SunEdison Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SunEdison Reviews

Updated 9 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 429 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
SunEdison CEO Ahmad R. Chatila
Ahmad R. Chatila
262 Ratings
Pros
  • "Enjoyed working with friendly people with a great passion for renewable energy(in 31 reviews)

  • "Great people, good office space(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management led the company to bankruptcy(in 15 reviews)

  • "senior management knee-capped by bad policies, heavy credit burden exasperated by bad financial practices(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Failed for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time

    Pros

    Never worked with a smarter bunch of colleagues.

    Cons

    Upper management led the company to bankruptcy.

    Advice to Management

    Too late now

    SunEdison2017-02-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SunEdison full-time

    Pros

    good people, work from home if needed

    Cons

    lack of organization and procedures

    Advice to Management

    work hard and listen to the people that really work every day

    SunEdison2016-05-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overly Ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are very committed to the company and spend long hours to ensure projects are completed correctly. Can-do attitude enables the company to succeed where others would have given up.

    Cons

    Senior management very disconnected to day to day business of the company, with a focus on non-core activities and trying (mostly failing) to keep Wall Street happy. Lack of capital significantly hampering growth. Make senior leaders accountable for spectacular failures of M&A strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the core business of development and discontinue the continual flow of overly ambitious initiatives on non-core items.

    SunEdison2015-11-11
  4. "Special Operations Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SunEdison full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fast charging and ambitious with their goals.

    Cons

    lost focus of the core business model and management style that lends itself to inefficiency

    Advice to Management

    adopt a collaborative approach

    SunEdison2019-06-09
  5. "Sun Edison Project Managament Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SunEdison full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good office space.

    Cons

    Company is bankrupt, tough to see this happen.

    SunEdison2019-04-09
  6. "Was great....until they went bankrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, intelligent people who cared about the environment and making a difference.

    Cons

    Upper management at SunEdison was careless, irresponsible, didn't care about employees, didn't know how to run a company. Went bankrupt after trying to go public.

    SunEdison2019-05-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great...Before I Got There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Was great before they were acquired by SunEdison. Wish I could've been around when it was First Wind. Camaraderie with co-workers was good but took a while for long time workers to accept newbies.

      Cons

      Went bankrupt so I couldn't exactly stay.

      SunEdison2019-03-29
    • "Decent Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Field Service Technician in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The size of the company and benefits. Pay was average

      Cons

      The lack of leadership from upper management

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees

      SunEdison2019-04-01
    • "management is critical to a company's growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at SunEdison full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      lots of great people

      Cons

      management had no idea how to run a company

      SunEdison2019-04-16
    • "Was ok"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at SunEdison full-time

        Pros

        Pay, benefits, the people there.

        Cons

        Poorly run company, now bankrupt.

        SunEdison2019-03-07
      Found 429 reviews