Square Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Square Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 475 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Square CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
361 Ratings
Pros
  • "High emphasis on work life balance and a culture within the talent org of trying new things like supporting remote recruiters/managers(in 44 reviews)

  • "Open, transparent, low ego work environment(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and benefits. Support from management and awesome work-life balance.

    Cons

    Monotonous work and they constantly move the ball on expectations.

    Square2019-10-08
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexibility career evolution diversity work smart mindset

    Cons

    did not find any inconvenients

    Square2019-10-04
  3. "lovin' it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Can't Say in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As always, your experience will depend on your team. I got lucked out with my manager. Comp is good. Free food is good. Working in the fintech space is also very interesting.

    Cons

    Growing pain. Product features are developed across multiple teams now.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to growing bureaucracy

    Square2019-09-27
  4. "Great Tier 2 tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    exciting mission. Collaborative coworkers. Lots of interesting technical challenges.

    Cons

    direction changes can happen rapidly. Derailing sprint teams

    Square2019-09-26
  5. "I would say it’s ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PQ Customer Success Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -gq and pq are great. It’s if you try to go outside of that it sucks. My leads have always been super nice. Can get more then normal days off if you know how to.

    Cons

    Getting out of customer success is hard. Other teams hire mostly externals and that in it self is hurtful. They had a weird mass firing of the cash team that was weird. 60 plus people fired but none of the leads were. Idk just all around uncomfortable.

    Square2019-10-10
  6. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Privacy in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, cool offices, fast pace, interesting work

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share

    Square2019-09-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Decrease in Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and great people

    Cons

    Lack of transparency, growing bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Be more proactive rather than reactive, trust your employees and communicate with them, be as transparent as possible

    Square2019-09-12
  8. "Political and Slow Moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Can't Say 

    I have been working at Square full-time

    Pros

    -Your voice is heard -Decent perks -Open communication

    Cons

    -Slow moving innovation -Extremely political to the point that it distracts from work -Pays less than other tech companies

    Square2019-09-27
  9. "Square Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great as well as the culture

    Cons

    phones and schedule as well as work life balance

    Advice to Management

    n/A

    Square2019-09-12
  10. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advocate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits No Micro Managing Nice raises

    Cons

    Too many changes, with not enough time for the employees to get used to it Too many issues for the customers experience

    Advice to Management

    Do better

    Square2019-09-25
Found 475 reviews