Swarovski Employee Reviews about "sales goals"

Updated 15 Oct 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Swarovski CEO Robert Buchbauer
Robert Buchbauer
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "I had a great retail experience, a good work environment, worked with good people(in 62 reviews)

  • "Generous staff discount & nice environment(in 44 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes very slow and hard to achieve sales goals(in 36 reviews)

  • "Stressful upper management that doesn’t really care about you or your wellbeing(in 33 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "sales goals"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very Decent Retail Sales Job

      15 Oct 2020 - Retail Sales Associate in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clean and beautiful work environment, streamlined management, good benefits for full time employees, extensive and continued training programs, dedicated and motivated teams, sales incentives (though sometimes unclear), good customer relations, and a decent employee discount.

      Cons

      The pay and overall work environment is less 'Luxury' than the brand is looking for. The brand story is very much leaning towards hip and fashionable but luxury items, but this isn't reflected fully in the compensation and the some aspects of work environment. The music and dress code in stores for example, are more fast fashion leaning then luxury high end retailer leaning. I wish the compensation was more competitive to luxury, high end retailers. Additionally, the sales goals are often lofty and unattainable, which can be discouraging and doesn't allow room for growth/promotions/incentives.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Swarovski Response

      HR Communication Consultant

      Dear Colleague Thank you for your review. At Swarovski, we truly value constructive employee and customer feedback, both positive and negative. We are very sorry to hear you felt the pay and work environment are not according to your expectations. We strive to remain competitive in our compensation practices and regularly review our pay rates and benefit structures. Thank you also for sharing your reflection on music and outfit. We will pass it on to the appropriate department. We also encourage you to share your observations, opinions and comments directly with your leader, local or global HR department. We wish you many successes in your career at Swarovski.

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Incompetent Boutique and Retail Management

      22 Jun 2019 - Sales Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The remuneration is very good.

      Cons

      I can only talk about my experience at this company and I really hope there aren't a lot of people with the same unfortunate experience as me. I worked at a Swarovski boutique for almost 5 years and I still suffer from burnout caused by my boutique manager. I did everything for the company including working extra hours on holidays, weekends and days off without adequate paying and I was even told by a district manager that that was expected for someone in my position. I had extra work responsibilities caused by an incompetent and unreliable boutique manager, who didn't care about anything but used her power to abuse her employees and getting things done. We complained about her to our district manager and her response was that we could either get along with it or get out! The company "respect" their management so much they don't even bother to evaluate them effectively. My boutique manager didn't care about the company, she didn't had our employee's schedule or even our sales goals on time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Swarovski Response

      Sr Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At Swarovski, we truly value constructive employee feedback, both positive and negative. Our hope is to make each individual employee, from our stores to our corporate offices, feel that they are valued. We have read your review and your concerns. At Swarovski we have an open-door policy and encourage our employees to reach out to a member of upper management or HR to make sure their concerns and ideas for the betterment of the company are addressed and handled strategically and effectively in a timely matter, as only with constructive feedback from our current and former employees as well as our customers can we improve and remain relevant in today’s everchanging world. Please be assured your feedback was shared with Global HR. Once again, we want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review and wish you much success in your future endeavors.

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great employee discount

      7 Nov 2019 - Sales Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free jewellery every once a while employee discount

      Cons

      no longer have individual commission stressful to meet sales goal

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Swarovski Response

      Sr Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At Swarovski, we truly value constructive employee and customer feedback, both positive and negative. Our hope is to make each individual employee, from our stores to our corporate offices, feel that they are valued. We are of course thrilled to read from the title of your review, that you enjoyed the "Great employee discount” as this is one of our most revered benefits and we love when our retail associates can showcase our product. As for your “Cons”, it seems you are disappointed that we do not offer our Sales Consultants individual commission, we do however offer them a bonus when the store and company reach their targets. The new retail bonus program at Swarovski was rolled out about a year ago out after much research to enhance our compensation and to foster an environment where teamwork can flourish. The new bonus structure also embraces an omni channel approach to selling as it takes into consideration the success of the entire company including our online sales. We believe that in an environment where everyone together works as a team to achieve our goals our customers will receive better service and our associates will have a more positive work environment. Once again, we want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review at Swarovski, we value feedback both positive and negative and your feedback will be shared with upper management as feedback is crucial to the betterment of the company.

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Entry-level High End Retail environment!

      22 Jul 2019 - Sales Consultant in Altamonte Springs, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learning more about the importance of clientelle Creating long-standing relationships with recurring clients

      Cons

      Sometimes very slow and hard to achieve sales goals.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Swarovski Response

      Sr Recruiter

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. At Swarovski, we truly value constructive employee and customer feedback, both positive and negative. Our hope is to make each individual employee, from our stores to our corporate offices, feel that they are valued. Of course, we love when our employees leave positive feedback such as your comment about what you learned. In addition as a recruiter with Swarovski I want to personal thank you for your advice to management "More following up during interview process to make sure candidates do not lose interest." I will be sharing this advise with the stores. As for your concerns about “Sometimes very slow and hard to achieve sales goals", please note this is why we focus so much on creating long standing relationships with our customers, a loyal following will help us achieve our goals even when it is slow. We are also investing more in advertising to bring in new customers to continue to grow the business. Once again thank you for your feedback and best of luck in your future endeavors.

