Sun Life Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 10 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sun Life CEO Dean Connor
Dean Connor
643 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Inefficient and manual processes"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Basingstoke, England

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many great people which creates a friendly working environment. Good work life balance and benefits good at the time.

    Cons

    Much of the work consists of extremely manual and tedious processes which should have been updated and automated years ago.

    Sun Life2015-07-20
  2. "Good workplace"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Support Analyst in Kuala Lumpur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    -Nice working environment -Friendly colleagues even different department -Good culture

    Cons

    -Of course there are some cons but it is not really that bad. Just day-to-day small problem during working.

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2020-05-11
  3. "Good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - OSS Tech 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life

    Pros

    Not toxic work environment and I learned a lot.

    Cons

    Actually there's no cons in this company.

    Sun Life2020-05-08
  4. "Great Company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects are assigned to you; collaborative work environment; lots of networking opportunities

    Cons

    Sometimes approvals can take long (nature of large corporations)

    Sun Life2020-04-08
  5. "Amazing people and relaxed environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Facilities Coordinator in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed Helpful staff Cooperative work environment Friday free snacks! Great work life balance

    Cons

    there are no big concerns with working here. If you put the extra effort in, there are many chances to advance in the field

    Sun Life2019-12-16
  6. "Lots of great learning opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Waterloo, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great working environment.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any really!

    Sun Life2019-12-04
  7. "Great life work/life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment and opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Start salary is typically low compared to the industry standards

    Sun Life2019-11-29
  8. "Overall Great Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly Work Environment - Achievable Targets - Work / Life Balance

    Cons

    - Unorganized Structural Changes (confusion on end goal)

    Continue reading
    Sun Life2019-10-02
  9. "Sell insurance and solicit mutual fund investments"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Manila, Manila

    I worked at Sun Life full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and pleasant working environment

    Cons

    No basic salary or any sort of allowance

    Sun Life2019-08-30
  10. "Great culture, not a lot of internal opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sun Life full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture - Work/life balance and flexibility - Community involvement - Makes change happen, and fast! - Leaders are easy to get in touch with

    Cons

    - Agile work environment makes it difficult to get to know people and create relationships - Particularly in HR, there is not a lot of movement or promotion opportunities making it difficult to advance in your career in a timely fashion (better to come in experienced at a senior role as there is not a lot of opportunity for less senior roles)

    Sun Life2019-08-29
Found 107 reviews