Starwood Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Starwood Hotels & Resorts CEO Adam Aron
Adam Aron
391 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance, challenging to grow with transition(in 63 reviews)

  • "Long hours that is not compensated a lot of times(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Starwood is a very friendly international environment, with supportive management. They offer great career development opportunities and training, it's a very good place to learn new skills

    Cons

    The salaries are low compared to similar jobs in other companies.

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2018-02-22
  2. "Friendly staff, beautiful hotels."

    4.0
    Former Employee - Receptionist 

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts part-time

    Pros

    beautiful premises; friendly staff and customers

    Cons

    Very large can feel impersonal

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2020-03-02
  3. "Amazing company to work for. Shame it was taken over by Marriott"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Director in London, England

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very entrepreneurial approach to hospitality when other players seem to be a century behind

    Cons

    Felt vulnerable when the company was sold to Marriott in 2016

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-05-16
  4. "ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    staff are very helpful friendy

    Cons

    hours long and days go slow

    Continue reading
    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2019-02-12
  5. "waiting staff"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wait Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am currently work full in time in Sheraton Grand Hotel in London and i am looking for new challenges in Spain especially in Canaries Island in order to make a new experience life.

    Cons

    no down side to show

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-11-16
  6. "Starwood Regional roles"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Innovation in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Team spirit and sense of fun Focus on development and emotional intelligence Easy to suggest ideas for improvement which are listened to

    Cons

    A lot of travelling expected Can be difficult for new people to start as most people have been there for over 20 years

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-09-05
  7. "F&B Assistant Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Assistant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had worked for Starwood for two years. The company is amazing and there are very high chance to grow up. Staff was amazing and the first management was wonderful. People are happy and friendly, great vibes and positive work. Rate are good and training as well.

    Cons

    Poor communication between management and employers, sometimes few problems and you need to work hard to fix them by your hand and your mind. Poor organization and short of staff.

    Continue reading
    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-05-26
  8. "Food and Beverage Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Leadership Financial acumen Sales driven Team coaching and Development

    Cons

    Tend to lack on confidence on newer employees

    Continue reading
    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-05-15
  9. "Finance Clerk"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learning opportunities, relaxed atmosphere, team

    Cons

    Work-load inequality distributed, salary (although is in hotel's average)

    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-04-19
  10. "Work hard for no credit"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Starwood Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big chain. Plenty of hours available.

    Cons

    Long unsociable hours with no thanks for goIngram the extra mile

    Continue reading
    Starwood Hotels & Resorts2017-01-05
Found 1961 reviews