Stonegate Pub Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Stonegate Pub Company Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 252 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Stonegate Pub Company CEO Simon Longbottom
Simon Longbottom
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "25% discount throughout the company(in 27 reviews)

  • "25% Staff discount and more perks around Christmas and after New Year(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage, standard for bar jobs(in 37 reviews)

  • "A student job unless you have a passion for working in the pub industry(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Development programme Rewards scheme Overall good company

    Cons

    There aren’t any that I can think of

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-10-16
  2. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Glass Collector 

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company part-time

    Pros

    Staff Discount and Flexible Hours

    Cons

    Management can be messy and sometimes communication is bad.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-10-16
  3. "8 years employment so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Career progression, salary, innovation, job security, work life balance, multiple locations.

    Cons

    If you weren't developed through the company I can imagine it would be a tough transition to their way of doing things.

    Advice to Management

    Don't leave, they're the best

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-10-05
  4. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Team Member in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve made nice friends, gained bar experience and developed my English.

    Cons

    Management was horrible, they didn’t give to me or any of my coworkers our contract, would often bully people that THEY hired with no experience or English, no free food, in the beginning they forgot to tell me that breaks weren’t payed so I was doing no break and 10-12 hours shifts, dirty dishwasher machine didn’t clean anything, cleaners only cleaned the floor and toilets, broken lift and 3 floors to the kitchen.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-09-26
  5. "If you enjoy bar work, I guess it's okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Middlesbrough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet some great people Flexible on hours if you have a good manager Discounted food and drinks for you and whoever you're with

    Cons

    They seem to have a problem with managers, all the ones I had bar one were bad and didn't seem to care Customers can be rude and awful

    Advice to Management

    Crackdown on your managers.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-09-04
  6. "Fun at times but over worked for minimum wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues. Can be fun at times. 25% discount in a lot of pubs and bars

    Cons

    Long hours on feet, little to no breaks, always cutting hours and understaffing. not worth the stress and extra jobs/reponsibility for the extra 20p per hour to be a team leader. Can't plan anything because rotas are only done the friday before the next week

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-09-16
  7. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of structure, great systems and processes

    Cons

    Very clicky, management from all sites always slagging each other off. Lots of brown nosing and general standard of venue held by stonegate is very basic, no room for much development in moving the brands forward.

    Advice to Management

    Work here to learn all systems and practices. Service and general hospitality you arent going to learn much which is great for someone who just wants a dead end boring job that pays alright.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-09-01
  8. "unimpressed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender/Waiting Staff in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stonegate Pub Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    average bar job, discounted food and drink

    Cons

    Only told about venue closing 2 weeks prior. Lack of organisation and lack of effort to make the place feel welcoming. Minimum wage and rubbish hours.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more and individualise pubs to suit the area that they are in.

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-09-11
  9. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress 

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff good environment and management

    Cons

    High employee turnover but that's the industry

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-08-22
  10. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Stonegate Pub Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Perfect job along side uni

    Cons

    Minimum wage adds up slowly

    Stonegate Pub Company2019-08-31
Found 252 reviews