Support.com Employee Reviews about "paid training"

Updated Sep 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 of over 1,128 reviews

2.7
32%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Support.com President and CEO Lance Rosenzweig
Lance Rosenzweig
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home, friendly people when you need to reach out(in 644 reviews)

  • "paid training that isn't saying much(in 40 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There are no raises or promotions offered in this role(in 113 reviews)

  • "Yes management, we know this is a work from home position(in 66 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "paid training"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Love working here!!

      Sep 29, 2019 - Support Tech 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Working from home is the biggest pro for me when working for this company. -Paid Training -Pay

      Cons

      -No cons for me; love everything about job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Support.com Response

      Support.com Leadership Team

      Thank you for your feedback. We are in constant review of our compensation and work diligently to provide Pay-for- Performance plans that are achievable for all performing employees. Thank you for your continued support of the SDC organization! We appreciate you!

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Could use more tools for agents

      Sep 11, 2019 - Customer Service Agent, Technical Support in Fort Walton Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Plenty of hours usually, consistent pay, and thorough paid training.

      Cons

      They don't have good tools to help customers. Constantly put in positions where the agents can't help. Complicated systems in the tools they do have. If attempting to work here don't get used to being part of a team as changes take place every week to every month.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Support.com Response

      Support.com Leadership Team

      Thank you for your feedback. Our tools, which are provided by our client(s) are the most up to date tools available, and while complicated in the beginning, can be overcome with practice. We do provide feedback to our client(s) so that they may continue to evolve with their tool offerings. We have limited the number of team changes an employee will have in their current environment, so thank you for your feedback, we do make changes based on information received. We wish you well in your new endeavors.

    3. The latest conversations about Tech

      Join the conversation on

      Tech

      1y

      a 

      Sales Engineer

      Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

      373

      158 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      They were awesome

      Aug 5, 2019 - Technical Support Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid training Room to grow Wonderful staff Straight forward job

      Cons

      no downsides I will go back someday.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Support.com Response

      Support.com Leadership Team

      Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are having a great experience!

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't do it!!

      May 14, 2019 - Remote Support Tech RST 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      paid training that isn't saying much

      Cons

      not worth your time, horrible experience

      3 people found this review helpful

      Support.com Response

      Support.com Leadership Team

      I am very sorry you do not feel your experience was successful. We wish you well in your new endeavors.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      If you are desperate for a temporary job then this will do.

      Mar 29, 2019 - Remote Services Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid training. I basically used the 4 weeks of paid training to earn money while I found a real job. Their pay is a joke and a slap in the face to their employees.

      Cons

      Pay is too low. No raises. Outsources jobs to India that could be done in America. Trainers read from a script and when it comes to being tech savvy are wildly underwhelming.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Support.com Response

      Support.com Leadership Team

      Thank you for your comments, but they are not accurate. We do not outsource any of our work, as it is all US based. All trainers are technically savvy and trained to present material in an engaging manner.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a good place to work.

      Feb 23, 2019 - Remote Services Technician in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid training. Regularly scheduled days off.

      Cons

      The pay ($9.25/hr, $10.25 after 90 days) and scheduling are terrible. There are no raises, ever. You get a chance to earn "pay for performance" but it's not much money and since it's considered "bonus" money it's taxed at a higher rate than your regular pay. This is the same issues with the $1000 bonus they offer you after 90 days - it gets taxed at a high rate. Plus if you miss working for ANY reason in the first 90 days, even for a couple of hours, you will not get the bonus. So if you have to go to the doctor's, pick your kid up at school, have a power failure etc - they don't care. You will not get your bonus. You can earn some lousy commissions for selling new lines of business, but you won't get any other commissions for upselling. They offer medical, dental and vision benefits. If I opted for decent medical benefits for my family, I literally would bring home about $75/week in pay. The dental and vision are reasonable though. You don't get any benefits for the first three months. I worked supporting Comcast. I was scheduled every single weekend and every single holiday. When you do have to work a holiday YOU ONLY GET STRAIGHT PAY. Your scheduled days are fixed so at least you'll know what days you have off. However, there is mandatory overtime so you will be working more hours than you agree to, even if you only want part-time. Also, they "flex schedule" you so they can move the start and end times around on the days that you do work. You do earn paid time off (PTO) but it's so minimal as to be ridiculous. I earned roughly 5 days off paid per year. They also occasionally 'realign" the schedules - meaning they can change your schedule whenever they want Also in no way is this an IT related job. They like to call the employees "technicians" but you won't actually be teaching you much of anything technical. 95% of the training is about services and products and soft skills. It's one of the worst training programs of all time. You'll spend a lot of time doing nothing or reading instruction manuals together with your class. You will be required to answer the phone and follow the prompts on the screen to resolve the customer's issue YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO TROUBLESHOOT on your own for most calls. You just have to do whatever the troubleshooting program tells you. Also, you will deal with some billing issues and you'll be required to help customers that want to change their packages or want a new promotion. Make no mistake about it, you will not be a tech, this is a customer service job. Also, they will tell you that sales aren't that important all through training, but as soon as you get into nesting they will start beating you over the head to make sales. It's an easy job if you have good soft skills. Nobody really cares if you fix any issues, you just need to be warm and friendly and follow the prompts on your screen. If you want to work at home because you have other obligations and you think this might offer you a good work-life balance, please consider it carefully. The company just wants bodies answering phones, they don't pay well, the scheduling is lousy and they don't care about you one bit. This might be a good job if you have no other alternative, but in all honesty, you would have a better work-life balance, pay, and benefits by just going out and getting a job at Walmart.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Support.com Response

