SugarCRM Reviews

Updated 21 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
83%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
SugarCRM CEO Craig Charlton (no image)
Craig Charlton
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in the office and an international community(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great place for anyone with a growth mindset and initiative(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains transitioning into the enterprise space, product development has not kept up pace with the market(in 12 reviews)

  • "Awful upper management; Directors to C-level(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great journey underway, feedback from the field they like the new direction,"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great vision, expanding the platform and tech stack, removing barriers internally and externally, can-do culture

    Cons

    People thinking about the past

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Good Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SugarCRM full-time

    Pros

    Good Management Good Leadership Flexible working hours and excellent location

    Cons

    Weak product unable to compete with the major CRM player on the market

    SugarCRM2018-06-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Can't complain"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Partnership Success Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product and colleagues. Ideal job, increased responsibilities came at the right time, as did a fantastic new boss who I have good synergy with. Flexibility to work from home or at business lounges throughout the country. Regular trips to Munich and Cupertino to see colleagues. We are kept informed with company news and given regular incentives to perform better. I also have a wonderful mentor, who I do believe can help me achieve career progression and actually listens to my personal concerns.

    Cons

    No Cambridge office anymore, so having to find coffee shops to work out with other Cambridge-based colleague when weeks are quiet, travel-wise, else I go stir crazy working 5 days a week from home.

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2017-06-15
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Dissappointing continuous change of company stategy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SugarCRM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sugar were making moved into the Enterprise market but then stupidly changed direction and laid off a huge number of staff worldwide

    Cons

    I'm not convinced that they will recover from their bad mistakes

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2017-05-26
  5. "Sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive Director in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at SugarCRM

    Pros

    Brilliant perks. Wellness benefits, frequent overseas travel and well stocked kitchen with food and drink facilities.

    Cons

    None. Exec team is very strong with lots of care taken over the needs of employees. Very fast growing company with huge potential.

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2016-10-11
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Global Restructure October 2016"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at SugarCRM full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay and Bonuses very good Fantastic Product

    Cons

    Loads of new hires (genuinely very capable people) at the end of Q2 after a poor quarter.... End of Q3, huge global redundancies of 80+ people including all of the good people you hired whilst retaining the deadwood. Makes sense. Terrible management akin to no management. This is fine if you have hired well historically, which Sugar hasn't. Complete lack of forward thinking or strategic vision for the company. Who knew it would take time to crack the enterprise market? Pretty much any ten year old boy with a PC.

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2016-10-08
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Get it together guys - big opportunity needs to be executed!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM

    Pros

    Best CRM product on the market. Have recently hired some true rock stars who would be able to improve the companies fortunes if given the opportunity. Many people have ambitions of success.

    Cons

    Lots of ambition but no strategic vision on how to get to a position of success. Munich management is abysmal (that is an understatement), leadership seems to be something other people (outside of the company) do. Management likewise seems to be alien. Marketing needs to be led locally - the initiatives from the head office are embarrassingly dated (1980/90s) and there is zero understanding of modern marketing techniques like content marketing - when sales slides state that 70% of the buying decision is made before the customer makes contact with a vendor and at the same time there is no content strategy, it makes you wonder what the leadership team are doing! Commission structure is the most confusing thing, and pretty poor.

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2016-07-29

    SugarCRM Response

    October 6, 2016Manager, Talent Acquisition Programs

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is valuable to us.

  8. Helpful (23)

    "Graveyard of ambition"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SugarCRM full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Made some good friends. Few but good all the same. Reasonably well paid. They gave me a Mac laptop. Not much else.

    Cons

    Where to start...hmmm.... So many people with a thin veneer of knowledge. Just a sea of ineptitude with the product at times like some giant Titanic sinking in the midst of that. Made ridiculous promises about floating business when there was more chance of me being a pig farming astronaut with three legs. Never a realistic ambition when to be honest they would've been better served probably being acquired by another business. Moving on, the Sales team is a revolving door. So much talent left the company to do better elsewhere. I'm not surprised. With the compensation plans changing regularly and some challenging sales targets it makes even the most competent sales professional doubt if this is then or of it is realistic. The product itself has a number of fundamental weaknesses when compared with direct competitors and this was always a challenge when competing against them in sales opportunities. With that and the careful steering around bugs and general display bizarrities that occurred for time to time it was to put it mildly very much like a swan on the lake at times, with the legs paddling 10000mph to keep looking graceful. The HR team deserve a special mention here as they are excellent at providing little help when asked, but very good at sending useful/useless tips about random things I care little about. Furthermore as the focus on HQ I don't really care about cakes and dog walking and all that other rubbish. I don't like cake. I don't like dogs much either. I don't hold out much hope for this company. Maybe there are a few good people left there. But not many. Anybody decent had already left so you'll be joining a company which very much feels like you're turning up late to a party that's already happened....except you weren't invited, the booze has been drunk, there's crap food left and you're very much on your own in a cold cold room with the atmosphere of a morgue.

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2015-04-06
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Individual teams are good and pleasure to work in. The wider company is disorganized, unstructured and lacks focus."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hard Working Global Working Strive to be better (even if this is unstructured) Innovative Some fantastic people to work with Some amazing talent Product has potential to be fantastic

    Cons

    C-Suite are not focused on long-term strategy/not communicated No communication about changes, change management is non-existent Poor benefits and pay-rises To many managers, not enough functional staff Hard to get promotions, training or progression Poor moral from some groups due to issues Lots of internal politics

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2013-01-31
  10. "I feel truly valued and supported."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in Cupertino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SugarCRM full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've always felt like a valued member of the "Sugar Family" but never more than during this uncertain time (Sheltering-In-Place). It was very easy for the company at large to move to a virtual workplace. However, as the receptionist with no one to greet or a facility to help maintain; I was a little nervous about the potential of furlough or lay off. Instead, I've been given projects from a variety of teams to keep things flowing, trained in whole new areas, and assured that I don't have to worry about losing my job while I'm the only one supporting the family right now. Non-Covid related; we have an excellent medical/dental/vision plan; fantastic on site perks like snacks and chair massage. Smiles abound from staff at all levels, including the Chiefs. Everyone seems to want to see others succeed; and often go out of their way to help one another.

    Cons

    Sometimes, it feels like the same folks keep winning the awards. I'm not sure if that's because they really are that awesome (quite likely) or perhaps that there aren't enough folks filing CORE Value Cards to more evenly distribute the kudos. (Perhaps a bit of both).

    Continue reading
    SugarCRM2020-04-21
Found 188 reviews