Starlight Children's Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Starlight Children's Foundation Reviews

Updated 30 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
41%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Starlight Children's Foundation CEO Adam Garone (no image)
Adam Garone
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Bizarre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Paddington, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A really great cause that the staff generally want to make a difference. Good for students who want to make a bit of extra cash

    Cons

    Very weak leadership team, bad management and outdated practices. Inability to see the bigger picture,instead prefer focusing on petty issues. Waste a lot of the publics money on unnecessary networking events for CE. Paid a lot, to do very little, and never challenged by trustees. Wouldn't survive in a commercial world. small world thinking, inability to see the bigger picture. A lot of staff have never worked in an office environment before. Very female dominated which leads to very clicky teams and classroom office with lots of girls giggling and talking loudly all day! Beware you have to scream on your birthday when you cut the cake. Lol Bizarre company. Good Luck

    Continue reading
    Starlight Children's Foundation2016-04-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dysfunctional and Disorganized Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission and positive work and programming being done for deserving kids and families is the largest Pro of the organization.

    Cons

    Incredible amount of turnover in the Canadian Offices due to disconnect from Senior Leadership, low morale from the top, poor communication organization wide, and staff being undervalued. The work environment in office was extremely toxic - coming from the top. It was an emotionally exhausting place to work.

    Continue reading
    Starlight Children's Foundation2020-01-27
  3. "Stressful and toxic work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in North York, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Starlight does amazing work for sick children and their families

    Cons

    Do not work here. While it is an important organization for the meaningful work they do, the leadership is NON existent and all problems within the organization are constantly swept under the rug, hushed or hidden. There are members on the team that should have been let go years ago due to their actions. Way too much is tolerated. You will not feel safe nor respected in this organization.

    Continue reading
    Starlight Children's Foundation2020-01-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic and unhealthy work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation full-time

    Pros

    The only pro is the mission and the programming the organization offers for children and their families.

    Cons

    The Canadian offices are extremely toxic and provide an unhealthy work environment, with poor treatment of their employees. Lack of leadership and zero support from senior management, causing a lot of turnover.

    Continue reading
    Starlight Children's Foundation2020-01-30
  5. "Great Organization - Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Dorval, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation full-time

    Pros

    By far the best thing about Starlight is the work they do for the families, and the families themselves. Events targeted towards the children are run with the best of intentions, and Galas/Tea are well done (though budget-wise seem outrageous). The families are wonderful to work with, and employee interactions with them are always a joy.

    Cons

    The offices are poorly run, and many are shocked that some incidents have not lead to more serious actions on the part of the senior team. Turnover and mental health leave are exceptionally high due to very poor management and a toxic workplace.

    Continue reading
    Starlight Children's Foundation2020-01-28
  6. "Absolutely Recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Employee in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starlight Children's Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Starlight has a relatively new CEO who has changed the culture and strengthened the team in a big way. He has focused on getting the right people into the right roles, and making the environment one of total trust, positivity, focused on the right things (helping seriously ill kids!) and strengthening the various revenue streams to ensure the business is around for many more decades. Everyone works hard, focused on goals, and really passionate about the Starlight mission. Flexible schedule, work from home Fridays, and a fun team are cherries on top. Pay is very competitive, matching 4013b, good stuff!

    Cons

    No serious cons. Seriously.

    Continue reading
    Starlight Children's Foundation2019-11-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "StarHits Radio Jockey Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - StarHits Radio Jockey Volunteer in Randwick
    Recommends

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment, generous and fun people

    Cons

    There are no cons working for/volunteering with Starlight

    Starlight Children's Foundation2018-06-20
  8. "Halloween Event Volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation

    Pros

    Very interactive volunteers throughout the event

    Cons

    Disorganized scheduling for the event

    Starlight Children's Foundation2017-06-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Overdue Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Moderator in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing kids. Daily inspiration from them.

    Cons

    Nonexistent program support, poor communication from higher ups. Undervalued staff contributed to low group morale. Isolated departments, didn't function as one cohesive unit. Unanswered questions, unaddressed issues and concerns. Our program was cut without warning by CEO (Jacqueline Hart.) We had to fight to even tell the kids or give them any notice at all. Prior to dumping our program, we received very little support, tech or otherwise. Our site was embarrassingly outdated, trapped in the dark ages. Sick kids were trying to chat with their friends only to be met with frustration and nonstop tech problems. Staff training was inconsistent, rules & regulations/emergency protocol were clear as mud. We asked, made calls, wrote emails, spoke at staff meetings. The kids even reached out on their own, asked Starlight for support. Expressed how much their program meant to them, helped them make friends who could relate to their struggles, battle isolation, etc. In the end, after years of fighting for money, resources, and support, they pulled the plug. Bottom line? I worked at Starlight for many, many years. I loved my work with all my heart. I loved the kids with all my heart. Community staff (myself included) offered to take pay cuts, work for free, if only to keep the community up and running for the kids. It's been a little over a year since our program was "sunset," as they liked to say. I can't speak for the new CEO. Maybe he's positively impacted office culture. I don't know. What I do know is that this organization has a history of doing wrong by its employees, and I learned a lot during my time here about how not to treat people. Take from that what you will.

    Continue reading
    Starlight Children's Foundation2017-02-04
  10. "Special Events"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in North York, ON

    I worked at Starlight Children's Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Staff Small Office Easily Accessible Friendly Environment

    Cons

    Network Budget Limitations Driving is an asset Computers slightly outdated

    Starlight Children's Foundation2016-08-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews