Spencer Gifts Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Spencer Gifts Reviews

Updated 12 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 740 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Gifts CEO Steven Silverstein
Steven Silverstein
367 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay: When your Sales Sup only makes 60-75cents more than your associates, that's already a problem(in 63 reviews)

  • "Upper management positions rarely opened up for advancement(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Stuff to sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor in York, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual, fast paced, great if you like novelty items

    Cons

    pay is not the best. not good if you don't like novelty items

    Spencer Gifts2017-05-17
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Supervisor in Fayetteville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great team

    Cons

    Pay is subpar and a lot of times, add ons aren't counted correctly.

    Spencer Gifts2019-07-13
  3. "It was okay but really bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was fun and you learned a lot about retail

    Cons

    My manager was a micro manager and didn’t teach, coach or train. Didn’t find out until later that I was supposed to be done so much more but she never showed us. It sucks because then it looked like I didn’t know how to do my job, which I didn’t, thanks to her.

    Advice to Management

    Have a consistent plan on how each store should train their employees so that it’s consistent. Then if they move stores, they know what to do.

    Spencer Gifts2019-07-11
  4. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a great place to work at, great coworkers and fast paced

    Cons

    Lack of hours and benefits. Pay could be better.

    Spencer Gifts2019-06-14
  5. "Great Job Advancement - Little recognition for hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    always an opportunity for advancement within districts, health, dental & vision benefits, fun place to work - very diverse

    Cons

    little recognition, pay is average with small yearly raises, barely any relationship with upper management beyond district manager

    Spencer Gifts2019-06-25
  6. "Don't come in!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Good discounts *open atmosphere *Great benefits

    Cons

    *Horrible Upper management *No effort to train people *lack of upper support

    Advice to Management

    Find a good district manager that will help you not hurt you.

    Spencer Gifts2019-06-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fun to shop there, horrible to work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun products, fun employees, good work hours

    Cons

    Low pay, no appreciation for hard work done, no respect from upper management

    Advice to Management

    Expect little appreciation, recognition or rewards for exceeding all goals. Do not expect to feel valued for doing a great job

    Spencer Gifts2019-06-11
  8. "Not good for paying bills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and lax environment.

    Cons

    Penny pinching company. Will fight tooth and nail so you won't get a raise.

    Spencer Gifts2019-06-05
  9. "Part-Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Assistant Manager 

      I worked at Spencer Gifts part-time

      Pros

      Fun part time job while in high-school and college.

      Cons

      Worked evenings and weekends.

      Spencer Gifts2019-05-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Store manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Spencer Gifts full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Dress code is laid back!

      Cons

      Regional is very fake and acts like she cares, but doesn’t and you can see it! Wages are way to low for retail! This is not the best place to work!

      Advice to Management

      Don’t work for them!

      Spencer Gifts2019-06-11
    Found 740 reviews