Sunrise Senior Living Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sunrise Senior Living Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Deep dive thoughtful orientation process, exceptional team members, exceptional Vice Presidents (they don't come better than Giselle, Carla or Lisa )(in 53 reviews)

  • "Good place to learn how to interact with the elderly and vulnerable(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Coordinators think your job is your life like you have to work overtime whether you want to or not(in 57 reviews)

  • "Short Staffed for weekend shifts(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A care company that really cares for staff and residents alike."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Community Relations ( DCR) in Winchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Given the tools and training to do your job. A culture that gives you credit when you have done well. They pay well and support a work and life balance.

    Cons

    That I left to soon. :(

    Advice to Management

    Give top performers a chance to come back and contribute to the success they helped build

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-09-27
  2. "Lovely Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activities Assistant in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Genuine recognition - company discounts and benefits are good - pay is decent (competitive in my area)

    Cons

    - management can be stuffy/ snobby

    Advice to Management

    Come back down to earth a bit.. and stop making staff feel guilty for not being able to do more than their fair share of the work to pick up others slack

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-09-22
  3. "Love the company, but recruitment takes weeks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Bookham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The residents of course, that’s why I do a job that I love.

    Cons

    Long shifts , but that doesn’t really bother me...

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your HR/ recruitment department, they were not particularly helpful towards me. I gave my DBS online password to them three times , they seem a little unorganised and not in a rush to do anything. Especially frustrating if you are out of work and you are relying on them once you’ve been offered the job.

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-02-04
  4. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beaconsfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Generous holiday allowance. Private healthcare.

    Cons

    Managers do as they wish with staff

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-01-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Edstaston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get more then the living wage the housekeeping team are friendly you can ave a laugh the residents are friendly

    Cons

    No sheets to make beds hardly any think to clean with management talk to you like crap careers are moody hardly any staff residents don’t get to go out much like sunrise make out they do some residents not being care for right. Air con never working being made to work in a really hot place

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff right you don’t praise them up enough summer of sunrise never happens keep people happy you were at the bottom once aswell you know you haven’t always been a manger so don’t make out like you are better cheer up a bit

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-09
  6. "Poor management who couldnt care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medication Technician in Mobberley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    looking after the residents & getting to know them

    Cons

    management who couldnt care less about staff or resident relations, consistently short staffed and always struggling to recruit new staff. Management talk down to staff and treat them rubbish, favouritism between certain managers and senior carers. not always being able to look after residents properly

    Advice to Management

    treat your staff better and then you wouldnt have people leaving all the time

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-21

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    December 3, 2018

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you - The Sunrise Team

  7. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a care company that doesn’t care!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-ordinatior in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice environment to work in.

    Cons

    General managers very poor - scared to manage due to problems with recruiting staff. Staff spend too much time outside smoking and then they come back in to deliver care smelling of smoke. Care staff on mobile phones when they should be looking after residents. Face fits environment. Many unprofessional relationships going on within the homes. Which adds to the face fitting criteria. Some staff deliberately don’t... clock in so that they cannot be managed for not working their official hours - not addressed.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow your managers to actually manage and manage the managers who slip under the radar and get away with doing nothing. Senior managers always fire fighting. Too many carers not following health and safely rules - an accident waiting to happen. Food preparation poor.

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-10-17

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    October 18, 2018

    Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team

  8. "Avoid if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HCA in Solihull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents are lovely and staff are helpful

    Cons

    Bad management, don't know how to run the place, no care about workers too much pressure on HCA staff, glad I am able to leave soon. What ever you do,never happy, very low staff moral and not listening to any concerns.

    Advice to Management

    Please don't sit in office, do listen to staff concern and act upon it. Management should do once a week HCA job to realise what staffs go through

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-03

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    November 5, 2018

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Weybridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have personally only been working at Sunrise for almost 7 weeks as a part time housekeeper. Although still newish I felt very welcome from the start, lovely team members, kind and considerate management. Although the job can be very demanding and physical at times I couldn't be happier. I would recommend sunrise to anyone as good place to work

    Cons

    Pay could be better and more staff

    Advice to Management

    non

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-08-01
  10. "HR Team Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Beaconsfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Struggling to find any, however the company is fairly generous when it comes to social events.

    Cons

    Sunrise is a very political place to be, especially within the HR functions, new key members are been paid a lot of money to not rock the boat, whilst other senior members of the team who have been there years are desperately clinging onto the sinking ship in an undignified manner and at the expense of others. These people are not competent and some terrible mistakes have been made due to them elevating their... position. They have lost some amazing talent due to this old school boy network approach. The talentless in the HR team are managed to keep their roles as they don’t know any better. Very old fashioned HR practices.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to look carefully at each senior member of the HR team. Do not let the wool be pulled over your eyes.

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-06-02
Found 26 reviews