Spirit Airlines Reviews

Updated 29 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Spirit Airlines President and CEO Ted Christie
Ted Christie
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "1 on time departures, best low cost airline, etc(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to other airlines, some supervisors abuse on the workload(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Flight Attendant"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Travel benefits -Health insurance -Work/life balance -Reserve life is MUCH shorter than other airlines -Workload and job is incredibly easy, generally speaking

    Cons

    -Management is constantly looking for loopholes in the poorly written contract in order to shortchange us. -Crew Scheduling is ALWAYS purposely breaking the contract--"Fly it and grieve it" -Reputation isn't the best -Company is always miscalculating your pay, so self-audits are almost a must every single month. -It's like ripping teeth out just to get ANY management to respond to emails. Have a question for HR? Good luck. They'll respond in about two months, or not at all.

    Continue reading
    Spirit Airlines2018-09-04
  2. "Overall Company experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Employee only health insurance is great, work-life balance is good. Flexibility on transferring from one base to another. It is a good company to work for in the long term.

    Cons

    Family health insurance is bad. The company violates the union contract often. Pay is a little bit low compared to other carriers.

    Spirit Airlines2020-04-29
  3. "Spirit air"

    5.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work at

    Cons

    A lot of traveling the country

    Continue reading
    Spirit Airlines2020-04-24
  4. "Airline pilot at spirit"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airline Pilot in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and easy to make changes

    Cons

    Lower pay compared to competitors

    Spirit Airlines2020-04-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Spirit"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Specialist in Miramar, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy in project work

    Cons

    Low pay, no diversity, low data quality and accessibility

    Spirit Airlines2020-04-16
  6. "Not too bad of a place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, benefits, travel, and minimum management

    Cons

    weird hours, no food breaks, rough customers

    Spirit Airlines2020-03-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "disorganized"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Associate Software Engineer 

    I worked at Spirit Airlines full-time

    Pros

    none that i can think of...lacking process

    Cons

    a lack of process and an unwillingness for the business to understand the software development process

    Spirit Airlines2020-03-31
  8. "Husband is employed He loves it I am applying"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time

    Pros

    pay hours coworkers schedule

    Cons

    personal travel benefits not good

    Spirit Airlines2020-03-12
  9. "Great Place and NO Prima-donna Attitudes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot, First Officer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great internal customer service. The people make it, as with any customer service job. Fast pace work environment. Super flexible schedule once you hold a line.

    Cons

    Initial new-hire training stressed me out.

    Spirit Airlines2020-03-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Do your research"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spirit Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is very adamant about safety.

    Cons

    The company is growing but not rapidly enough. The employees don't get extra incentives or fair pay. The passengers have to sit in discomfort and the fees are endless.

    Continue reading
    Spirit Airlines2020-03-18
Found 405 reviews