Superdrug Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Superdrug Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Superdrug CEO Peter Macnab
Peter Macnab
216 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "have to upsell "star buys" at the till constantly- get no reward or recognition for doing so(in 34 reviews)

  • "Long hours, hard to maintain work/life balance(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I’ve worked here for 3 years now, the store I work with are great. They allowed me to come back after my first year at university which was so helpful, however I didn’t go back to my original job role. I’ve worked across all departments and they trained me up to complete refunds and price reductions. To begin with I had to do whatever shifts I was given, over time I’ve been able to negotiate shifts but they are... fairly easy going with hours and shift swaps dependant upon contracted hours. Job is fairly easy, standard cashier and shop floor work. Good company to work for if working as a sales assistant.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some staff can be miserable. Sometimes it can be awkward to get holidays when they’ve all been booked up, however not always a massive problem.

    Superdrug2018-04-10
  2. "Really good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor 

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time

    Pros

    Staff are lovely, nice environment to be in.

    Cons

    Non that I know of

    Superdrug2019-10-17
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Buyer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, fun place to work, where hard dork and results are rewarded

    Cons

    Systems are not quite the best, and some approaches to retail are 'old school'

    Superdrug2019-10-12
  4. "Enjoyable workplace for active minds & Energetic bodies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operative/Picker in Dunstable, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Superdrug full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance Opportunities to Learn & Progress Clean & well organized warehouse Friendly environment Excellent canteen facilities

    Cons

    Not the best for pay rates

    Advice to Management

    You're doing well thus far as I can see.

    Superdrug2019-10-07
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going Flexible Team Effort Quick to settle in Nice uniform

    Cons

    Silly expectations (beauty cards) Hours, depending on shifts

    Superdrug2019-10-03
  6. "Superdrug is a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Apprentice in Gainsborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours friendly staff and good discount

    Cons

    can get a bit repetitive

    Superdrug2019-09-30
  7. "It’s okay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount Other staff are friendly and fun Store management actually work hard

    Cons

    Too unrealistic targets to meet Lots of pressure on delivering those targets Area management aren’t very friendly

    Advice to Management

    Be nicer maybe

    Superdrug2019-10-10
  8. "Forced to sell, sell, sell."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was in a good team of hard-working individuals with good team work.

    Cons

    Told to force customers into signing up to loyalty cards, given warnings for not selling mobile sims at the till and forced into competition with other staff and stores. Team members are under immense pressure to keep up sales.

    Advice to Management

    Re-think the pressure you put on staff your everyday.

    Superdrug2019-10-10
  9. "Great first time employment option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in London, England

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The timing was great, being a student I could only work weekends. The shift rota system and the management's cooperation allowed me to work flexibly

    Cons

    The wages could be slightly higher

    Superdrug2019-10-03
  10. "Ok for part time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superdrug part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Generally a friendly place to work -Decent staff discount and also for family/friends -Shifts were short (4hrs) which suited me as a student -Perks like staff competitions/prize draws (I won a few vouchers and hampers) -Was fun around Christmas time when employees would dress up etc. -Some overtime available if needed -I enjoyed serving regular customers who would recognise me and have a... chat -Opportunities to work your way up if that's what you wanted -Recognition for hitting sales targets/selling lots of Star Buys etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    -I was always the youngest employee in the store during my two years at Superdrug (started when I was 16) so I was often treated differently because of my age even though I felt more mature than half of the people I worked with - Working on New Year's Day (not every Superdrug is open but mine was) - we were the only shop on the street that was open so there were little to no customers all day - Managers changing... my shifts without informing me then wondering why I wasn't at work -Pay is low and there are no bonuses, even when working bank holidays -Could get quite boring, particularly on Sundays when the shop was quiet -Managers definitely had their favourites and would let them get away with things like not wearing the correct uniform etc. - something I would get told off for if I did the same -Had to ask customers an excessive amount of questions at the till which did not always go down well

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees equally and advise employees as soon as possible about changes to shifts.

    Superdrug2019-09-18
Found 612 reviews