Specsavers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Specsavers Reviews

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Specsavers CEO Doug Perkins
Doug Perkins
192 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good team and working environment(in 17 reviews)

  • "Great team and working environment(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage for huge responsibility(in 32 reviews)

  • "low pay needs to be improved for the amont of work you do(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optometrist 

    I worked at Specsavers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, atmosphere and management

    Cons

    Had to make my own tea!

    Specsavers2019-11-14
  2. "Secure job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Opitcal Assitsant 

    I have been working at Specsavers full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Not great pay for the job you do and the amount of sales you make the company

    Specsavers2019-11-13
  3. "Not enough pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Manchester, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Specsavers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good working hours, good workload

    Cons

    low salary, high learning curve

    Specsavers2019-11-13
  4. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Specsavers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very welcoming and rewarding environment.

    Cons

    The salary was minimum wage

    Specsavers2019-11-12
  5. "Excellent employer! 5 stars!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Stroud, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Specsavers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family Owned. Market leader. Ethical. Flexible. Constantly Changing. Dynamic. Forward Thinking. Supportive. Land of Opportunity.

    Cons

    I wished I had joined sooner!

    Specsavers2019-11-07
  6. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Optical Assistant 

    I worked at Specsavers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Practical experience with local community and customers. Polite and friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Basic teachings could be reiterated more.

    Specsavers2019-11-16
  7. "More difficult than you think"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Specsavers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great fun, staff friendly, okay salary opportunities to advance

    Cons

    Lack of training, lack of support from directors, job harder than you originally think it will be.

    Advice to Management

    More support and training for new starts

    Specsavers2019-11-14
  8. "Decent pay if you want to remain at the same level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Specsavers full-time

    Pros

    Fun environment with most of the staff Straight forward dispenses with the occasional tough ones where the DO supports you

    Cons

    Long hours; have to stay behind and unpaid Lack of communication with management Weekends are almost near impossible to handle

    Specsavers2019-11-12
  9. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pre Registration Optometrist in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Specsavers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Busy. Time flies. Always learning something new each day

    Cons

    Management not welcoming to staff. Can be a hostile environment to work in

    Advice to Management

    They need replacing

    Specsavers2019-11-08
  10. "Comfortable and educational place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Dispenser in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Specsavers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    . Very educational place to work if you are interested . Reasonable working hours . Optional career paths to take . Stable place of work and franchises all over the UK . Small team of colleagues

    Cons

    . Repetitive routine of work . Not enough individual training or sending employees on advanced courses ( depending on store ) . Some stores will only take experienced workers, unless joining as an apprentice

    Advice to Management

    ...

    Specsavers2019-10-20
Found 502 reviews