      Support.com Leadership Team

      Thank you for your feedback, however, I would like to clarify a few of your comments. Our P4P program is available to all employees, not just a select percentage like many of our competitors. We ask that employees perform at a level expected by our customers. The P4P program is very lucrative and pays out quarterly, again to all who qualify. You are correct about the attendance bonus – it is based on perfect attendance. We do not hide this fact; we are very open and upfront. We do not believe 90 days is a difficult period to maintain perfect attendance and will be paying out our first group on 03/15!!! We’re very excited. Like all bonuses, they are taxed per the IRS guidelines. SDC cannot control or change how monies are taxed. As a newly hired employee you have 12 PAID DAYS per year that you may use. You accrue 5 PTO days and 7 Floating holidays to use as you see fit. We do not recognize specific holidays which is why employees are not paid holiday pay, but again you have 7 paid floating holidays to use when you elect, not when mandated. Our benefits are in line with other employers; SDC picks up the majority of the cost, and there is a portion picked up by the employee as well. However, to say you would bring home $75 per pay period is an extreme exaggeration. We have several plans that will fit many budgets, and it is up to you as the employee to select the plan that best fits your situation. We have excellent benefit offerings. Technical jobs are evolving in our ever-changing environment, and customers want less time on the phones, which prompts us to use technical guided paths. When used correct, these resolve most issues very quickly. We also encourage troubleshooting when you have exhausted the guided path process. We need technically-minded employees and we appreciate them!

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Easy work, but no support system

      Nov 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid training Vacation days Benefits Work from home

      Cons

      Take calls for Comcast They just throw you in after "training" and let you do the thing, might feel like you're drowning at first (didn't even teach us how to not auto answer the next call). They might randomly change your schedule to a schedule you are not able to work.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Support.com Response

      Support.com Leadership Team

      I am sorry you feel you did not receive the support you needed to be successful. We offer 5 weeks of paid comprehensive training and two weeks of nesting prior to the production environment. We do feel our training program is strong. Schedule changes are completed with a minimum of a two-week notice in all programs. Thank you for your feedback.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Customer Service/Tech Support

      Feb 8, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A month of paid training.

      Cons

      Slow, clunky systems and many programs that are required to be downloaded on to your own computer after creating a separate work account on it. Most likely will be working for Comcast or another such company, dealing with frustrated or irate customers, while trying to navigate laggy programs.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Wild ride, great experience, should've left sooner

      Nov 13, 2017 - Solutions Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent break fix experience. Good call control tips from supervisors. Good health care and vacation time benefits. Excellent knowledge base documentation. Two weeks of paid training. Supervisors were always professional.

      Cons

      CEO promised raises after SDC became profitable, then SDC achieved profitability and he said no raises, they need to remain "competitive." Dumped into production with zero call experience or training. Trainers claimed 64-bit operating systems can't get rootkits. Horrendous PCI compliance violations. Forced to upsell hardware warranties to Comcast customers. Outsourced Sutherland sales reps dishonestly misled NortonLive customers. Limited promotion options. Appallingly rude customers. Poor schedule options. Policies inconsistent, varied from supervisor to supervisor. 100 sales reps and 150 SE's fired without warning. Inconsistent, arbitrary QA assessments. Unreasonable employee hardware requirements mandated by out-of-touch call center management.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    11. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Remote Support Technician

      Oct 7, 2017 - Remote Support Tech RST in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Paid training and RST certification. Customer compliments could result in gift cards. Mandatory overtime

      Cons

      Wouldn't work with my schedule of required hours for medically documented treatments. Lack of Supervision and support system in the company and mentoring. No communication between staff and shift leaders. Managers never went over calls and where we could improve our call metrics despite multiple requests.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 40 Reviews

    Work at Support.com? Share Your Experiences

    or