Spencer Ogden Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 297 of over 425 reviews

4.1
69%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Spencer Ogden Chief Executive Officer Bradley Lewington
Bradley Lewington
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Hard work and the right attitude won't go unoticed and you'll be rewarded accordingly(in 27 reviews)

  • "Great Commission structure, and great managers(in 14 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Limited career prospects, hire and fire culture, poor senior management(in 15 reviews)

  • "You need to put in the hard work, longer hours, go the extra mile to really set yourself apart from the competition(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best job I ever had

      Sep 26, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People, training, Culture and bonus

      Cons

      None at all, great place to be

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your short but glowing review.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good!

      Aug 2, 2021 - Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun atmosphere in the office, with great events organised Financially driven

      Cons

      KPI Driven occasionally leaves you to feel like a statistic

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your review and thank you for your point around KPI's . We are KPI driven and make no apology for that but People is the first of our PACE values - people not just numbers.

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Positive experience

      May 17, 2021 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place to learn quickly. Strong brand in the energy market.

      Cons

      High pressure, but this should be expected.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your short review.

    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Racist, Sexist, Unsupportive Bullying Culture

      Jun 8, 2021 - Senior Recruiter in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A tiny handful of people are worth their weight but soon enough they will leave due to stress and the overwhelming feeling over being undervalued!

      Cons

      Just take a look at how genuine feedback is handled on here. That’s all you need to know about the arrogant manner of senior bods in Spencer Ogden - they refuse to learn from their mistakes and refuse to actually act on the feedback from the overwhelmingly unhappy workforce. It’s an environment where racism and sexism is “OK” ... the senior male management are clueless and are in roles they haven’t got either the brains or aptitude to do well. Spencer Ogden can’t keep females or people of colour for very long ... rotten from the core! Management have to do more for less money, commission structure is over complicated deliberately to remove earning opportunities! There are not many positive role models in senior management - prepare to be overworked, yelled at, made to feel undervalued ... They have lost a huge amount of talented people in 2021 .... avoid being the next one!

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Genuine feedback in here is most certainly taken extremely seriously. No arrogance here, a differing opinion, perhaps and a different perspective. More so claims of sexism, bullying and racism are simply unfounded. These are words that are simply thrown around too quickly on here for effect, which is a shame. When we ask to hear more about these claims or for people to follow internal HR process- silence.... I will agree that from a Diversity perspective we have a challenge and have embarked on a positive journey to effect that, many of our people are involved in that. I am sorry your experience with us across 3-4 years was not positive- something clearly kept you with us for some time.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not the friendliest of Bunch, nor the Smartest Either

      May 27, 2021 - Recruiter in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free Fruit and a Good Coffee Machine

      Cons

      - Commission poor, but not just Spencer Ogden, you realise that once you go to smaller firms commission is WAY more attractive. - Not the nicest of people, mob mentality

      2 people found this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your short review. Our commission scheme is competitive across the industry. There are many pro's and cons of working for a smaller recruiting business.

    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      a cold place to work

      Apr 29, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      offices all over the world - you could transfer if you were good

      Cons

      racial bias was very much prominent and not addressed. relentless kpi's that make the job not enjoyable

      2 people found this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your short review. I would be really keen to hear more around your comment on 'racial bias' that you refer to but fail to give much detail on.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great to be back!

      Apr 5, 2021 - Associate Consultant in Banchory, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Healthy competition Global collaboration Rewarded for new business/sectors Flexible/fantastic support infrastructure

      Cons

      None that I have noticed thus far.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your review and its great to have you back!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent!

      Mar 31, 2021 - Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well defined career map, it is so easy to scope out your progression at SO.

      Cons

      I do not have any!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your short review . Please do feel free to feedback more so in our next internal engagement survey out later this month.

    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      KPI Heavy

      Mar 31, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interview time with top billers - good to understand their methods.

      Cons

      Very KPI Intensive, less trust to work autonomously.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your short review. I am sorry the environment wasn't quite right for you.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Work

      Mar 25, 2021 - Senior Project Manager in Manchester, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All good enjoy my time

      Cons

      Work life balance and opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spencer Ogden Response

      Chief People Officer

      Thank you for your short review. We've worked hard over the last 12 months to develop our agile working programme and offer all of our people flexible working and working from home opportunities.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 297 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Spencer Ogden Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Spencer Ogden? Share Your Experiences

    Spencer Ogden logo
    or