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overpriced, Overworked, and Underpaid - No Wonder They're Being Sued

      31 Oct 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to look at pretty, shiny things (locked in glass cases) all day. The employee discount (30%) was decent.

      Cons

      You'd have to spend hours dusting all the crystal - multiple times a day. The company had a policy that you could ONLY wear their jewelry (with the exception of religious medals and wedding rings). Our DM required us to wear 3 pieces - that we had to buy with our own money - and we were often criticized for not wearing the trendy fashion pieces (that usually run for $250+). Mind you, this is being paid $9-$10/hr, working part-time for 12-20 hours/week. The dress code was laughable. We had to wear dark suits and women were required to wear heels for their entire shifts. Mind you, part of the job required us to climb ladders to reach product. Failure to adhere to dress code was grounds for a write-up. Our sales goals were also unrealistic. We'd be expected to sell several thousands of dollars worth of overpriced (and cheaply made) crystal jewelry AND memberships to the crystal society every week, or risk being written up.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      District Manager- Don't waste your time and effort

      28 Oct 2017 - District Sales Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good, quality product. Decent bonus structure

      Cons

      Where do I start-- have had a horrible work experience working for this company and wished it would have worked out and this wasn't the case. The company is the most unorganized I have seen, didn't even know who to reach out to for HR questions, basically went into credit card debt due to the company not reimbursing travel expenses for MONTHS! Company is strictly based on irrational and too high of monthly sales goals. If an account of yours is not selling the product well or not performing-- it is entirely your fault and your fault only with no consideration of the external problems- product,slow traffic, clientele, etc. No internal support whatsoever! The District Manager's are held responsible for anything and everything that goes wrong- when there should be a team of people who help support. Architecture, marketing, merchandising is stagnant to help and required essentially begging for help. Don't even get me started on the customer service team, or should I say lack of crm team. Overall, the company is unorganized, no support or team environment, negative corporate environment, stagnant to help, and then expects results to be achieved. Do not work for this company unless you want to work with absolutely horrible support and being left felt burned out and more stressed than have ever been in lifetime.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Veey dishonest and unloyal

      9 Jan 2015 - Full-Time Brand Ambassador 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The clients are awesome and health insurance is good. The people that get hired are usually wonderful.

      Cons

      this company will do anything to fire you if they do not like you. They will talk behind your back and come up with excuses. They dont care about their employees no matter how long you have been there. There is no moving up and raises are very very slim. Do not work for this companythe higher ups are extremely clicky and will push anyone out of the way they need too. They have no dedication to their employees. Unrealistic sales goals and way to little money. Especially at full time..its an assistant manager position minus the pay and title. This company makes me sick. Everyone but the part timers will stab you in the back and everyday you will be afraid of what is wrong. Policies constantly change and management is all different when it comes to rules.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sparkling disappointment

      23 Nov 2015 - Full Time in Ontario, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Beautifully, well made product that you can really get behind selling. Wonderful resources for product knowledge available. Many opportunities to make lasting customer connections. Liberty to visually merchandise your store as you see fit for your stores volume.

      Cons

      Majority of the customers are re-sellers, no set policy and procedure in place on dealing with this kind of clientele. You are expected to make store sales goal without having the inventory for special promotions the store is running, the promotions change too often causing customers to want price adjustments. (20% off and two days later 60% off) customers will opt out of buying something because they know it may go on a deeper discount the following week.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Over all a good place to work.

      20 Dec 2010 -  in King of Prussia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - down time - still runned by the Swarovski family - some great people - great pay for a part time retail job

      Cons

      - management won't always teach you how to do things (like stuff on register or how to remover fixtures) then get mad at you. - some employees will steal your sales even though we're paid a flat hourly rate - it can be hard to get bouns, even if your like $2,000 over your daily sales goal, if you dont make you dpt goal forget about bouns.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's alright

      12 Jan 2013 - Sales Associate in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great product, gaining valuable management skills even as a part timer because you work alone, employee discount, the included warranty on the product, decent hourly wage and part timers get vacation hours

      Cons

      Operations are not efficient at all, low tech company, laughably high sales goals, upper management plays favorites, low foot traffic, no advancement opportunity at store level, staffing is always an issue in the stores because the application process is extensive and difficult This is the strangest retailer I've ever worked for. Other retailers I've worked for, it's all about accommodate the customer. At Swarovski, you can get in trouble for accommodating the customer! if it involves bending the policies. The sales goals were ridiculous in order to make bonus. Honestly I feel like it's because they don't want to pay us a bonus.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Swarovski Job Seekers

    Sales Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Swarovski? Share Your Experiences

    Swarovski logo
    or