Spiceworks Ziff Davis Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 159 of over 183 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Spiceworks Ziff Davis President Steve Horowitz (no image)
Steve Horowitz
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company culture, encourages success and rewards you well when you hit targets(in 15 reviews)

  • "Casual dress code, approachable team members, free food(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "It’s a mid-size company that has experienced some growing pains over the past few years(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company either can't or doesn't want to invest in developers in Austin(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice company to work for

      Apr 16, 2020 - Client Success in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team good training when you first start

      Cons

      Not enough progression for most roles

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate hearing that you value the company’s progressive ideals. We agree that it is super important for us to continue looking for ways to improve and never be complacent. We are growing quickly which presents its challenges and we are on it. Thank you!

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      US-Centric Organisation, Good Benedits

      Mar 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good - unlimited FTO, mental and physical healthcare packages, good pension etc.

      Cons

      Definitely gone downhill since merger. All leadership comes from US who seem to have little interest in offices outside of the country (perhaps even outside of Austin). No clear direction for business as a whole, much less individual paths. Very invested in acquiring, then not really sure what to do after the fact.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      541

      183 Comments

      Tech

      36.4K Members 

      Ask candid career questions

      -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-integrated-Reviews&utm_term=Spiceworks Ziff Davis~324872
      Join the conversation on
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Start up

      Jan 6, 2020 - Client Success Specialist in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Start up feeling, Good work-life balance

      Cons

      Too much attention on sales positions

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spiceworks Ziff Davis Response

      Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your experience. We continue to work on cultivating a workplace that all of us can be proud to be a part of. We value all of our current and former employee’s feedback so we would be happy to learn more about what specifically it was that was not positive during your time here and how we can improve. We have a new CRO who is evaluating our Sales Team and the current processes. Our goal is “for all teams to work as One Team”.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company that rewards hard work

      Feb 8, 2018 - Senior Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company culture, encourages success and rewards you well when you hit targets.

      Cons

      UK office and US office sometimes isolated and more communication is sometimes needed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Oct 21, 2016 - Account Executive in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been working at Spiceworks for 10 months now and, without a doubt, the best employer I have worked for. The recruitment process was an important part in influencing my decision in joining the business. The recruiter handled me well, unlike most do in the industry, never pressured me into doing days that I couldn't attend and gave me in detailed feed back after every step. You also got to meet majority of the senior members of the company, which doesn't happen in most intereviews, this gave me an opporunity to get an understanding of the direction of the business and really buy into it. When going through the interview process a lot of promises were made around the company culture, the autonomous nature of the role etc. It was giving it'self a lot to deliver on. But within the first 1 month of being here (London Office) it became very clear that these promises were being delivered on. The whole office is welcoming and there is a lot of an opportunity for after work social life. Our fantastic HR team are very proactive in making sure there is a sense of togetherness and culture, so they regularly organise dinners, nights out etc. Specific to the role, as a sales person I feel its important that management trust in your ability to do your job well. At Spiceworks they do just that. The product we sell is unique to the market and in comparison to our competitors, they can't come close to offering what we can. In sales this is great as it gives you a unique USP and makes your job easier. The company it'self is going in the right direction, they are hiring talented and bright individuals to help push us forward and investing more and more into us as employees. To summarise, coming to the end of my first 10 months and im already looking forward to the next 30.

      Cons

      Holiday is a bit under competitive but I have heard this is under review.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to learn, with an amazing team

      Oct 20, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Promotes culture and working as a team *Fast paced but also great atmosphere to work in *Helps develop not only you as an employee but promotes self-learning as well *Very flexible. They want to promote autonomy and they trust their teams to do the right thing.

      Cons

      *Still some growing pains as the company looks to move forward.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great, welcoming place to work with a really innovative attitude!

      Sep 9, 2016 - Client Success Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, team. Vibrant office full of ideas and enthusiasm. Great social and professional atmosphere. Strong sense of career development opportunities.

      Cons

      EMEA is still a new office and there is still a limited benefits platform.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Varied, stimulating, good work/fun balance, lots of perks ;)

      Apr 10, 2015 - Online Media Campaign Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Internal development team helps create software to make your job easier. Great transparency so feel like you know what's going on at all times. Good perks and lots of socialising. Fun office environment and office snacks!

      Cons

      Still a relatively new company so are still in the process of developing their benefits scheme.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      seriously love my job!

      Jul 30, 2014 - EMEA ACCOUNT MANAGER in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic growing company with a great culture. The training is second to none and you are given every opportunity to succeed. Work hard and you will get rewarded over and above your package and with the growth plans there are opportunities to progress your career and move up the ladder.

      Cons

      With the training and opportunities provided there is pressure to meet individual targets. the company is very target driven and there is a pressure to meet your individual targets

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Culture + IT Pros first + hard work + rewards = Spiceworks

      Jul 31, 2014 - Account Director, EMEA in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast growing IT Media Company that does things differently. Focus on values, innovative ways to service IT Pros' needs and creative when it comes to client solutions. The co-founders put emphasis on keeping the Spiceworks culture alive and not becoming your "average corporation". Very open in terms of communication, great team of talented people and a great outlook for the future.

      Cons

      Very high individual & team targets (in sales), so it's not for you if you don't want to work under pressure. Fast growth sometimes means structures have to be built quickly so you can't expect a 100% established workflow (I consider that a plus, some may struggle if they are used to a "this is how we've been doing it for 20 years" attitude).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 159 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Spiceworks Ziff Davis Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Spiceworks Ziff Davis? Share Your Experiences

    or