Spotify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Spotify Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 341 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Daniel Ek
241 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great values, good work life balance(in 42 reviews)

  • "Free food, creative atmosphere, lots of great people, amazing product(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "growing pains and learning how to be efficient(in 17 reviews)

  • "If you are not in the main offices (Stockholm or New York) many benefits are not available to you or only after extensive begging(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing people culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I worked at Spotify for over a year and I was blown away for the quality of the hires and the team there. I met amazingly nice, smart, willing to help people there than in any other jobs. 3 years later I am still very much friends with most of them and would reach out without second thoughts to everyone I met.

    Cons

    I use to travel quite a lot

    Spotify2019-04-25
  2. "Great strategy, but not run well and weak HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time

    Pros

    Great offices, lots of training & development opportunities, powerful business strategy and excellent leadership team. A company to believe in

    Cons

    Poor decision making in middle-management, lack of rigour in running the business and weak HR support

    Advice to Management

    Build in better operational rigour and more oversight of management

    Spotify2019-05-07
  3. "Lost its soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great perks, exciting place to work

    Cons

    Hiring ego driven managers who care little about staff

    Advice to Management

    Care about your team

    Spotify2019-05-01
  4. "Research Scientist at Spotify"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Interesting problems to work on. Mid-size allows you to have both freedom in your research agenda and at the same time impact in the product. Good work environment and work life balance, with flexibility and a nice culture. Good benefits, especially if you want to have a family. Colleagues are friendly and the mission is inspiring.

    Cons

    Engineering capabilities for researchers are a bit lacking at the moment, which make user-facing experiments a bit complicated to launch and iterate on. Work conditions are very different depending on the office.

    Spotify2019-03-31
  5. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Spotify full-time

      Pros

      Great place to work all year round

      Cons

      At times management can be demanding

      Spotify2019-03-14
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Spotify full-time

        Pros

        Fun company in an exciting industry

        Cons

        None I can think of

        Advice to Management

        None

        Spotify2019-02-06
      • Helpful (6)

        "Simply the best company I have worked for."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Marketing in London, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Incredible company, fantastic culture, great work-life balance and highly motivating.

        Cons

        Growing pains and organisational shifts, as to be expected.

        Advice to Management

        N/A

        Spotify2018-09-14
      • Helpful (1)

        "Amazing people, doing amazing things!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Spotify full-time

        Pros

        Work with some of the smartest people around, a hugely disruptive business, a visionary founder/CEO

        Cons

        All consuming, little time for anything but work. Constant change in org structure/people can make it rather political and hard to navigate. Swedish/American cultural clash can be challenging

        Advice to Management

        People matter and should be seen as a valuable asset. Not made to feel disposable.

        Spotify2018-09-04
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great, but too big"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director of Business Development in London, England

        I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Brand, product, people, flexible working hours / locations

        Cons

        No career/personal development, no incentives for long term employees

        Spotify2018-08-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "International sales"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Spotify full-time

        Pros

        Good people, nice to work in music, dynamic, fun, travel, great team

        Cons

        Politics, a lot of change in senior leadership over and over again

        Spotify2018-06-13
      Found 341 reviews