Spotify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Spotify Reviews

Updated 19 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Spotify CEO Daniel Ek
Daniel Ek
267 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "growing pains and learning how to be efficient(in 19 reviews)

  • "If you are not in the main offices (Stockholm or New York) many benefits are not available to you or only after extensive begging(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company and great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and team culture. Fast paced, innovative and encourages development.

    Cons

    None really. There is a lot of change but that is to be expected in hyper growth.

    Spotify2019-10-07
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Culture clash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership from the top and talented people on the ground looking to carry out those aspirations. Free food, flexible working, great parental leave for everyone.

    Cons

    Unfortunately there seems to have been a shift recently caused by hyper-growth where a middle layer of (usually american) middle-managers have swamped the company and gummed everything up, including the culture. Something disturbing happens when you mix Swedish openness with the US tendency towards passive aggressiveness. The flat hierarchy is an illusion. If you don't pay your dues you're going to be "managed out". It's no longer the case that you can just do good work at Spotify. I've been shocked at just how corporate it is now. It's heartbreaking really because everything being said by senior leadership is still great but it's as if they still think the company is where it was 3 years ago. There is now a big push towards speed and breaking down decision making red tape. They understand what is happening but that's a hard knot to untangle. I see a lot of pain ahead for those on the ground. Currently, the reality is if you're the kind of person who just wants to do good work and speak your mind this isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-09-27
  3. "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, exciting opportunities, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Very busy and sometimes chaotic working environment

    Spotify2019-09-12
  4. "Is ok, used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product and mission Ceo is superb

    Cons

    Moves slower Less exciting times Many middle managers not contributing No idea for what to do with the international business

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-08-30
  5. "It’s all the about the numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - amazing people and facilities - work hard, play hard attitude - connections that come from working there

    Cons

    - target driven sales culture means you are just a number - limited growth in sales - right budgeted = poor salary

    Spotify2019-06-16
  6. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that looks after the employees and not treat them as numbers. Lots of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Can be disorganised when it comes to the workflow

    Spotify2019-06-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great strategy, but not run well and weak HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time

    Pros

    Great offices, lots of training & development opportunities, powerful business strategy and excellent leadership team. A company to believe in

    Cons

    Poor decision making in middle-management, lack of rigour in running the business and weak HR support

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-05-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing people culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at Spotify for over a year and I was blown away for the quality of the hires and the team there. I met amazingly nice, smart, willing to help people there than in any other jobs. 3 years later I am still very much friends with most of them and would reach out without second thoughts to everyone I met.

    Cons

    I use to travel quite a lot

    Spotify2019-04-25
  9. "Lost its soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, exciting place to work

    Cons

    Hiring ego driven managers who care little about staff

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-05-01
  10. "Research Scientist at Spotify"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting problems to work on. Mid-size allows you to have both freedom in your research agenda and at the same time impact in the product. Good work environment and work life balance, with flexibility and a nice culture. Good benefits, especially if you want to have a family. Colleagues are friendly and the mission is inspiring.

    Cons

    Engineering capabilities for researchers are a bit lacking at the moment, which make user-facing experiments a bit complicated to launch and iterate on. Work conditions are very different depending on the office.

    Spotify2019-03-31
Found 382 reviews