Sports Direct "zero hour contract" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sports Direct Employee Reviews about "zero hour contract"

Updated 11 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
37%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Sports Direct Founder & CEO Mike Ashley
Mike Ashley
267 Ratings
Pros
  • "team work friendly colleagues flexible hours good people(in 67 reviews)

  • "Reasonable working hours, one shift could be from 4-7 hours with a half hour to one hour break(in 31 reviews)

Cons
  • "Zero hour contract so there would be days you don't go in at all(in 110 reviews)

  • "Long hours / contracted hours, understaffed(in 55 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "zero hour contract"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "footwear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    keeps you on your toes

    Cons

    zero hour contract which means potential limited hours

    Advice to Management

    more pay and hours

    Sports Direct2019-10-08
  2. "Disorganised"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shop Assistant in York, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively easy work, I'm just on tills

    Cons

    Long hours, zero hour contract so only know your hours a week in advance. disorganised - told three separate managers about my holiday and none of them communicated or remembered and gave me hours I couldn't do. Also give me hours when I say I'm not available and if I say I can't do a shift/time they give me the longest shifts the next week

    Advice to Management

    Be more friendly and don't throw new recruits into the deep end - it's stressful

    Sports Direct2019-12-11
  3. "i dont know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    make comission on some sales through the 5 star system

    Cons

    On a zero hour contract

    Advice to Management

    maybe offer set hour contracts and not give below £7 hourly for all staff

    Sports Direct2019-11-01
  4. "Difficult to enjoy without good team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Shoe Assistant in Bournemouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff that work well together to overcome problems. Flexibility for shifts due to zero hour contract. Able to progress if you work hard. Potential to make more money due to commissions.

    Cons

    Poor wages. Long hours. Expected to deal with situations which can be uncomfortable and should be dealt with by security. Pressured into selling certain products even if the customer would be happier with a different one.

    Sports Direct2019-11-14
  5. "Jj"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly co workers Chilled environment

    Cons

    Pay rate Zero hour contract

    Sports Direct2019-10-12
  6. "good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Casual Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexibility, and able to take holidays when needed since it was a zero hours contract

    Cons

    no guaranteed hours and unsociable hours

    Sports Direct2019-09-16
  7. "Zero hours contract, Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Assistant in Calcot, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, friendly staff, sociable working hours

    Cons

    low payed, zero hours contract, required to meet targets

    Sports Direct2019-09-12
  8. "It was actually good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was actually good, well above minimum wage, working environment in my store was friendly, everyone got along, managers were approachable if you had a problem, commission scheme in place which was helpful to make money

    Cons

    Zero hour contract so there would be days you don't go in at all

    Sports Direct2019-09-08
  9. "Not bad as a student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shoe Sales in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sports Direct part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible, nice managers and friendly staff

    Cons

    minimum wage, zero hours contract, can be boring

    Sports Direct2019-08-26
  10. "👍🏽👍🏽"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at Sports Direct part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The zero hour contract is flexible

    Cons

    Given a lot of responsibility

    Sports Direct2019-07-17
Found 129 reviews