Stylight Employee Reviews about "munich"

Updated 18 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Stylight Managing director Maximilian Müller (no image)
Maximilian Müller
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "the company organizes many team events and is preoccupied with the conform of the employees(in 5 reviews)

  • "great office: former productionhall(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Munich is not the cheapest place to live(in 5 reviews)

  • " ny office (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "munich"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great company with an amazing spirit"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Munich, Bavaria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stylight full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great people - great office - great events - fantastic spirit and environment (e.g. often people stay longer playing games, have a beer or simply chatting)

    Cons

    Munich is not the cheapest place to live. (however it's totally worth it)

    Stylight2019-02-18

    Stylight Response

    March 15, 2019People & Organization Manager

    Dear Stylighter, thank you so much for this great feedback! It's a pleasure to have you working here. If there's anything on your mind, please feel free to approach us directly anytime. Best regards, Your People & Organization Team

  2. "Fun, Innovative and Growing Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stylight

    Pros

    -Although rapidly growing, Stylight still maintains a supportive start-up environment -Interns are positively encouraged to take initiative -Supportive feedback systems aimed at employee development -A clear company mission that is actually strongly valued by management -The company allows for work-life balance

    Cons

    -Sometimes communication in the NY office can be a little difficult for certain teams as the HQ is in Munich, Germany

    Stylight2016-03-04
  3. "Fun and formative environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Stylight full-time

    Pros

    Great growth potential Company focus on personal development Lots of team building activities A good balance of responsibility and freedom Passionate co-workers Young environment (even founders are very young) International work environment Beautiful office

    Cons

    The headquarters are in Munich and the distance can cause tension. Time differences can feel like it delays work and cultural differences can cause misunderstandings and confusion. Also, sometimes maybe the office is too young

    Stylight2016-01-15

    Stylight Response

    August 28, 2017HR Manager

    Dear Stylighter, thank’s a lot for your kind words and the great rating. We are very happy that you were so deeply satisfied and that you felt comfortable in working at Stylight. In the future we will seek to work on areas that you are not 100% satisfied with. We wish you all the best, Noemi

  4. "Stay Away"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Stylight

    Pros

    The New York office is in a great location and is rather laid-back and diverse.

    Cons

    The entire NY team consists of nothing but underpaid interns who were sold a dream as far as what the job description said and what responsibilities ended up being. There was always a lot of confusion and lack of clarity regarding the future of this office and the editorial department itself, which DESPERATELY needs an experienced managing editor/eic to lead it. The management that opened this office lack the experience and skills to make it successful. There is no upward mobility—but when one intern did get hired full-time, she was fired the very next day. Despite attempts to keep this office in the loop with the headquarters in Munich, it often felt like the NY office was low on the totem pole of priority.

    Continue reading
    Stylight2016-02-19

    Stylight Response

    March 21, 2016HR Manager

    Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We appreciate your input. We are aware that working at a startup can at times demand a lot of flexibility. There are new challenges that are continuously tackled in the process and it’s important for a company to adapt fast to new circumstances caused by the market. As a result business plans might at times be adapted and affect the current planning. We strive to be transparent about why changes happen and we are sorry if we didn’t convey this properly. We apologize that we did not meet expectations in regards to your work experience and appreciate your feedback so we can continuously working to optimize our work environment. We wish you all the best for your future career. Franziska

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Don't be fooled: toxic environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Stylight for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office, and you might make some friends. Sometimes you feel like you're part of something, and the home office in munich looks really nice from afar.

    Cons

    - unstructured, often poor communication - revolves on an intern structure. upon interviewing and hiring, you're promised things that get you on board but then plans magically disappear and you're told that it's a startup so changes happen. but for example, one intern got hired one day and fired the next. - sometimes really cliquish. "management" often seems like they have no idea what they're doing and that they don't like the US office and just want to go back to Munich - it's hard to tell what the culture is supposed to be because they tell you it's a flat hierarchy and that it's cool, but then other management comes in and tells you otherwise

    Continue reading
    Stylight2015-11-09

    Stylight Response

    March 21, 2016HR Manager

    Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We really appreciate your input. This will help us to continue to optimize our work environment. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your internship. As you may have seen during your time here, we want our interns to learn as much as they can and become familiar with a start up environment. At times this asks for a lot of flexibility as business plans might be adapted.We are sorry that you did not feel you were able to address all of those things openly with your direct supervisor and solve them in a timely manner. We hope you will also remember the good times you had here—the team events, the office amenities, the friendships you’ve formed and the learning opportunities that come with working in an intimate office.If you would like to discuss your experience in further detail, please feel free to contact me. I would be happy to answer all your questions and take your recommendations into consideration. We wish you all the best for your future career.Franziska

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 5 reviews