Spotify Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Spotify Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
80%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Spotify CEO  and  Co-Founder Daniel Ek
Daniel Ek
26 Ratings
Pros
  • "Real work-life balance, in true Swedish fashion(in 56 reviews)

  • "Lots of free food, I have lost weight since leaving(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "growing pains and learning how to be efficient(in 20 reviews)

  • "Only disadvantage was that it's hard for partners to find work in Stockholm(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Spotify for under a year and absolutely love it. The people here are incredible, everyone knows there craft so well which is incredibly inspiring, I already feel like i've learnt a tonne from my colleagues. The projects are also incredibly interesting, you have the power to really delve into a problem space and solve real problems.

    Cons

    Challenge with multiple teams working on similar initiatives.

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-11-29
  2. "Best company to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at the company for two years. Never have I worked somewhere where there is such a focus on staff well being and staff engagement. The office environment is second to none - We moved in last year and it’s absolutely wonderful. It’s been designed with staff in mind so there are loads amazing areas to work from, you have the Hideaway which is for quiet working with cool sofas and a smoothie bar, Fitness Studio, collaborative squad areas for teams, the ‘pitstop’ for grab and go items with fridges stocked to the brim with free food and drinks and we are all eagerly awaiting new new ground floor to open which will include a stage area, cafeteria for free hot meals, coffee shop, games rooms etc. Spotify is unique in that it is headquartered out of Stockholm. New York and London are its 2nd and 3rd biggest hubs. You get to travel pretty frequently if you so wish which one of my favourite things about the company - It’s truly global. All meeting rooms are decked out with Google Hangouts too so it’s super easy to have video calls with anyone no matter their location . All staff get new Apple Macs upon joining and the choice of an Android or iPhone - We are very lucky to be given the very latest in technology whereas lots of my previous companies would give staff pretty old stuff to work with. The benefits are insane such as stock options upon joining, Bupa Dental, Bupa Healthcare, 6 months full pay maternity and paternity benefit with a 7th month gradual back to work, 12% pension (4% you 8% Spotify), 6 free counselling sessions a year, flu vaccinations, weekly massages, agile working so you can work from home pretty frequently thanks to Google Hangouts, crazy amount of free food and snacks daily and great Summer and Holiday parties too. Everyone is super friendly which make it an incredibly enjoyable environment to work in.

    Cons

    We hire 120 every month globally so there needs to be a focus on ensuring that the culture remains there. That’s like the size of a company every month.

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-11-08
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lost its spark"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Office will be great when they eventually get around to finishing it.

    Cons

    Culture is fake and social activities are forced fun. It lost everything that was good about it, no longer feels like a happy environment where people are genuine friends and have fun. Old timers get pushed out, and hiring/firing is unsettling. No career path in Sales.

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-11-03
  4. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Spotify full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely office Friendly Good atmosphere Good colleagues Fair enrolment process

    Cons

    Segregated from other employees Very boring at times Long shifts

    Spotify2019-10-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing people, exciting opportunities, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Very busy and sometimes chaotic working environment

    Spotify2019-09-12
  6. "Is ok, used to be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategy Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product and mission Ceo is superb

    Cons

    Moves slower Less exciting times Many middle managers not contributing No idea for what to do with the international business

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-08-30
  7. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A company that looks after the employees and not treat them as numbers. Lots of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Can be disorganised when it comes to the workflow

    Spotify2019-06-11
  8. "It’s all the about the numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - amazing people and facilities - work hard, play hard attitude - connections that come from working there

    Cons

    - target driven sales culture means you are just a number - limited growth in sales - right budgeted = poor salary

    Spotify2019-06-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lost its soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great perks, exciting place to work

    Cons

    Hiring ego driven managers who care little about staff

    Continue reading
    Spotify2019-05-01
  10. "Research Scientist at Spotify"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Spotify full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting problems to work on. Mid-size allows you to have both freedom in your research agenda and at the same time impact in the product. Good work environment and work life balance, with flexibility and a nice culture. Good benefits, especially if you want to have a family. Colleagues are friendly and the mission is inspiring.

    Cons

    Engineering capabilities for researchers are a bit lacking at the moment, which make user-facing experiments a bit complicated to launch and iterate on. Work conditions are very different depending on the office.

    Spotify2019-03-31
Found 270 reviews