State Bank of India Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

State Bank of India Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
52%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
State Bank of India Chairman Pratip C. Chaudhuri
Pratip C. Chaudhuri
520 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Only one con is difficult to maintain work-life balance(in 98 reviews)

  • "Work culture, service conditions, transfers not as one wants(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Probation Officer 

    I have been working at State Bank of India full-time

    Pros

    awesome bank to work with

    Cons

    nothing everything is great here

    State Bank of India2019-09-07
  2. "Bureaucratic ..toxic enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Associate 

    I worked at State Bank of India full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I cant think of any pros .. this is not a place for you if you want to grow

    Cons

    No Work life balance, salary is very low as per market standards

    State Bank of India2019-10-09
  3. "Not a good bank to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Bank of India full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You learn a lot as they throw you in the deep end, good way to start your career

    Cons

    do not care about staff, work you like a slave and a number

    State Bank of India2019-06-27
  4. "SBI UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at State Bank of India full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities for development and supportive work environment.

    Cons

    Working hours are longer than the industry norm.

    State Bank of India2019-05-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Credit analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at State Bank of India full-time

    Pros

    Good experience Good name on cv

    Cons

    Paper work Sometimes buerocracy Work life balance

    State Bank of India2019-04-12
  6. "Bumpy Ride!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Bank of India full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of. Highly non recommended.

    Cons

    No training & guidance provided. Unsupportive and Bullying Management. No appreciation/recognition for hard work. Worst job experience so far. Too much politics and hard to progress. Highly non recommended.

    Advice to Management

    Introspection needed on frequent loss of staff and training process. Low staff retention.

    State Bank of India2019-02-24
  7. "Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at State Bank of India full-time

    Pros

    The only pro i have found is in experiencing what banking was like in the stone age

    Cons

    No structure IT systems are out dated and nonsense No real effort to improve anything Exasperation and stress

    Advice to Management

    Finacle needs throwing in the bin Stop using excel for everything Invest in current and user friendly IT systems Work on communicating with your staff or keep losing them to your competitors

    State Bank of India2019-01-05
  8. "bureaucratic .. too much paperwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at State Bank of India full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    stable job, not much work

    Cons

    too much paperwork, differentiation between expats and locals, low pay

    Advice to Management

    tread employees equally

    State Bank of India2018-11-03
  9. "Personal banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at State Bank of India full-time

    Pros

    Good environment , good client , less pressure, no targets

    Cons

    More papaer work, complex system

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    State Bank of India2018-08-29
  10. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at State Bank of India full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relatively stable job due to it's state owned bank.

    Cons

    Much lower salary than market Lot of difficult and incompetent colleagues Bully culture Treat staff as number Very high staff turnover

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employee decent and offer decent market salary so the bank can keep and attract competent staffs. Treat non-Indian employees fairly and give them opportunities to be promoted and this is way how the bank can grow and develop better.

    State Bank of India2018-09-25
Found 1321 reviews