Superunion Reviews

Updated 29 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Superunion CEO Jim Prior
Jim Prior
19 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice colleagues who are passionate about branding(in 4 reviews)

  • "With strong leadership and a clear ambition, Superunion is a very exiting place to be right now(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. COVID-19

    "A new kind of agency"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superunion part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Two years after the merger that created Superunion, it has already established a genuine, unique culture and has become the go-to place for creatives thanks to the ambition, talent and enthusiasm of its employees. In these difficult Covid days, the management team has clearly worked hard to protect the wellbeing of staff, whilst making sure that everyone feels valued, and acknowledges that employees have a range of difficult circumstances outside of work. Employee feedback is sought frequently and policies have adapted accordingly. A sustained effort from the social committee has kept everybody 'together' whilst working from home. Measures were put in place, early on in the Covid crisis, to ensure the continued financial stability of the company which have proved effective. The future seems bright for us at Superunion. Whilst I only joined within the last year - so have a relatively short amount of experience of working here - there appears to be very little of the office politics and egos seen in many agencies and employees work in a caring, supportive environment (albeit virtual for the time being). There is no sense of 'saying one thing but meaning another' and, for the most part, people are pretty cheerful and optimistic. The trophy shelf is enviable - testament to the great client list and high standard of work delivered. There is a wide range of employee benefits on offer beyond the standard package. The barista coffee machine has been fun and rewarding to master. Decent snacks available if you don't have time to go next door to Waitrose. Clerkenwell is a great area to work in. Chances are most people will already know lots of people working nearby.

    Cons

    There are a LOT of internal meetings which can be distracting at busy times. The open plan office is fun, funky and comfortable but can get noisy at times. As a WPP company, some decisions are taken at a group level which are not always the best ones for Superunion at a local level. Some of the IT is a bit clunky.

    Continue reading

    Superunion Response

    June 16, 2020Senior HR Manager

    Thank you so much for your comments. It's always great to hear positive feedback and great to hear our peoples' personal experiences of working with Superunion. We are always open to constructive feedback and to review any ways in which we can make the Company a better place to work.

  2. "The place to do your best work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superunion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Inspiring creative talent at the top of their game - Good people that care about each other and their clients - On the up

    Cons

    - High standards can slow things down

    Superunion Response

    February 27, 2020HR Manager

    We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time working Superunion! Thank you for your kind review!


  3. "Great agency"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services in London, England

    I have been working at Superunion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely family culture - very friendly colleagues Really inspiring creative work Hire very talented designers who are great to work with

    Cons

    No major cons except would be good to reward more

    Continue reading
  4. "Exciting time to be at Superunion"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superunion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An exciting time to be at Superunion, a range of big names and new business

    Cons

    Superunion is still finding its feet - will be ironed out over time I suspect. Like everywhere else, you get out what you put in.

    Superunion Response

    February 3, 2020

    Thank you for such a positive review. We're excited about the year ahead too and always keen to understand the ways in which we can iron things out and make Superunion better so do share your ideas with your line manager or with any of the team on Superunion Works...

  5. "Probably the most interesting agency in London right now."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superunion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people who work at this agency are in fact quite optimistic and creative.. That is not smoke blown up you. It's suprisingly pervasive. (not the snark you get elsewhere)

    Cons

    Noise. Typical open plan office. Beautiful, artistic place worthy of magazine photo shoots. But open plan office noise.

    Continue reading

    Superunion Response

    February 3, 2020

    Thanks so much for taking the time to write this. We're constantly looking to improve our new joiner experience and are investing even more time and energy into our tech this year. Also interested to hear your views on our music and noise - again, we're looking at creating more dedicated 'noise free' spaces to think and work...

  6. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of Teamwork & Internal Competition"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superunion full-time

    Pros

    Quite clearly one of the best companies in the field.

    Cons

    A difficult work environment made worse by ambitious colleges and lack of career progression.

    Continue reading

    Superunion Response

    December 5, 2019Senior HR Manager

    We are sorry that your experience at Superunion did not match our intention of being the best place you ever worked at. We are taking your feedback and addressing all the places we missed in delivering a great experience for you. If you would like to share more about your experiences, please contact our HR department so that we can set up a time to talk. Thank you again for the feedback. It helps us make Superunion a better place and best of luck in your future endeavours.

  7. "Incredibly exciting place right now"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Superunion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    With strong leadership and a clear ambition, Superunion is a very exiting place to be right now!

    Cons

    There are still some elements of day to day operations to be sorted out but no more than any other agency.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Unified in name only"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Superunion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, Studio, Friday drinks and some people

    Cons

    They say 90% of mergers fail and I don't know who thought it would be a good idea to smash five agencies together all at the same time. In 18 months the agency has won a ton of awards, and things look ok from the outside. But internally there are huge divisions and so much politics. The Partners have commandeered all creative leadership positions, CCO, ECD and most of the CD roles. Lambie-Nairn still operates as an independent strategy agency and communicate poorly with everyone at the agency. Client services is a mess, no process, no leadership and again terrible communication. The reason the agency has won so many awards is by submitting to everything under the sun; spending god knows how much instead of investing in talent. There is no growth on any of the digital accounts and have poorly invested in this area. Half the team have walked out the door, and I'm surprised if they make any money.

    Continue reading

    Superunion Response

    December 5, 2019Senior HR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon the environment we provide our employees. We are sorry for the experience you detailed in your review, as it is not consistent with Superunions culture. If you would like to discuss any of your points further, please do not hesitate to reach out to our HR department. We wish you the best of luck in your next chapter.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Badly managed by someone that has no idea. Serious weak link."

    1.0
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Superunion

    Pros

    If you like free breakfast? That is the pro. Or free booze to compensate for the under resourced creatives. Using juniors to ‘churn and burn’ award winning work. Shame on you. Seriously.

    Cons

    None. Unless you are attracted to fake conversations on a friday. With free booze.. standard WPP. 💩

    Continue reading

    Superunion Response

    October 8, 2019Senior HR Manager

    We are very sorry to hear this about your experience at Superunion. We value all our current and former employees’ feedback so we would be happy to learn more about what specifically it was that was not positive during your time here and how we can improve. Please feel free to contact HR - Gilly.woolhouse@superunion.com, we look forward to hearing from you.

  10. "Decent company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Superunion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Breath of clients at the company

    Cons

    Not good work environment overall

Found 35 reviews