Success Academy Charter Schools Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Success Academy Charter Schools Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Success Academy Charter Schools CEO Eva Moskowitz  (no image)
Eva Moskowitz
427 Ratings
  1. "Little done to support a positive work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids are great, hilarious, fun to be around. Most of the parents understand the workload you're under and coordinate well with you to make you feel as though you're a team helping their child achieve.

    Cons

    - I was rarely personally supported by management with difficulties I faced; whether that be uncomfortable student/parent interactions, advice on how to approach difficult subjects/topics in curriculum, and planning and coordination with grade teams - The adult working culture was very hostile and little was done by management to facilitate positive working environments and communication; this led to a lot of... tension, and thus, even less communication (little things, transitions between classes, how to norm classroom culture w students) -found myself doing way more work than I should have; found myself afraid to ask for help out of fear of a hostile response, or being told to “figure it out,” or being seen as incompetent

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are spreading the teachers way too thin. Whether you don't recognize that the working environment is hostile or do and don't do enough to fix it, it's a huge problem that's taking a toll on the teachers and their abilities to do their jobs.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Run! As fast as you can!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Community Relations Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free snacks! The beautiful smiles on the kiddies

    Cons

    No work-life balance. Will burn you out if you’re a good worker.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-13
  3. Helpful (5)

    "great benefits not so great teacher culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Grade Associate Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great Benefits -No experience in teaching necessary -Ample pay -relocation assistance

    Cons

    -During training they speak immensely on school culture involving the students and community, however one thing they fail to discuss is the teacher culture. -The teacher community isn't as friendly to newcomers as you would hope them to be, it instead feels like something out of a high school tv drama where constant shade is being thrown and no amount of respect is given even when you're doing everything right.... - Leadership tends to get involved far too often to a point of suffocation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Allow the grade teams to interact and carry out their work without leadership constantly being on their backs. -Start treating AT's with a bit more respect

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Company does not value employees or students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sprint Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, time off for major holidays + additional PTO

    Cons

    Negative outlook, little room for growth, no bonuses, long hours for pay, experience largely depends on where you get placed

    Advice to Management

    Show respect for your employees and treat them as if you actually care about their wellbeing and mental health.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Lead by Harassment and Intimidation of Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The kids are the only pro

    Cons

    Pure harassment and intimidation culture by leadership

    Advice to Management

    The CEO who commented on a recent review better wake up and have spies in buildings because the way some so called leaders treat their staff is disgusting. When you have multiple teachers quit within 2 months you have a serious problem. Hostile work environment...lawyers will be at your door soon enough. WAKE UP! Already being sued for millions.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not Respected as School Psychologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - School Psychologist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with children, access to resources

    Cons

    Schools psychs are not treated as knowledgable professionals, mental health is not valued, emphasis on testing, children with disabilities are retained at a high rate, pay is low for the amount of time you put in, high turn over, staff dissatisfaction. Success Academy does not pay school psychologists for their summer vacation if they inform the school that they are not returning, which creates an incentive to lie... and quit on the first day back. Teachers, for some reason, are paid over the summer regardless of whether they are returning or not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the whole child-- right now the emphasis is on test scores. You are holding children over at an alarming rate, which research shows is detrimental to their future. Social emotional development should be prioritized. Studies show that when you focus on social emotional learning, test scores go up! Also, you should pay school psychologists over the summer, even if they are not returning. That is our... vacation pay that we earned. It is unfair to treat us so poorly.

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-06
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Leadership is rotten from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    We get to do great work for a great cause

    Cons

    Everything that isn't in the PROS section

    Advice to Management

    You are not more important than the people who work for you. Here's a scenario. I have a meeting at 2:00 p.m. I have a room reserved. I need to have that meeting. My boss is in that room. She literally makes me wait 25 minutes with no regard to my schedule or my meetings. Does this seem petty of me to write this? Yes. Absolutely. Is it indicative of a major problem at Success. Yes. Upper... Management has no idea how much those who work for them cannot stand the sight of them. This is across the board. These are people who are condescending. These are people who don't care. These are people who think that when there is massive turnover (and there is M-A-S-S-I-V-E turnover) that it's not their fault... the people who leave just can't "hack it here." The work environment needs to change. The culture has to change. Or the amazing work that is being done for these students in our community will be for nothing.

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-11-06
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic culture...Stay far far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One would think the mission but the culture here is so toxic

    Cons

    Where do I begin. First they hire incompetent people (who clearly shouldn’t be there) for senior roles,.. and these people never get into trouble or get fired for even the most egregious of mistakes. So imagine working for someone like that and getting blamed for their mistakes. And the workload is insane with no room for errors. As a result the top heavy incompetence really drives out talented and hard working... lower level employees. And they wonder why they have such high turnover..... It’s an unstable environment with heavy budget cuts across schools and layoffs not too long ago at the network office. The culture here is so toxic and divisive that employees are trying not to get in trouble for small infractions. People are forced to tread very carefully around management so as not to get into trouble over the smallest things. People literally quit all the time. And yes ... don’t trust the reviews here. They were artificially inflated by blunt forced brigading of untrue high star reviews by employees, who were asked to do it by their managers and upper management Stay away. You may be drawn to their mission but the consequences of working here will take a severe toll on your mental and emotional well being

    Show More
    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-25
  9. "Science Lead Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time

    Pros

    Only having to teacher one subject, I was in a homeroom, its a lot more work. Dont have to pay for lunch and snacks When your placed in the right school with the right team enjoyable work days staff extremely supportive leadership supportive

    Cons

    Having to cover lunch and recess Prep of materials can be difficult when things take long to ship managment doesnt always address problems in work place accordingly

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-25
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Horrible Manager and Bad Company Morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assessment Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Success Academy Charter Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You will gain a lot of experience really fast. - The teachers that you work with are really nice people.

    Cons

    - The company thrives on overworking their teachers and other employees. Expect to work 7-7. - The students genuinely look sad and I don't blame them, they are in school for nearly 10 hrs a day. - You get no overtime pay even though you are working 12 hrs a day. - The Network people are some of the most incompetent group of people I have ever met. They will give out assignments right before the deadline and not... take any responsibility for their mistakes. I once had an issue with the online system and after asking Network for a week straight to fix it, I ended up figuring it out myself. - Your Principal (Senior Leader) may be very young and inexperienced. I had a Senior Leader that was only 27 and it was awful working for her. She micromanaged everything and had no empathy or respect at all for her employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Never put the data above the kids. The majority of people who work here, come because of the kids. They want to see the kids happy and healthy. While working at Success I felt like the kids did not even matter, it was more about the results. Also take care of your employees, 60 hr weeks is not the solution to your poor management.

    Success Academy Charter Schools2019-10-23
Found 702 reviews