, as is mandatory overtime. The IAM union contract states that for every refusal of mandatory overtime, you accrue half a point (.5). If you accrue 9 points, you are subject to termination. In the single month after my probation I accrued 5 points by simply declining overtime. Per the contract, it takes 3 months for just 2 points to drop from your record, during which time you cannot be late, call in sick without a doctors note, or decline ANY overtime. As it stands, my weeks are never less than 50 hours. NEVER. This amount of work results in huge employee burnout. I recently spoke with someone at Headquarters in Dallas who said, "Right now we have a high turnover rate for customer service and we are trying to figure out why." I cannot in good conscious recommend this job to anyone that values their sanity.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2020-01-08
  8. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, and one of the best airlines to work for

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime can be inconvenient! The upside is the double time in pay

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-12-07
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Bad for your mental health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Support in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay if you can hang in for 10 years.

    Cons

    Mandatory Overtime you dont find out about until the day of, making childcare difficult. This job is basically an assembly line, but on the phone. Extreme micromanaging. Every single minute of your day is scheduled. Your average call time, how long you have people on hold, and how much ancillary products you sell is all monitored and "coached". Need an unscheduled bathroom break? Either hold it until your break or take a ding on your "schedule adherence" metric . Every missed minute counts against you. You are expected to routinely troubleshoot our badly-coded reservations system while maintaining a good average call time. Calls are nonstop. You don't have an answer button, the calls just come right in one after another. I know my coworkers faces but not their names. I would transfer to a different department but I've called out sick more than 3 times due to overwhelming anxiety and depression this job gives me. They wonder why they have an attendance problem. We use a hodge podge of outdated and ineffective programs, making this job infinitely harder than it should be. Phone system is always cutting in and out, which is maddening trying to get a call done. Training is thread-bare, they'd rather throw you a memo instead of spend time off the phone teaching. Morale is consistently dismal.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-12-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Awesome Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Southwest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the company culture.

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, and undisclosed Union fees.

    Continue reading
    Southwest Airlines2019-11-06
Found 93 reviews