Square Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Square Reviews

Updated 29 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Square Founder & CEO Jack Dorsey
Jack Dorsey
389 Ratings
Pros
  • "I’ve never felt more appreciated, and been at a job where my work life balance was valued(in 48 reviews)

  • "Open, transparent, low ego work environment(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains of a new office(in 28 reviews)

  • "Just starting 401k matching so the program is not as developed as some others yet (but will get there)(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Incredible company. Transiting into a bigger company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Values people. Builds tools for improvement. Values transparency and inclusion. Excellent benefits. Great growth. Values internal development. Cash app is growing immensely. Still has a lot to learn and develop internally, is open about that

    Cons

    You work on a computer mostly.

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-29
  2. "Great company despite growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment Awesome benefits, perks, and competitive pay Supportive management

    Cons

    Becoming more corporate as the company grows

    Square2020-03-28
  3. "Customer Success Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square

    Pros

    Great company culture. Great pay! Very great perks to being a Square. Lunch reimbursement, snacks all day, and feedback driven culture. Great employee development and a come as you are motto.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-19
  4. "I like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Culture - Expensed lunch - Great WFH flexibility - Learn something new every day

    Cons

    - Pay is OKAY - There's a bit of ambiguity regarding some policies

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-13
  5. "Worth Pursuing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Development Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lunch Provided / Flexible Scheduling / Interesting Work / Good Team Mates

    Cons

    Complex Problems / Changes Happen Rapidly / Industry Specific Knowledge is Vast

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-11
  6. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -the culture is non-hierarchical, friendly and eager -people believe in the mission -exciting growth trajectory -tons of transparency from the top -increasing flexibility around WFH and distributed workforce

    Cons

    -company is betting that equity will counterbalance mediocre cash salaries -growth can mean uncertain work life balance -turnover is getting higher since the stock price leveled out in 2019...but that’s not unheard of in tech -culture around advancement is weird. Levels are hidden, promotions un-announced, manager-given performance ratings generally a secret. I get that they’re promoting a non-aggressive environment but it makes personal development harder to measure and plan.

    Square2020-03-07
  7. "DS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time

    Pros

    Environnement and people are good

    Cons

    There are cons everywhere aren’t there

    Square2020-03-06
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Square full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -great culture - (most) employees are amazing -they care their employees and work culture fosters growth (skills, mindset)

    Cons

    -a lot of things are broken and people are always scrambling. -office politics

    Square2020-02-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "An OK employer marred by poor upper and direct management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You do get to work on a relatively modern tech stack with competent peers. You may also learn several marketable skills. Other things to point out: - Few people work late, though you are implicitly expected to be in early - Food is good

    Cons

    Bad managers seem to be a relatively common complaint among IC employees I talked to. I reported to a micromanager, and didn't get the impression I could do much about it without burning bridges. Jack (CEO) seems to be phoning-in anything not related to BTC. Several of the VPs are very risk averse and there is no real vision for the future other than a very vague "grow" directive. The company is complacent about its market position and I don't expect it to keep growing. Other things to point out: - Complacent business strategy leads to boring work - The SF office is very loud due to poor acoustics and tight desk layouts - WFH is generally discouraged - Stock appreciation is considered during comp review, refreshers/raises are poor in general and there will almost certainly be a big 4-year cliff now that the stock is stagnant - Useless cost-saving measures (like reduced food service) are creeping in

    Continue reading
    Square2020-03-10
  10. "Hardware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global Supply Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Square full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Culture, Leadership, and dynamic team environment.

    Cons

    Equity made up for low base pay

    Square2020-02-26
Found 521 reviews