Sports Direct "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sports Direct Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
37%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Sports Direct Founder & CEO Mike Ashley
Mike Ashley
267 Ratings
Pros
  • "team work friendly colleagues flexible hours good people(in 67 reviews)

  • "Reasonable working hours, one shift could be from 4-7 hours with a half hour to one hour break(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Zero hour contract so there would be days you don't go in at all(in 110 reviews)

  • "Long hours / contracted hours, understaffed(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Sports direct the best sporting retailer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Footwear Supervisor in Poole, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sports Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started working for sports direct a week after my current empolyer jjb went in to administration i only took it cause it was a job to pay my wages i was always against working for them because off the zero hour contracts and the negitive things i always heard about them almost four years later i can honestly say its the best move i have ever made. Sports direct give employees the chance off progression within the company sending you to head office for the best training possible they are always trying to reward the people that work for them. Sports direct offer a flexible working environmeant for people at uni college and 6th form aswell as a chance for pogression they offer employees the best oppitunity for to earn comission in a fun competitive environmeant.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only down side i can think of working at sports direct sometimes you can work long hours. Also i think they should be a vit more flexible with what supervisor upwards can do in terms off hours esecially if things within their departmeant need to be done but they are not getting the time during trading hours to do it they should be allowed time thats suitable for them to do it even if its so.ething like a non operation shift where.they are purly there to do the task that needs to be done but cant be done during trading hours.

    Show More
    Sports Direct2016-04-06
  2. "Average experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers are supportive and help with training

    Cons

    Low pay and very long hours

    Sports Direct2020-01-14
  3. "Disorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively easy work, I'm just on tills

    Cons

    Long hours, zero hour contract so only know your hours a week in advance. disorganised - told three separate managers about my holiday and none of them communicated or remembered and gave me hours I couldn't do. Also give me hours when I say I'm not available and if I say I can't do a shift/time they give me the longest shifts the next week

    Advice to Management

    Be more friendly and don't throw new recruits into the deep end - it's stressful

    Sports Direct2019-12-11
  4. "Not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time

    Pros

    some flexible hours Bonus to earn more student-friendly discounts

    Cons

    long hours working managers maltreating some workers

    Sports Direct2019-11-05
  5. "Dont bother applying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cast Member in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is no pros not even the discount is worth it

    Cons

    Long hours, terrible pay, terrible commission structure. You will become a kpi robot and get treated awful by managers and customers. Unless you sleep with a manager there is no progression

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff like humans not pieces of dirt

    Sports Direct2019-12-07
  6. "Difficult to enjoy without good team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Shoe Assistant in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff that work well together to overcome problems. Flexibility for shifts due to zero hour contract. Able to progress if you work hard. Potential to make more money due to commissions.

    Cons

    Poor wages. Long hours. Expected to deal with situations which can be uncomfortable and should be dealt with by security. Pressured into selling certain products even if the customer would be happier with a different one.

    Sports Direct2019-11-14
  7. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commision Some flexibility Alot of workers of the same age (students)

    Cons

    Poor management Long hours Low pay rate

    Sports Direct2019-11-10
  8. "Good for short term employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent wage with commission on top

    Cons

    chronically understaffed, long hours, staff not valued

    Sports Direct2019-10-31
  9. "Company Doesn't Really Care About Employee's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Warrington, North West England, England

    I worked at Sports Direct full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security once in full time contract. Potential to earn bonuses.

    Cons

    Long hours and forced to work overtime with no pay.

    Advice to Management

    Stop exploiting workers.

    Sports Direct2019-10-02
  10. "Never Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    20% employee discount Lots of uniform options

    Cons

    Hot work environment Long hours Late shifts Very hard to earn decent commission

    Sports Direct2019-09-12
Found 55 reviews