Sunrise Senior Living Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sunrise Senior Living Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
64%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Sunrise Senior Living CEO Chris Winkle
Chris Winkle
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "It's a very good working environment and have excellent team members(in 45 reviews)

  • "Strong culture and work environment(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Coordinators think your job is your life like you have to work overtime whether you want to or not(in 60 reviews)

  • "Hours are based on how much care is needed and that often leaves us short staffed(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A care company that really cares for staff and residents alike."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Community Relations ( DCR) in Winchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Given the tools and training to do your job. A culture that gives you credit when you have done well. They pay well and support a work and life balance.

    Cons

    That I left to soon. :(

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-09-27
  2. "Lovely Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Activities Assistant in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Genuine recognition - company discounts and benefits are good - pay is decent (competitive in my area)

    Cons

    - management can be stuffy/ snobby

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-09-22
  3. "Love the company, but recruitment takes weeks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Assistant in Bookham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The residents of course, that’s why I do a job that I love.

    Cons

    Long shifts , but that doesn’t really bother me...

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2019-02-04
  4. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beaconsfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Generous holiday allowance. Private healthcare.

    Cons

    Managers do as they wish with staff

    Sunrise Senior Living2019-01-09
  5. "Poor management who couldnt care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medication Technician in Mobberley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    looking after the residents & getting to know them

    Cons

    management who couldnt care less about staff or resident relations, consistently short staffed and always struggling to recruit new staff. Management talk down to staff and treat them rubbish, favouritism between certain managers and senior carers. not always being able to look after residents properly

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-21

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    December 3, 2018

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you - The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Edstaston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get more then the living wage the housekeeping team are friendly you can ave a laugh the residents are friendly

    Cons

    No sheets to make beds hardly any think to clean with management talk to you like crap careers are moody hardly any staff residents don’t get to go out much like sunrise make out they do some residents not being care for right. Air con never working being made to work in a really hot place

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It’s a care company that doesn’t care!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Co-ordinatior in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice environment to work in.

    Cons

    General managers very poor - scared to manage due to problems with recruiting staff. Staff spend too much time outside smoking and then they come back in to deliver care smelling of smoke. Care staff on mobile phones when they should be looking after residents. Face fits environment. Many unprofessional relationships going on within the homes. Which adds to the face fitting criteria. Some staff deliberately don’t clock in so that they cannot be managed for not working their official hours - not addressed.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-10-17

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    October 18, 2018

    Please know that we take all concerns seriously and would like to learn more about your experience at Sunrise. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with further details so we may follow up. Thank you. - The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  8. "Avoid if you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HCA in Solihull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents are lovely and staff are helpful

    Cons

    Bad management, don't know how to run the place, no care about workers too much pressure on HCA staff, glad I am able to leave soon. What ever you do,never happy, very low staff moral and not listening to any concerns.

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-11-03

    Sunrise Senior Living Response

    November 5, 2018

    We are sorry to hear about your experience at our community. We take your comments very seriously and would like to speak with you further. Please email Glassdoor@sunriseseniorliving.com with your contact information so that we can reach out to you. Thank you, The Sunrise Team

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Weybridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have personally only been working at Sunrise for almost 7 weeks as a part time housekeeper. Although still newish I felt very welcome from the start, lovely team members, kind and considerate management. Although the job can be very demanding and physical at times I couldn't be happier. I would recommend sunrise to anyone as good place to work

    Cons

    Pay could be better and more staff

    Continue reading
    Sunrise Senior Living2018-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Okay to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Solihull, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sunrise Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Good management and helpful staff

    Cons

    More work and less what care staff does.

    Sunrise Senior Living2018-03-26
Found 25 reviews