Spirit Airlines Reviews

Updated Oct 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 687 of over 733 reviews

3.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Spirit Airlines President and CEO Ted Christie
Ted Christie
195 Ratings
Pros
  • "Quality of life, flight benefits(in 58 reviews)

  • "The health benefits & travel benefits are amazing and can’t be beat(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other airlines(in 22 reviews)

  • "Cheap tickets mean cheap passengers(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Outstanding management that cares about its people profoundly.

      Oct 29, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The leadership at spirit is some of the best I have ever experienced or heard about. I have mostly interacted with leadership in the training department to be more specific. I know, without a doubt, our skillset as instructors is valued highly by our leadership. These are the kind of bosses that make you WANT to work effectively and efficiently. They supplement professional development and set you up for success. Spirit often talks about making customers into 'super fans' but the real secret is that they care for us so much, that we become 'super fans' and this leads to a great service/product for the customer. They invest in their people heavily. Also communication from execs to the lowest level and everywhere in-between, is great!

      Cons

      Airline job security. The industry fluctuates but you will find this at ANY airline. However, at spirit, this is much less of a worry.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for the great review, Spirit SuperFan! You are right that we are committed to creating great experiences for both our Team Members and our Guests, and we are happy to hear that you are enjoying your journey with us. Together we will deliver the best value in the sky and be the most successful airline on Earth!

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Wonderful place to work

      Mar 29, 2021 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support team and airline family

      Cons

      None that I can honestly think of- a brilliant place to work!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Spirit Airlines Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on making Spirit a great place to work and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your journey with us.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Flight Attendant

      Sep 4, 2018 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Travel benefits -Health insurance -Work/life balance -Reserve life is MUCH shorter than other airlines -Workload and job is incredibly easy, generally speaking

      Cons

      -Management is constantly looking for loopholes in the poorly written contract in order to shortchange us. -Crew Scheduling is ALWAYS purposely breaking the contract--"Fly it and grieve it" -Reputation isn't the best -Company is always miscalculating your pay, so self-audits are almost a must every single month. -It's like ripping teeth out just to get ANY management to respond to emails. Have a question for HR? Good luck. They'll respond in about two months, or not at all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Your going to be broke for a few years

      Oct 25, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flight Benefits, Medical, dental, vision, 401(k) Will match up to 6%. When you have a line, your work / life balance is significantly better and to be honest that's why people stay here. You will be able to choose where and when you want to fly. For example, you will not want to be flying to Atlanta on Spirit.

      Cons

      If you have to commute, it is really hard to make any money. The company likes to take advantage of the reserves (on call) flight attendants. We are currently in contract negotiations. It's not a great time for the company until we have signed a new contract, due to the violations the company is actively violating. The union is weak when trying to fight a contract violation. Since the pandemic, the customers have been very mean - this includes violent people. It can get scary sometimes. The gate agents don't stay around - they are hired by a third party company, so they are not always properly trained on how to handle all the situations.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      x

      Oct 23, 2021 - Bilingual Flight Attendant in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible hours, great pay, constant travelling

      Cons

      long work hours, time difference obstructs circadian rhythm

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent Company

      Oct 23, 2021 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job being a FA with Spirit. Most of the times flights go as planned. Company is usually responsive to employees need in general. Pretty good company cultural with most people being happy with their job.

      Cons

      Being on reserve is tough at Spirit, especially right now. Lots of contract violations when it comes to scheduling. Hopefully, with the new contract we will get paid more and have a better quality of life.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great

      Oct 23, 2021 - Flight Attendant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent Pay Open door policy in management Union does a great job of protecting the flight attendants Fun work environment

      Cons

      Long hours Operational Challenges Work/Life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Flight attendant

      Oct 18, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great job to those who love to travel.

      Cons

      Training is unpaid and is about 6 weeks long.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Agent

      Oct 15, 2021 - Guest Service Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Hours Fun Environment Amazing Coworkers

      Cons

      Little Pay Sometimes Long Hours Can Get Hectic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Flight Attendant

      Oct 15, 2021 - Flight Attendant in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do try their best to take care of us, and the medical benefits are pretty good.

      Cons

      Not the best communication within the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 687 Reviews

    Work at Spirit Airlines? Share Your Experiences

    Spirit Airlines logo
    or