Stormfront Retail Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Stormfront Retail Reviews

Updated 22 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Stormfront Retail Managing Director Mike Fleming (no image)
Mike Fleming
32 Ratings
  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Sutton Coldfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Stormfront Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company it's self great company to work for enjoyed every minute

    Cons

    I would say just the basic wage

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2017-04-11
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Fun Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stormfront Retail full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The store I worked in all of the team members were a blast to work with. The training courses I was sent on were very interesting and useful. Most of the head office team were a pleasure to speak to on the phone and were helpful.

    Cons

    Work load was not evenly distributed. The Commission structure was pretty poor for stores that didn't get a lot of foot traffic and really favoured stores in more centralised areas.

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2017-03-02
  3. "Brilliant Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stormfront Retail full-time

    Pros

    Stormfront are a great company to work for who have recently worked hard to improve the happiness of staff. Everyone I work with at Stormfront always seems happy and seems to enjoy coming into work which makes for a great atmosphere to work in. Staff are offered some great incentives and benefits, and are provided with useful and helpful training directly from Apple.

    Cons

    A lot of people assume Stormfront is trying to be an Apple store, but it is not, it's an Apple Premium Reseller, which means it is an independent company from Apple. Stormfront is licensed by Apple to sell their products. This confusion can sometimes lead to customers and staff being disappointed as they do not understand the difference.

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2017-03-07
  4. "A good company but in need of direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Stormfront Retail full-time

    Pros

    A good management team with interesting ideas and prospects on the horizon. There are opportunities to progress through the business and the company offers good remuneration for staff on its new retail scheme.

    Cons

    The company is in need of a business plan and management that will stick to it rather than going off on a tangent.

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2017-02-21
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Stormfront is pretty good, especially for a chilled part-time role."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stormfront Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team i work with a just great, so welcoming and helpful. Management on the whole is pretty good.

    Cons

    Sometimes we can be a little too relaxed things like repairs aren't addressed properly making some processes taking more time than needed.

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2017-01-07
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great company with great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Floor Manager in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stormfront Retail

    Pros

    Opportunity to sell Apple products whilst also offering training and repair services. You experience great interactions with customers and being able to genuinely help people is really rewarding. It's a brilliant place to work if you're passionate about Apple products and good customer service; whether it's on your career path or part time. Excellent support from your team, managers, area managers and Head Office. The company has been through some changes this year which have all been really positive; pay has recently been improved so don't let any older reviews put you off.

    Cons

    Nothing really, communication can always be improved with any company.

    Stormfront Retail2016-11-24
  7. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stormfront Retail part-time

    Pros

    Overall a positive environment, working (and competing) with a small team of likeminded and often energetic sales staff. Good commission benefits, though this was often unpredictable and irregular (a consequence of limited weekday customer footfall in a small store, other responsibilities that took you off the shop floor, etc.). Troubleshooting/servicing and Personal Trainer tuition responsibilities were often interesting, challenging and satisfying.

    Cons

    Mystery shop assessments were effectively a way of punishing staff (and maximising company bottom line) through often considerable commission deductions. Extremely limited break room space, to the point where there was no real delineation between stockroom and non-work space; also worth noting w.r.t this is the prevalence of CCTV throughout the building. 15+ minutes before store opened and the 30 minutes after closing spent cleaning were unpaid. Given the skills (and patience) required for the non-sales responsibilities described above, pay was bad (minimum wage). Downtime on the shop floor could not be 'made useful'—sales staff were made to stand around, unable to sit down or do anything productive. I recall instances of full-time staff being sent home by senior management if surplus to requirements, which I'm fairly sure is a breach of contract. Be mindful of any contract clauses re benefits and personal liability, and bear in mind your rights as an employee should problems arise.

    Stormfront Retail2016-12-14
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Team Member in York, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Stormfront Retail part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, nice staff, passionate about apple and apple products, good wages (especially for students), theres no commission so the team isn't compromised by any arguments about who sold what and who's entitled to what prizes/bonuses. (This is a new management style that has just been introduced as of late October 2016) 90% of the customers who come in are nice and happy to talk to you. You don't feel like you're ripping people off even though its a sales job because everything we offer is good quality and actually worth buying. Free tea and coffee provided by head office.

    Cons

    The card machines and till system is like something out of a wild wild west movie (old fashioned) ((we don't have apple pay ironically)) You don't get paid for breaks although you are forced to take them (which i know is a legal requirement but i still think you should be paid for at least 15 minutes of break time)

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2016-11-07
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great team! Great products!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stormfront Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are amazing, both managers were brilliant and organised. Enjoyed coming to work to work with genuine and helpful people. Customers were great, products are of course amazing, atmosphere of the store was always positive. Lots to do!

    Cons

    Lots of tasks to do. Not like a normal retail job, repairs, teaching lessons and giving advice are as big as a part of the job as selling, although these are enjoyable aspects it can be quite a lot to learn. Pay wasn't great but I hear it's getting better.

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2016-11-04
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Working at Stormfront"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stormfront Retail part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are VERY FEW positive things about working at stormfront. However, employees get a discount on the products, same as many retail stores, and the other sales advisors are very nice to work with.

    Cons

    The management at stormfront, particularly the durham store, is disgraceful. At my time there I was told to 'pull yourself together' and to 'sort myself out' before my next shift. I went to the manager to explain a problem I was having with another member of staff and to talk about a problem I was having at home which was possibly going to end up with me taking time off work. However, the manager of the store at this particular time did not give me any advice apart from being extremely harsh and person by telling me to sort myself out and to pull myself together, which I found very upsetting because it was not a fair comment to make. Also, when I worked for stormfront, I was on a 0 hour contract which was terrible. The new manager who took over late 2016 decided that she did not like me and decided to cut my hours down to 1, 6 hour, shift a week, which at £6.08 an hour was unacceptable. When I asked why I wasn't getting the hours I used to she told me that I was not flexible enough, however there is another employee who works there and has the exact same flexibility as me and got around 30 hours a week. I eventually quit the job as I have bills to pay and I needed more hours ASAP! I was also told I was not hitting my targets which was 10k of sales per month, which I told the manager it was impossible for my to reach the target on only 1 shift a week and that shift was a Sunday which is the stores most quiet day. this I felt was unfair. Working on the shop floor, I witnessed an employee being threatened by a customer because they could not get what they wanted. I myself have been discriminated by, by a man who thought I was not clever enough or knowledgeable enough about the technology and products on offer because I WAS A WOMAN. This incident happened several times throughout my time at stormfront. working on the shop floor was also extremely cold, the heaters hardly worked and always cut out. The air con was always on freezing, even in winter, the doors constantly open which made the store very cold, especially for the elderly customers who came for personal training lessons. The staff room is downstairs where it is freezing, mouldy and very dirty, unacceptable for staff and to have as an eating area. The toilets are dirty and very unhygienic for the employees.

    Continue reading
    Stormfront Retail2016-11-30
Found 73 reviews