Spotify Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 of over 844 reviews

3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Spotify CEO  and  Co-Founder Daniel Ek
Daniel Ek
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work life balance at Spotify(in 95 reviews)

  • "Spotify have a very horizontal and collaborative culture(in 87 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is Big process at Spotify(in 55 reviews)

  • "Only disadvantage was that it's hard for partners to find work in Stockholm(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Spotify

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1m

    works at 

    Spotify

    Just found out that someone accepting a "Junior" version of my job at Spotify will be making 100k (I'm happy for them) I have been here for 5 years, got promoted to Senior last year and I make 75k. This feels like a big punch in the gut and I've lost trust in Spotify to give fair compensation Our WFA policy says “location within a country shouldn’t be a factor in determining pay” and “national salary ranges per job” I'm hoping a conversation with my manager can "fix" this but I am frustrated

    68

    32 Comments

    Tech

    112.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Spotify~408251
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Simply the best company I have worked for.

      Sep 14, 2018 - Marketing in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredible company, fantastic culture, great work-life balance and highly motivating.

      Cons

      Growing pains and organisational shifts, as to be expected.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor pay and work life balance

      Aug 16, 2021 - Data Scientist in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to learn if you really put in the effort to find and connect with the right people

      Cons

      Very poor pay compared to industry. Terrible work life balance

      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Aug 16, 2021 - Data Scientist in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance and perks

      Cons

      Sometimes can get repetitive and you can lose touch with wider data science advancements

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent work/life balance

      Jan 13, 2021 - Strategy Lead in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      + Strong work/life balance and strong leadership

      Cons

      -Growing rapidly so it can be complex to align on priorities

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Research Scientist at Spotify

      Mar 31, 2019 - Research Scientist in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting problems to work on. Mid-size allows you to have both freedom in your research agenda and at the same time impact in the product. Good work environment and work life balance, with flexibility and a nice culture. Good benefits, especially if you want to have a family. Colleagues are friendly and the mission is inspiring.

      Cons

      Engineering capabilities for researchers are a bit lacking at the moment, which make user-facing experiments a bit complicated to launch and iterate on. Work conditions are very different depending on the office.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Intern

      Jan 11, 2016 - Intern in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      What struck me the most was that everyone is friends, outside of work as well as in. Spotify provide an amazing work/life balance; regular events happen in the office (yoga, wine tasting, performances etc.) Management is very transparent about what they are doing and host regular forums for all employees to raise concerns. I didn't once do the stereotypical intern jobs, but was hugely trusted and my opinion was valued as much as the fulltime employees.

      Cons

      The team I joined was so good at their job that occasionally I felt as if I didn't have as much work as I would have liked. However, my manager was so approachable and whenever that was the case they gave me more work.

      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Life Work Balance

      Nov 22, 2021 - Data Scientist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance Amazing people

      Cons

      Disjointed Underpaid compared to other Tech companies

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent culture and place to work

      Nov 16, 2021 - Product Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work life balance at Spotify

      Cons

      Slow to implement product changes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Solid place to work with great Software Engineering Culture, issues with project management

      Nov 14, 2021 - Software Engineer in Stockholm, Stockholm
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary and Benefits Learned alot and has solid software engineering culture Good room for growth

      Cons

      This is my personal experience, but some of the people they have been bringing into management/project management are pretty political and not very techincal leading to issues. Executives are fine but mid level management could use some work. Work life balance could be better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good work life balance, bunch of politic bs

      Nov 2, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance. people are nice and you can be yourself at work

      Cons

      there's a lot of politic bs that slows down all inovation and actual good decisions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 80 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Spotify Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Spotify? Share Your Experiences

    or